We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Rumi Punku

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Rumi Punku
Ranked #17 of 163 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect Oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

This is the first hotel stay of our SA adventure and it more than meets our expectations. The hotel offers a free pick up and we were met at the airport by Karina who also helped us with the check-in and provided us with some useful tips about the city and the hotel (that oxygen is available at the reception area should we ever need it given the city's high altitude at 3400m). The place has a cosy feel and location is great with close proximity to nice restaurants and the Plaza. Breakfast scores high with a good variety of very fresh fruits, fresh juices, yoghurt, made to order eggs, few hot dishes and bread/pastries. What impressed me most is the service level with highly initiated staff. We vacate the rooms for a night to Machu Picchu and the hotel staff very kindly took care of our luggage (just need to leave them in the room before checking out) and when we returned for a second check-in, the luggage were already in each of the newly assigned rooms. The only downside I can think of is it can be a tad noisy in the morning when you have hotel guests who start their day very early but this is not an issue especially when compared to the many pros. Besides, the hotel provides free ear plugs in the rooms on top of the standard amenities. What more can one ask?

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank buckbuck25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    937
    385
    69
    22
    4
See reviews for
247
606
101
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

We found the Rumi Punku to be everything we had read on trip advisor and more. It became our comfy cosy home away from home instantly. We were met at the airport as promised, checked in courteously and promptly in the morning after arrival. The rooms were perfect. The staff was not intrusive but completely helpful. When we returned from our trek, exhausted and beat, they had our luggage already installed in our new rooms so we were home again without missing a beat. There are great restaurants right across the street. It's close to the Plaza de Armes. I can't think of a negative.

Room Tip: We were in two different locations and both were extremely quiet and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
109 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

We just recently returned from a way too short eight day trip to Cusco and the Inca trail with three other couples. Rumi Punku served as our base as we became familiar with the Peruvian culture and acclimatized to the altitude before our Inca trail hike. From the moment we set foot into the hotel and were warmly ushered into the sitting room and offered Coca tea by the staff we were continually impressed. We arrived well before check in time, but we were almost immediately sent to our room; what a treat after twelve hours of travel. The room was spacious and clean with an excellent shower with a lot of water pressure and a high mounted shower head. The bellman turned on our heater as he entered the room. The room looked out over an open courtyard with a fountain and flowers. The staff made some excellent suggestions for eating and entertainment that gave us a truly local and non touristed feel for the city. Breakfasts were amazing with omelets, yogurts, fresh fruit, breads, croissants, and cereals. The hotel's location was excellent for exploring the city by foot. We had a couple of early mornings, and the staff was very accommodating to have have coffee waiting and taxis ordered for the eight of us.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenSarah123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

This is an expensive hotel for Peru and whilst it is gorgeous, well located and the breakfast is good it is let down by a few things.
1st the spa facilities cost $15 per person to use.
The rooms are cold- the heating didn't work and the gap under the door let the cold air in. It also let the smoke in from the area adjacent to my room that was frequented by smokers. (this would be easily fixed!). The yellow decor is dated and the bathroom really basic and small.
On the plus the area is quiet and the setting beautiful with lots of lovely touches.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaJoySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

My sister and I stayed here on our vacation to Peru! It was such a lovely hotel with amazing accommodations! They held our luggage, free of charge, while we visited Machu Picchu which was so convenient! They exchanged money for us, always offered free tea, and kept the hotel spotless! The location was great too! Less than a 5 minute walk to the Plaza and less than 1 minute from restaurants and shops to purchase water and snacks. Probably one of the best hotel I've ever stayed at while traveling abroad anywhere! Highly recommend them!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateWild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, OR
Level Contributor
109 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

I loved this hotel walking in. It's close enough to the Plaza de Armas and it's classic and set in a sweet garden type setting. The breakfast buffet was good enough with a nice selection of fruits, cheeses and meats and eggs to order. My room on the other hand left quite a bit to be desired.

The room itself was small and not very well appointed at all. The bed and pillows were comfortable but the bathroom while functional, was very small and cheaply finished. I travel in South America, Asia and Europe quite a lot so I am use to small rooms and baths, but the ones here were just done cheaply.

I also stayed at Casa Andina during this trip and for $20-25 per day more, you get a lot more hotel and services. If I could give it a 3.5 star rating I would but I will err on the nice side.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smarsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
619 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed here for a very short overnight on the way to Lima and I wish we had more time there.

The hotel is on a quiet street with an easy and safe walk to the Plaza de Armas- perhaps 10 min?

The front door is part of entryway of a ruin and the inside is several buildings with beautiful courtyards with fountains and greenery. There was even a hot tub!

Our room was right off the main area and came with a sign that asked people to be quiet certain hours and there was even ear plugs on our pillow along with the chocolate- so we were really worried about getting any sleep. But either I was really tired or there wasn't any noise cos the next thing I knew my alarm was going off.

The room had an assortment of snacks and even a full bottle of wine for sale.

The beds were comfortable and the room had a heater - which was nice because it was chilly.

Breakfast was an assortment of hot and cold items. We had to leave before they were completely set up so we got to sample just a little of what was available but it all was delicious.

Room Tip: Ask for a room well away from the main area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen78703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.3 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
1.4 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 163 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.0 mi away
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rumi Punku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rumi Punku

Property: Hotel Rumi Punku
Address: Choquechaca 339, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cusco
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rumi Punku 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Rumi Punku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumi Punku Hotel
Rumi Punku Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing