We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff, amazing room with humungous bed, but dissapointing breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Orquidea Real Hostal
Ranked #37 of 401 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The staff were great, with a free pick-up from the bus station and then carried our heavy bags up the long steps to get to the hostel and gave us great tips of unknown places to shop, eat etc. The room was out of this world, with a heater (much needed at night) and the most humongous bed i've ever seen, and a really cute basket full of towels, soap etc. However I must say that the "American Breakfast" was a slight dissapointment, I hate it when people moan about breakfast, but at Orqedea's prices I feel they should put on a more impressive breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eleanor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

79 - 85 of 152 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012

Hostels are generally not luxury or first class, but the room with bath was clean, safe, well furnished and very comfortable. Staff at the front desk were extremely helpful. It's a little difficult to locate this hostel on a map, but I assure you that it is only a block or two from the Cathedral, and very convenient. I would have no problem booking this again and only wish that other hostels in the world were like this one.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavePars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We found this hotel to be of great value with hot water (difficult to find in Peru sometimes); excellent, friendly, helpful staff; great location (in San Blas, near Plaza de Armas and Qorikancha); clean; comfortable; spacious. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

We booked the room ere because they advertised a working fireplace, but when we checked in were told the fireplaces were being repaired and didn't work. Very disappointing! The old colonial is halfway up a staircase to the artsy San Blas neighborhood, and only two blocks from the main Plaza de Armas, so great location. The house, however, was not that well restored or maintained, doors and windows didn't open or close all the way, the floors were very creaky and the rooms were absolutely freezing, even with the space heater. Very old uncomfortable mattress, with lumpy pillows, and very noisy at night because of the nightclub at the bottom of the stairs. Breakfast was good though, and the service was great.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ericamena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We recently stayed at the Orquidea Real Hostel for some five days and it was a pleasure.

The Hostel is five minutes away from the main square and is located on a narrow alley. To get to the Hostel one needs to walk up about 15-20 steps. The Hostel itself appears to be a converted old house. The floors are wooden planks and the ceilings are high. The rooms themselves are small, but not cramped.

Cleaning is done every day, even if you tell the staff that they can skip the day on clean towels. All staff, from the front desk to the person serving breakfast were helpful and friendly. Breakfast was included (two buns, two eggs -scrambled or fried- jam, juice and coffee of your choice. Breakfast is served from very, very early, until about 10h00, to accommodate those catching early transportation. At all times at the front desk, there is tea, coffee, anise tea or coca tea available.

Considering the elevation Cusco is at, the latter was very helpful. In fact, there was prompt action on both an upset stomach and elevation discomfort. These people knew what their guest were likely suffering from and had it fixed, in our case, with local remedies in hours.

I would not trade this Hostel for a Hilton or a Ramada Inn. The pick-up from the airport (15 minute ride) and the ride to the airport was included in the cost. Even then, they watched over us until we had our boarding pass.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hcoesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

I chose this Hostal (hotel) from reading Trip Advisor. At first glance I had wondered if I had made the right choice for our 3 day stay in Cusco. It looked like an enormous Inca home rather than a hotel. We only wish that we had stayed a few more days and if we go back we would definately stay at Orquidea Real Hostal. Compare it only to other three star Hotels and you won't be diasppointed. The staff were gentle people possessing beautiful natures, ready to offer any help they could, this included carrying suitcases and to giving advice and information. We loved the town of Cusco and wish we had allowed more days to explore. Felt very safe walking to the square and wherever we went.

Room Tip: We stayed in the matrimonial suite, did not hear any noise from other rooms but on one night did hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

The hotel itself was clean and comfy but definitely no frills. However, the staff were always exceptionally friendly and helpful. They really made our stay wonderful. They offered helpful suggestions for dining, sight seeing etc. and looked up exact locations for everything online for us. We stayed about five days there and by the time we left, they felt like friends!

Room Tip: We stayed in two different room there - one before our overnight hike and one after. The room off o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skml_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.9 mi away
Wyndham Cusco Saqsayhuaman
0.8 mi away
Mirador de Santa Ana
Mirador de Santa Ana
#67 of 171 in Cusco
222 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Unumizu Cusco
Hotel Unumizu Cusco
#49 of 171 in Cusco
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Golden Inca
Hotel Golden Inca
#40 of 171 in Cusco
465 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casona les Pleiades
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orquidea Real Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orquidea Real Hostal

Address: Alabado 520 | San Blas, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 401 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range: $43 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Orquidea Real Hostal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orquidea Real Hostal come to life from the restoration of an old colonial house located in the historical heart of Cusco. Its architecture keeps to tradition and colonial style and thus blends beautifully with its surroundings. The hostal's original Inca walls , its exceptional views of Cusco , the ceilings with visible wooden beams, make it very cozy and unique . Hot and cold water supply is guaranteed day and night by means of an underground reserve of 400 liters per bathroom which complies with European standards. Orquidea Real Hostal Guests can take pleasure in touring the city's top attractions: Qoricancha temple, The Catedral, Main Square, San Blas neighborhood, inka Musseum, etc The hotel features 10 appointed guest rooms each one with cable television, safety box, electric heater, hair dryer, also some of them with balcony/terrace. The facilities and services provided by Orquidea Real Hostal ensure a pleasant stay for guests. To name a few of the hotel's facilities, good location, bilingual staff, tours information , Wi-Fi in public areas and storage service for free.. Enjoy our unique friendly atmosphere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Orquidea Real Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orquidea Real Hostal Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing