We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice Boutique Hotel With Good Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Rumi Punku

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Rumi Punku
Ranked #17 of 161 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
200 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Nice Boutique Hotel With Good Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in September, 3 before Machu Picchu and 1 after. The hotel has a very good location, just a block or two from the San Blas district and the main square (Plaza des Armas). We stayed a double room on the third floor with a private bath. The room was spacious, had a TV, safe, comfortable bed and good views. The room did get a little cold at night. The bath room was also nice and spacious, although it only had a shower (this was disclosed on the website). The hotel put out a very good breakfast every morning. It consisted of breads and rolls, fresh fruit, juices, meat, cheeses and some more. Plus, you could ask the hotel to cook you hot eggs. The breakfast is a highlight and included in the cost. Hotel pickup is also included in the price. We used the hotel pickup and it was very easy. In sum, a very nice hotel and i would stay here again. The negative is that we asked the hotel to make a couple local calls for us and they seemed somewhat annoyed to step in and help.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    909
    373
    68
    22
    3
See reviews for
235
585
97
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
724 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

We were looked after by Jesus!!
Great hotel, good location, fantastic breakfast, friendly staff, especially Jesus the Manager.
A little mean with the bottled water but generous with the hot drinks.
Free Internet room

Room Tip: Room at the Top; excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hooray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Rumi Punku for 5 nights (3 before Machu Picchu and 2 after) last week. Both of the rooms were very comfortable. The hotel held our bags while we were visiting MP. The hotel had Karina pick us up at the airport when we arrived from Lima. The pickup is included in the price of the room. Karina then arranged our taxi rides for us to and from the train station for Machu Picchu and a tour of the Sacred Valley. The hotel staff was always friendly and helpful. The included breakfast was not large but sufficient and included fresh fruit and eggs cooked to order. Of course there is plenty of coca tea to help relieve the altitude issues. The location is very good being close to Plaza de Armas. There are many great restaurants within a 5 minute walk. Note that there are at least 3 laundries within a one minute walk of the hotel so don't over pack. We definitely recommend Rumi Punku and would stay there again.

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We found this hotel to be delightful, charming and well located with many restaurants, shops and attractions within walking distance. The hotel has historic charm, is well maintained and provides a filling breakfast buffet. We stayed 3 nights then left for 1 to go to MP and then came back for 1 more night. The staff held our luggage for our return and placed it in our room upon our arrival back. We were in room 401 which has a great view of the city and a picturesque balcony to enjoy it. The city can be somewhat noisy at night and early morning with barking dogs and firecrackers, so use the earplugs they provide in the room. The staff were helpful and securing services we requested and we thoroughly enjoyed the massage we had in our room. The two massage therapists they employ did a great job. As we were coming back to the hotel after our trip to MP, we set up a second massage for the day after our return and we are so glad that we did.

Room Tip: Make a massage appointment - you will be so glad you did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2muchfun_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
114 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Rumi Punku is a very nice hotel in the historic center of Cusco close to the Plaza del Armas. It is a well maintained property in a nice area with lots of bars, restaurants and small shops and laundries. The hotel looks historical and is much bigger then you would expect from outside with 3 inner courtyards. Decoration is very nice. Airport transfer was complimentary and well arranged. Check in easy and attentive with extra information regarding the city and tours. The room was nice with TV and free wifi and a refrigerator. There was a bathroom with shower. Amenities were basic. A in room safe was available. Beds were quite hard to sleep in so I had some trouble sleeping. Also the rooms were not soundproof and during the night guests coming back were quite disturbing. The only negatives I would say. Breakfast buffet was good. Price quality good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dtjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

What a wonderful hotel. The attention to detail was great. It's spotless but more than that, it's beautiful. The rooms we stayed in were both lovely, even the small one was nice. The hotel is located a short walk from the plaza des Adams (the main square) and all the restaurants and shops. I'd stay here again!

There is no pooling I can't figure out how to remove the rating below. If they had a pool it would be lovely too.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor get more sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Spent 4 nights at Rumi Punku (3 before MP and 1 after). Very please with property, room, staff, operations and location. Really liked the small feel of it achieved by the layout: rooms arranged around 3 different courtyards plus a terrace leading to top floor. Courtyards are landscaped extremely well with period and native furnishings. Lounge area comfortable and at morning b'fast, wood stove burning to take chill out of air. 3rd world price to do laundry after return from MP.

Easy walk to San Blas and Plaza De Armas

Cons: Wifi so, so, but it was always there. Bathroom fairly modern but tight. On arrival room had 2 complimentary bottles of water, but never got them again. (Very minor point, however, since store right down street sell bottles for under $1, and I could have always bought from mini-bar.)

Bottom Line: No hesitation to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seddonroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 161 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
0.0 mi away
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.0 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rumi Punku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rumi Punku

Property: Hotel Rumi Punku
Address: Choquechaca 339, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cusco
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rumi Punku 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Rumi Punku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumi Punku Hotel
Rumi Punku Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing