We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really good experience”
Review of Hostal Arcano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Arcano
Ranked #300 of 499 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Reviewed April 26, 2012

In a city that seems more busy with taking your money than providing you with genuine hospitality, Hostel Arcano is was a much welcomed encounter. Raul, the owner, recently bought the hostel and is doing his very best to provide you with a homely service.

The hostel is not fancy. You won't find anything fancy here (for example flat screen TVs, or Playstations); however, if you need that, you shouldnt probably be staying at a budget hostel anyway.

The hostel has all of the basics down: clean and tidy rooms, friendly, available, and helpful staff. A simple, but very nice breakfast of bread (with butter and jelly), juice, and coffee is provided in the morning. Laundry service is very dependable and reasonable. Out of three times, once my laundry was slightly humid, when I mentioned this to the front-desk, they accepted their mistake right away. Also, unlike other hostels, Arcano well provide with you with complementary towels, tissue, and soap. The towel is especially very helpful. I hate carrying we towels!

In cusco, everybody seems to be a guide and providing a tour service. Unfortunately, many provide shoddy service for a good price. A great benefit of staying with Raul is that he himself has a background in tourism and can connect you with very dependable people. I used his connections twice and was very satisfied.

I had a great time. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yousuf M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 31 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2012

After staying in a number of bad hostels, we moved to this hostel for over a week and received a very good service from friendly and helpful staff. The hostel was great value for money and the rooms were clean, comfortable and tidy. They also offer free walking tours and were very good at suggesting places to visit off the beaten track.. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dassa77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Our debit card has been stolen in our room, only the housekeeper came into, but the owner never wanted to recognize that we did not loose it but someone stole it in our room. The owner is rude and arrogant. When we arrived, we asked for the internet access, we needed it for work and they told us the access was ok.. during 2 days, internet access did not exist, everyday the employees and owner told us, internet will be available into 2 hours, but it never came.. The employees are rude, incompetent, arrogant and unhelpful. They tried to charge us more for the laundry, lying about the weight...

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FABETARNO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2010

If you need a confortable place to sleep this could be a good choice with good location (near San Blas Square) and low prices.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aucano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Si pueden pedir la habitacion 109, es la mejor, ah y la de la planta baja huele a humedad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ViryLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank eleonpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Renato R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.4 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#144 of 171 in Cusco
85 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Pakcha Real
Hostal Pakcha Real
#174 of 499 in Cusco
126 reviews
0.9 mi away
El Tumi de Oro Cusco
El Tumi de Oro Cusco
#58 of 392 in Cusco
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 499 in Cusco
611 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pirwa Colonial Hostel
Pirwa Colonial Hostel
#67 of 499 in Cusco
260 reviews
0.5 mi away
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
#9 of 499 in Cusco
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Arcano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Arcano

Address: Carmen Alto 288, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #300 of 499 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range: $10 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Arcano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing