We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good property with Very Poor Customer Service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Orquidea Real Hostal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Orquidea Real Hostal
Ranked #33 of 325 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good property with Very Poor Customer Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed at this property, a good property with Very Poor Customer Service. Checked in late at 10:00 pm. After check in asked the girl at the front desk what time was the check out and she said 8:00 am, so I requested if it is possible to check out later. She said No, but later agreed for 9am, and said if later I have to pay 25% of the one day rent, because they have someone coming in that day. But next day during check out I asked another girl at the front desk, who was nice, and she said no issues I could have checked out little later, because they had no one coming till 2:30 PM that afternoon.

Also the beds were squeaking and made noise.

The first front office girl had very bad attitude.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    46
    11
    5
    5
See reviews for
19
45
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
140 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stay here for 6 nights and also left my luggage here when I visited Machu Picchu. Staff are helpful and friendly, just make your requests. It's a very affordable place so you get what you pay. Clean and cosy rooms and very near the the main square & restos so location is ideal. Room had a heater which was ideal for me. Bed and pillows were a bit too soft/flat for me though. You can also requests for the type of eggs u want for breakfast plus coca tea or coffee.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hedgiebunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Very nice hotel, good location, excellent staffs. They are very kind, help me to carry the luggage. Inform me tour messages....
The hotel is on the hill. Therefore, you can see the beautiful views of Cuzco.
The breakfast is served early, nice room. I love everything from this hotel and Cuzco

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lechivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed here for the 2 days I was in Cusco. Small, narrow building, and rooms (at least mine) somewhat dingy because of limited natural lighting, but its location and the most accommodating of staff more than make up. Barely a five-minute walk to decent restaurants, even a supermarket. A mere three blocks from the Plaza de Armas. While the hostel requires a 45- or 50-step climb up a kind of side alley to reach its doors, that's actually a good thing, since its distance from the busy street below keeps the place quiet. To my amazement, the fab staff were there at steps' bottom when my taxi arrived to help me with my luggage, and accorded me the same selfless assistance upon my departure. In fact, during my entire stay all were most eager to help in any way possible. A pleasant, included breakfast is served starting at 5:00 AM in a sunny upstairs dining room with views of the surrounding city. Very enjoyable stay. I would go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linnell47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is a nice little hotel that is very close to the city square - maybe a 5 minute walk. The staff was incredibly helpful and attentive. They also speak a good bit of English, which is quite helpful if your Spanish isn't too strong. It is very cute & comfortable. We were really happy here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jerrykuthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed in the Orquidea Real at the beginning and end of our 4 day Inca Trail hike. They stored our luggage over the hike and had everything ready and waiting for us in our rooms when we got back. The folks working there were more than happy to assist in whatever way possible, and despite me not speaking Spanish, everything worked out perfectly. Warm water, big beds, clean towels, and easily withing walking distance of anything in Cusco you might want to go to.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Great little hotel. More like a small B&B then a real hotel. Very close to the city square and just down the hill from the San Blas area. We stayed in two different rooms at our stay there, once before our trip to Machu Picchu and again afterwards. The staff was very accommodating and alerted us to our scheduled activities the next day, including pickup time and wake up calls as well as what we would need. The only complaint that we had was that the pillows were a bit uncomfortable and probably need to be replaced in all the rooms

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lumasand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Amaru Hostal
Amaru Hostal
#33 of 161 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hospedaje Turistico San Blas
0.2 mi away
B&B-Hotel Pension Alemana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casona les Pleiades
0.4 mi away
El Andariego
El Andariego
#16 of 325 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal El Triunfo
Hostal El Triunfo
#8 of 325 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orquidea Real Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orquidea Real Hostal

Property: Orquidea Real Hostal
Address: Alabado 520 | San Blas, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 325 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Orquidea Real Hostal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orquidea Real Hostal come to life from the restoration of an old colonial house located in the historical heart of Cusco. Its architecture keeps to tradition and colonial style and thus blends beautifully with its surroundings. The hostal's original Inca walls , its exceptional views of Cusco , the ceilings with visible wooden beams, make it very cozy and unique . Hot and cold water supply is guaranteed day and night by means of an underground reserve of 400 liters per bathroom which complies with European standards. Orquidea Real Hostal Guests can take pleasure in touring the city's top attractions: Qoricancha temple, The Catedral, Main Square, San Blas neighborhood, inka Musseum, etc The hotel features 10 appointed guest rooms each one with cable television, safety box, electric heater, hair dryer, also some of them with balcony/terrace. The facilities and services provided by Orquidea Real Hostal ensure a pleasant stay for guests. To name a few of the hotel's facilities, good location, bilingual staff, tours information , Wi-Fi in public areas and storage service for free.. Enjoy our unique friendly atmosphere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Budget Places and Travelocity so you can book your Orquidea Real Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orquidea Real Hostal Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing