We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“nice pictorest house but can be noisy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Balcon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Balcon
Ranked #10 of 316 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“nice pictorest house but can be noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Pros:
-Nice house-rooms
-Small garden
-Great communal room
-Great staff
-Walking distance to plaza de Armas downhill
-Great balcony view
-Honest: they forgot to give us our change and made a wire to our bank the next day!!!

Cons:
-Uphill walk back to hotel
-Noise from the street for some rooms (13-14 for exemple)
-Rooms very unheavenly distributed- some big, some small, some smelly, some great
-Depending on your room, it can seem pricey

BEWARE!: Travel agent inside the hotel!!! "stole" or "obtained" my email address from the hotel and harrassed me via email to sell me tours before we arrived. This is an illegal pratice in Peru regulated by INDECOPI (consumers protection agency)

Overall: We enjoyed our stay. We had hot water, clean bed, great view. Would go back.

Room Tip: if sleep sensitive, avoid room 13-14 as they are noisy. Room 9 is small and a bit smelly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariehp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    94
    17
    6
    4
See reviews for
45
113
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Terrace, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

if you want a place with character, great views, and quiet, choose El Balcon. It has a great breakfast and we loved the staff. We had some problems with hot water one night, and a poor tv connection another, but just telling them meant it would be fixed and that means everything. The travel agency associated with it, Green Peru Adventures, can offer you great advice and we found Roland to be very knowledgeable and honest about what we could expect and what he recommended. The view from El Balcon is great, it's like living in a garden and museum, quite lovely! We did have an issue with the price creeping up but pointing it out fixed that, just a warning.

Room Tip: top floor has best views but there are a few more stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lee3nan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I highly recommend this hotel in Cusco. The site is beautiful. The staff is super accomodating. Prices are slightly higher for the area, but worth it for what you get. A staff member of the hotel met my flight and picked me up from the airport to get me to the hotel. They had a full breakfast included each day with all day tea service (Mate de Coca for altitude ease). Dinner was also available if one wanted. I loved everything about my stay there!

Room Tip: We had the Premium Family room which was 2 rooms with 3 beds total for $145 per night. This gave us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I stayed here twice on work trips and was always very happy - the rooms are large and the balcony setting atmospheric - I wouldn´t recommend it for families with toddlers though.
The breakfast is very good, but even better is the room it is served in - a great place to also chat or even work in the evenings.
Since there are only a few rooms it can fill up easily, but that also means that the hotel never seems crowded.
It is in a hidden steep street - away from the noise in the centre, but easy to get to the main square on foot only a few blocks down.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gerhardbuttner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

What a great place. Minutes away from the Center of town, but yet totally peaceful. What a fantastic view of the city from the balcony . Friendly and very helpful staff for whatever questions we had. Good food. A beautiful garden, very nicely decorated rooms and comfortable beds. They stored our luggage for free and we could travel light to Machu Pichu and other places, but we always came back to our "home away from home". I highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: Beautiful panoramic views from the upstairs balcony rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karnds123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

El Balcon is so fantastic, they collect you from the airport for free, have free wifi and a yummy fresh breakfast. The rooms are clean, big, comfy and really colonial feeling with hot, powerful showers and safes.

The location is great, close to the Plaza das Armas and its balcony has stunning panoramic views over all of Cusco. Get a bottle of Cusquena beer and watch the sun go down!

They also have a travel office who are really helpful and great for booking day excursions with as well as a very cheap laundry for all your rank clothes after the Inca trail!!

Hostel really doesn’t sum up El Balcon, it’s much more than that, except for the price which is so cheap! I really can’t recommend it enough.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa_hardy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Located on a hill (well, that's pretty much all of Cusco!), you walk up to your clean, comfortable room, settle in and go to the dining area for coca tea and maybe use the internet to tell your friends back home that it's all good! The staff is totally dedicated to helping you, when necessary. Breakfast is hearty... eggs, cereal, yogurt, fruit, toast, juice, tea, coffee (they do that weird Peruvian version of concentrate and added water) to get you energized for your day in Cusco. Like most places in Peru, the hot water is a little temperamental, but nothing to get ruffled about. Beds are so comfy, great pillows - you WILL get a good sleep! We stashed our luggage, went to Machu Pichu, came back here, went to the Amazon and came back again. Why not? It was like our home in Peru!

Room Tip: See if any rooms on the top floor, with balconies, are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrBill53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 162 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 stars 1,351 reviews
0.5 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.4 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#14 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Wara Wara
Hostal Wara Wara
#3 of 316 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 stars 330 reviews
0.5 mi away
B&B-Hotel Pension Alemana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Balcon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Balcon

Property: El Balcon
Address: Tambo de Montero 222, Cusco 5184, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 316 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Balcon 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only three blocks from the Plaza de Armas in the city of Cusco, El Balcon has a commanding view of the entire city, cathedrals, churches, mountains and the Ausangate glacier. El Balcon is a renovated colonial Casona that dates back to the 1630s built atop the preceding Inca terraces. Inca stone work and colonial balustrades mesh harmoniously around terraced gardens creating an atmosphere that is beautiful, historic and authentically Peruvian. Some of our amenities and services include free airport transportation, complimentary hot breakfast and buffet, laundry, and free yoga classes. We are happy to help with any travel arrangements so that our guests can experience the best that Cusco and the Sacred Valley has to offer. At El Balcon we strive to provide our guests with the highest level of hospitality so that they have all they need to feel comfortable at our family establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your El Balcon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcon Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing