We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, average hotel”
Review of Hotel Garcilaso

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Garcilaso
Ranked #68 of 169 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great staff, average hotel”
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

The staff were friendly, polite and helpful. They answered all of our questions, held our luggage and helped us in any way we needed. The hotel itself was just barely average. Most importantly it was clean and had a great location. On the down side the rooms were small and dark. Also because it is a converted building it is very noisy.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank CaliTraveler23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    109
    47
    8
    9
See reviews for
57
63
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Trekperu booked our stay in the Garcilaso Hotel. We were close to everything in town. The hotel was very clean and well maintained. The staff was always pleasant and helpful. Breakfast buffet in the morning was generous. Free wifi and tv. We were very happy there and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: We had a room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed there two years ago very nice people, fluent in English, helpful in getting around Cuzco. We loved it! Nice beds, great bathroom. Made us breakfast,
delivered to our room each morning. Hotel entrance is on
a steep hill.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonGal2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I was surprise with the service, they were very careful and very kind, breakfast was very good.

The room had everything we needed, maybe the hotel needs to improve the heater but It was not a big deal as the room was not so cold.
For what you pay it is really good value for money, the hotel is very nice. I would recommend to anyone.

The location is excellent very close to plaza de armas.

Room Tip: Modern rooms, very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nini Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Pros: Great location! The hotel was right in the middle of all the Cusco tourist action - one block away from the main city plaza. There are some rooms with a beautiful city view. Healthy breakfast and friendly morning crew.

Cons: When we first arrived we were corralled into a room to listen to a travel agent and drink coca leaf tea while they "prepared our room." Two hours later we were given a key and shown to our room. There was a few holes in the ceiling including an area that had a recent leak. The room had a musty smell. Another room a relative stayed in had a moldy smell. The outside street noise didn't allow for a peaceful sleep. The evening crew was a bit argumentative seemed frustrated when people made simple requests.

Overall: the cons outweighed the pros and this hotel will not have a place on amongst my top five choices next time I visit Peru.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with windows to the street - the people, dogs and cars will keep you up all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roesicon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here whilst completing the 4-day Inca Trail. Two nights in this hotel, then the trail, then back to the hotel (same room as before) for another two nights.
Following the trail, getting back to this hotel felt almost as good as coming home. We had an excellent sized room with balcony overlooking the street.
Water was always hot. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Food in the restaurant was of varying quality. Breakfast buffet was faultless (everything from eggs and bacon, croissants, to a huge array of fruit and vegetables and countless beverages).
For lunch and dinner, a word of caution if you're vegetarian: you will simply get the regular main with meat either excluded or picked out. Which means you have to be quite vigilant for stray bits of meat. The meals are all served lukewarm/tepid as standard. I don't think this is an actual issue, just how they serve it?
The rooms do get very cold at night but this isn't the fault of the hotel, more from being at altitude. The rooms do vary in size and aesthetic - we seemed to be quite lucky with ours. (I think it was 215 in the corner upstairs as I recall.) The hotel runs a very efficient laundry service - same day turnaround for a reasonable price. Hair dryer available at front desk on request.

Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. I fully intend to go back to Peru within the next few years and would very much like to stay in this one again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JutteVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Hotel Garcilaso was organised for us by our tour company with our Salkantay package. The hotel has that original old world feel and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The location is great, right next to the main square of Cusco and just a few doors down from one of the best little restaurants in Cusco for local food! The breakfast is awesome! Fresh fruits, cold meats, homemade smoothies and freshly squeezed juices, cereals, scrambled eggs and traditional breads. Perfect before a day of trekking! The hotel looked after our extra luggage whilst we were away on our tour.

The rooms were very basic but I think we had the lowest grade of room due to the deal we had with our trekking company. It was a little but noisy until late at night with the court yard in the middle of the hotel, however we managed. Definitely don't expect a luxury room...but do expect a great breakie!!!!

Just a thankyou to the night guard who gave us some blankets and turned on the heater for us after we arrived back from our trek 1am. He set us up in the lounge area so we could lie down a few hours before our flight back to Lima at 5am!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussie-travellerbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.0 mi away
Los Andes De America Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Qosqo
Hotel Royal Qosqo
#102 of 169 in Cusco
130 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Unumizu Cusco
Hotel Unumizu Cusco
#50 of 169 in Cusco
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
0.8 mi away
Hotel Golden Inca
Hotel Golden Inca
#37 of 169 in Cusco
441 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Inka I
Royal Inka I
#40 of 169 in Cusco
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garcilaso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garcilaso

Property: Hotel Garcilaso
Address: Calle Garcilaso 233-285, Cusco 00084, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 169 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garcilaso 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located in the heart of Cusco, we have a colonial house remodeled to provide quality hotel services, we have hot water, internet conection by wifi and is included the buffet breakfast. come and relive centuries of history, with warm attention of our staff that is happy to serve you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Garcilaso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garcilaso Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing