We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel in a great central location!”
Review of Hotel Garcilaso

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Garcilaso
Ranked #64 of 170 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2014

A very nice looking hotel in a great central location just off the main squares. We stayed on three separate occasions, each time in a different double room and all with different layouts. The rooms were clean and tidy, but the hot water supply was quite often inconsistent. We had breakfast once (additional cost for us), but it was a bit sparse/under stocked so we didn't bother again. The staff were very helpful. We stayed as part of a wider tour with Tucan Travel, so can't really comment on how good value it was in isolation.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bendy_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Garcilaso
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 59 of 233 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

The staff were friendly, polite and helpful. They answered all of our questions, held our luggage and helped us in any way we needed. The hotel itself was just barely average. Most importantly it was clean and had a great location. On the down side the rooms were small and dark. Also because it is a converted building it is very noisy.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank CaliTraveler23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Trekperu booked our stay in the Garcilaso Hotel. We were close to everything in town. The hotel was very clean and well maintained. The staff was always pleasant and helpful. Breakfast buffet in the morning was generous. Free wifi and tv. We were very happy there and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: We had a room with a window.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed there two years ago very nice people, fluent in English, helpful in getting around Cuzco. We loved it! Nice beds, great bathroom. Made us breakfast,
delivered to our room each morning. Hotel entrance is on
a steep hill.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostonGal2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I was surprise with the service, they were very careful and very kind, breakfast was very good.

The room had everything we needed, maybe the hotel needs to improve the heater but It was not a big deal as the room was not so cold.
For what you pay it is really good value for money, the hotel is very nice. I would recommend to anyone.

The location is excellent very close to plaza de armas.

Room Tip: Modern rooms, very quiet
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nini Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Pros: Great location! The hotel was right in the middle of all the Cusco tourist action - one block away from the main city plaza. There are some rooms with a beautiful city view. Healthy breakfast and friendly morning crew.

Cons: When we first arrived we were corralled into a room to listen to a travel agent and drink coca leaf tea while they "prepared our room." Two hours later we were given a key and shown to our room. There was a few holes in the ceiling including an area that had a recent leak. The room had a musty smell. Another room a relative stayed in had a moldy smell. The outside street noise didn't allow for a peaceful sleep. The evening crew was a bit argumentative seemed frustrated when people made simple requests.

Overall: the cons outweighed the pros and this hotel will not have a place on amongst my top five choices next time I visit Peru.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with windows to the street - the people, dogs and cars will keep you up all night.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roesicon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here whilst completing the 4-day Inca Trail. Two nights in this hotel, then the trail, then back to the hotel (same room as before) for another two nights.
Following the trail, getting back to this hotel felt almost as good as coming home. We had an excellent sized room with balcony overlooking the street.
Water was always hot. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Food in the restaurant was of varying quality. Breakfast buffet was faultless (everything from eggs and bacon, croissants, to a huge array of fruit and vegetables and countless beverages).
For lunch and dinner, a word of caution if you're vegetarian: you will simply get the regular main with meat either excluded or picked out. Which means you have to be quite vigilant for stray bits of meat. The meals are all served lukewarm/tepid as standard. I don't think this is an actual issue, just how they serve it?
The rooms do get very cold at night but this isn't the fault of the hotel, more from being at altitude. The rooms do vary in size and aesthetic - we seemed to be quite lucky with ours. (I think it was 215 in the corner upstairs as I recall.) The hotel runs a very efficient laundry service - same day turnaround for a reasonable price. Hair dryer available at front desk on request.

Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. I fully intend to go back to Peru within the next few years and would very much like to stay in this one again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JutteVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Qosqo
Hotel Royal Qosqo
#91 of 170 in Cusco
135 reviews
0.0 mi away
Los Andes De America Hotel
0.0 mi away
MARQUESES Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
0.8 mi away
Hotel Unumizu Cusco
Hotel Unumizu Cusco
#49 of 170 in Cusco
316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Inka I
Royal Inka I
#36 of 170 in Cusco
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garcilaso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garcilaso

Address: Calle Garcilaso 233-285, Cusco 00084, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 170 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range: $63 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garcilaso 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located in the heart of Cusco, we have a colonial house remodeled to provide quality hotel services, we have hot water, internet conection by wifi and is included the buffet breakfast. come and relive centuries of history, with warm attention of our staff that is happy to serve you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Garcilaso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garcilaso Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing