We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Los Apus Hotel & Mirador

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
Ranked #19 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Ribeirao Preto, SP
Level Contributor
71 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2010

Been there for 3 nights in two different rooms.
The hotel is very pleasant, and the staff kind and helpful. Rooms have comfy bed, heater, free wi-fi, cable TV and a safe, but no minifridge. Breakfast is basic but tasty.
They also store your luggage for free (eg. during sidetrips to Sacred Valley or Machu Picchu). Location is very good, just a 5-7 min walk to Plaza de Armas.
I recommend the rooms at the upper floors, because those at the ground floor are noisier.
Overall, an affordable and nice place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrazilBackpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntoineLima, Owner at Los Apus Hotel & Mirador, responded to this review, November 24, 2010
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your visit, hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again sometime.

I would like to ask you what you did miss at breakfast? This would allow us to complete it according to our guests tastes.

Thank you very much for your time.

Antoine Hamel
Hotel & Mirador Los Apus
Cusco-Peru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    224
    44
    12
    8
See reviews for
103
298
102
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2010

We found Los Apus to be a cosy hotel whose staff were always ready to respond and help with requests. My husband and I, together with another couple, spent 4 nights there before doing the Inca Trail and another night there afterwards. Our friends, who found their room airless (because it only opened to internal airspace) had no trouble changing their room. The reception staff (Angela and others) also made several phone calls on our behalf, finding out prices and information that we had asked about. The man responsible for the breakfast buffet was always happy to let me practise Spanish with him and tried to teach me some phrases and greetings in Quechuan. He also was prompt in serving a very early breakfast on our very early start on the Inca trail. He was quick to carry our luggage out when we were leaving.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathyosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntoineLima, Owner at Los Apus Hotel & Mirador, responded to this review, October 29, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. In fact we are very happy to have started our "quechua" program with some of our staff members who are proud to talk to you and maybe teach you some of their heritage language, the Quechua.

We also would like to inform you about our last security installation: new HD night vision security cameras on the inside and outside of the hotel. Better be safe than sorry right?

Hoping to welcome you sometime again,

I remain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Wilderness
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2010

Cusco is a beautiful city and this little hotel is a great choice, provided you get the right room.

We requested a room with a double bed and external window when making the reservation. When we arrived, we were told there were no cama matrimonial rooms available, and were given a twin.

Fortunately, a double room turned up with an external window (and small balcony). I was pleasantly surprised to find the room to be very comfortable with quite traditional fittings (i.e. roof bindings made of llama, lampshades with stretched leather) which added to the charm. It was bigger than most doubles, clean and quiet. For the TV junkies, there are 40+ channels to choose from (which came in useful on one day when we succumbed to our chest colds).

After spending a night at Aguas Calientes (Machu Picchu) we returned to Los Apus and used a different room. Since we only reserved it the day before, we were given a twin with no external window. One bed (i.e. mine) was a roll out trolley style and very uncomfortable. I got the feeling the room did not normally have 2 beds because it was quite cramped. It was all clean, but the room was a disappointment compared to our experience the day before.

Some of the staff speak basic English and were generally helpful, but some needed a prod to get moving... Make sure you get tags for your bag if you leave them in storage, one of our packs was misplaced for an hour but was located with many apologies from management.

Breakfast is on the mirador. It was basic but pretty standard fare for Peru. They apparently serve dinner and lunch here as well, but we didnt try it.

Depending on your fitness and ability to handle altitude, it is a 5 minute walk from the central plaza.

Overall, a comfortable stay that gives you the opportunity to explore the wonderful bars and restaurants of Cusco.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank virtuallyjohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2010

Cute, clean and in a nice part of town. But my Peru hotel experience has taught me that they don't have sound proofing there. Bring a decent pair of earplugs if noise prevents you from sleeping. Test them before you leave home and make sure they fit. (my mistake). I heard EVERY little sound, including the night shift front desk attendant using the printer at 2 in the morning, everyone talking, walking etc...
WiFi was free, but VERY intermittant.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DB4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2010

We stayed in Los Apus for a number of nights in Cuzco and the staff were very helpful. We were collected at the airport by the hotel and that all ran very smoothly. On arrival we were greeted with Cocoa tea to aid our altitude sickness. The hotel is quite unique and it's very quaint. The breakfast was perfect for us and they provided plenty of fruit as well which was great. It's within walking distance to the main square, markets and nightlife so you can't really go wrong. They also kindly stored our bags for us on our trip to Machu Picchu and had them waiting in our room on our return. We had a lovely stay here and would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishcalini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2010

Stayed in this hotel in May 2010 with my brother and father for 4 nights, before going to do the Inca Trail. We didn't know much about it beforehand, but we were lucky to have stayed in such a nice place. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the rooms comfortable and clean. Had dinner in the hotel one night aswell, they served up superb food, well worth trying. The hotel was very near the centee plaza, and also quite close to the walk up to the statue on the hill overlooking Cuzco, great location. All in all, I would highly recommend this hotel for a stay in Cuzco.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mycrochips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntoineLima, Owner at Los Apus Hotel & Mirador, responded to this review, August 20, 2010
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your review, I really do appreciate it, very useful to improve our services.
I would have liked to know what did you miss at the hotel and/or your suggestions for a better experience.
Best of luck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2010

Clean, comfortable hotel in a quiet part of town. Visit was during off season, so service level was not so great, a pity. Overall a most decent quality deal;

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rengephil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 162 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ninos Hotel
Ninos Hotel
#24 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#16 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Amaru Hostal
Amaru Hostal
#32 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Golden Inca
Hotel Golden Inca
#34 of 162 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Apus Hotel & Mirador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Apus Hotel & Mirador

Property: Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
Address: Atocsaycuchi 515 | Corner with Choquechaca street, San Blas, Cusco 00000, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Cusco
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#41 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Los Apus Hotel & Mirador 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning cosy colonial hotel, twenty nicely decorated rooms, central heating system, four rooms with balconies. All with wooden floors, german soundproof windows, extra-long beds (205cm), 32" LED Tv's with cable, in room safe, free WIFI, smoke detectors, direct dial telephone and private bath with tub or shower. El Mirador Restaurant & Bar and its terrace for unforgettable landscapes, or the cosy El Patio Restaurant, featuring international and regional cuisine. Location: Quietly nestled in the foothills of the unspoiled historical site of San Blas, three blocks away from the Plaza de Armas, its restaurants and souvenirs shops. Just 10 minutes from the Velasco Astete International Airport and 30' from the Poroy rail station to Machu Picchu. Accommodations: 20 tastefully decorated rooms, four with balconies, wooden floors, German soundproof windows to the exteriors, extra-long beds (205cm), 32" LED Tv's with cable, central heating, in room safe and free Wi-Fi, smoke detectors, direct dial telephone, private bath with tub or shower. Non-smoking and challenged guest rooms available. Restaurants: "El Mirador Restaurant & Bar" and its terrace for unforgettable landscapes, or the cosy "El Patio Restaurant", featuring international and regional cuisine. Facilities: Wireless internet access in all areas including the rooms. Mail service, safe, oxigen, laundry, fax and money exchange. Hair dryers upon request. Doctor on request. Flight and train reservations service. Free transportation from the airport. Free Coca teas at "El Patio" as well as any other kind of tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Los Apus Hotel & Mirador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Apus Hotel And Mirador
Los Apus Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing