We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place for cyclists!”
Review of Estrellita

Estrellita
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cusco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Estrellita
Ranked #94 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We travel by bike and we have spent a week at La Estrellia. There is everything cyclists need: a safe place for bikes, a big courtyard, breakfast, internet and above all a friendly staff who takes care of your luggage/bike if you leave for a few days to visit the surroundings. Family atmosphere and clean rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1carOline12013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 54 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

If you're looking for a budget hostel then this place is great. Rooms are quite basic but do the job. Bathrooms are kept clean and the spacious kitchen is well looked after and stocked with everything you could need.

The brothers who own the place are very friendly and cook you eggs in the morning as part of the cost.

This place is a hidden gem. You wouldn't even know it existed if you weren't looking for it. Despite that, it's in a great location and is only a short walk from Cusco centre.

Would definitely recommend to those who are on a shoestring.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Run by friendly guys - free baggage storage, no pushy selling of tours (they don't sell them) and a great breakfast.

It's a bit rustic but at 40 soles for a double room with a breakfast (including an egg) it's a total bargain. There are always a few cycle and motorcycle tourists tinkering in the courtyard to chat to and the brothers that own the place are nice guys.

The toilets are scrubbed every day - including the waste paper bins (something I haven't seen done anywhere else).

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

15 soles for a bed in a 6 bed dorm and with breakfast included is an absolute bargain! And all single beds, not bunk beds. I had the whole room to myself for the time I was there, this hostel is not listed in the Lonely Planet. The rooms are basic and without lockers but it feels secure. There is a pleasant yard to sit in that catches the sun during the day and the guy that runs it is friendly and helpful. Lots of motorcyclists and cyclists stop here! Excellent location near the Plaza de Armas and San Blas. Hot water in the shower but only if you don´t mind less pressure. Nice and quiet!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahNiemiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

For 25 soles I had a private room which is what you'd pay for a dorm in most hostels in Cusco (actually probably more). A nice breakfast in the sunny courtyard was included. The men who run the place are super friendly and accommodating with plenty of info on travel in Peru. Highly recommended! (Hot water, wifi, kitchen, tv, laundry service)

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
Thank chimone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I too am a motorcyclist and found this place on other blog sites. It has a great courtyard area for parking and they allow you to work on your machine and the entry is large. There are also other cyclists around so a great place to get some info on the road.
However even if you are not an overlander this is still a great place! The two brothers running the show are very relaxed and friendly, they clean the bathrooms and toilets twice a day, make breakfast for everyone and good for a joke or two. It is cheap and you get value - this is what it is about. And yea, the bakery next door is great!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markaschmitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This place is absolutely excellent - safe, quiet, comfortable, super nice staff, great value for money. And the French bakery next door is to die for. Many cyclists and motorcyclists stay here so there are always interesting travellers around.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tishobj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Munay Wasi
Hotel Munay Wasi
#55 of 171 in Cusco
220 reviews
0.6 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#144 of 171 in Cusco
85 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Casona De Rimacpampa
La Casona De Rimacpampa
#36 of 498 in Cusco
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hostal Pakcha Real
Hostal Pakcha Real
#171 of 498 in Cusco
126 reviews
0.9 mi away
El Tumi de Oro Cusco
El Tumi de Oro Cusco
#55 of 391 in Cusco
54 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 498 in Cusco
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estrellita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estrellita

Address: Av Tullumayo 445, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Number of rooms: 39

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing