We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, clean hotel, good value”
Review of Hotel Rumi Punku

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Rumi Punku
Ranked #18 of 167 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable, clean hotel, good value”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed at Rumi Punku for 3 nights in a standard room on the first floor before our Salkantay hike. It wasn't as noisy as the reviews we read about, some luggage rolling in the AM as early hikers were leaving and a few footsteps from upstairs but nothing else. Hot shower, clean bed and room was all we were looking for. Heat turns on after 5pm and you can ask for an extra roller heater if required. Not bad for $100 a night (medium range in Cusco, a step above hostels). Breakfast was good, fresh fruit, fruit juices, and eggs, ham, cheese. Coca tea always available in the lounge. We came back to Rumi Punku for one night after our hike/2 day Lake Titicaca tour and they upgraded us to the superior suite room at the same $100 rate. Super huge room with a jacuzzi bath. Customer service is friendly and superior, they offered to store our luggage for free, pick up/drop off at airport for free but we opted to go with our hike company, Alpaca Expeditions, to help with this. They offer oxygen if required too as we saw a couple in the lobby using the hotel's huge oxygen tank. Close to the Plaza which is key and down the road from Jack's Cafe, which has great soup for a light meal before your hike. Also take credit card with the current exchange 2.9 soles/1 USD rate. Business center is good with 4 computers as is wifi in our hotel room. Safes in the room too.

Room Tip: Superior suite 217 has a jacuzzi in the bathroom and a separate living suite area with balcony view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elsa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    963
    396
    72
    22
    4
See reviews for
255
623
102
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I checked out this morning after staying one night before leaving for Machu Picchu and then returned for another night in Cusco. Great place! Amazing terraces and patios, Incan and Peruvian decor, beautiful landscaping and fountains. Around every corner you will find a treasure!

I was traveling alone after business in Lima. I was upgraded at no charge to a suite for my first night. It was a mini apartment with sitting room and balcony separate from main room. Windows opened to overlook one of the patios. Loved the room! My second night was in a double room that was really just as nice. Very comfortable beds and pillows. Nice towels and robes and slippers provided.

The location is two or three blocks off of the Plaza de Armas and you do have a long uphill walk. Take your time and enjoy the shops and people. Very safe feeling on the streets at any time.

If I had to describe anything negative, it would be the noise of the dogs barking all night and roosters crowing in the morning. But, you won't escape that anywhere in Cusco.

Really a great place with a wonderful staff. I hope to return and will stay here again! Next time will spend a few more days just to relax at hotel and enjoy Cucso.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Rumi Punku for three nights on a trip round Peru. Entering the hotel through an Inca doorway, we were immediately made to feel welcome. Throughout our stay the staff did everything we asked, such as store bags when we spent two days in the Sacred Valley before return to Cusco.
The rooms are clean and for the price more stylish than we expected. The showers were among the best we experienced in Peru. Breakfast was tasty.
A short walk from the main square in one direction and the San Blas district in the other, the location was excellent.
We really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely return.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jolytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2013

A charming hotel located near the main plaza of Cusco, with lots of good restaurants and cafes close by. We used the hotel as a base going to and from a 4-day hike to Machu Picchu, and to and from a 4-day trip to Lake Titicaca. The hotel kept our bags in storage during these 2 forays, and when we returned from our trips, the bags were in our rooms.

The grounds of the hotel are lovely and the lobby/breakfast room very comfortable. The breakfast buffet is excellent, with lots of fresh fruit, yummy breads, eggs, juices, etc., etc. There is a urn of hot water in the lobby, with a good selection of tea as well as coca leaves.

We slept in 3 different rooms (2 beds, 3 beds, 1 king sized bed), and in all of them, the beds were comfortable and we slept like logs. Most of the time the water was hot, but there were a couple of days in which it was lukewarm. All the rooms were clean, and when we asked for another set of towels, they were delivered right away.

The hotel staff was very accommodating to us, especially when I wasn't feeling well at the end of the trip, and they let us check out 2 hours later, at no cost. Given how I was feeling and knowing that I had 24 hours of travel in front of me, that meant the world to me.

I highly recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage, tend to spread your stuff around, and there are two people in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is a very clean, cozy hotel with a great location near everything. The rooms a nicely furnished and spacious. The staff is friendly and helpful. We needed a driver for a day because we wanted to visit a couple of places out of town. Asked at the reception and they gave us a quote. Had an excellent outing to Maras and Moray with a local driver.
Breakfast is very good and the kitchen staff is great too. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Solonesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Really no drawbacks - nice atmosphere and services, cosy patios, excellent location very close to central Cusco from the one side and Sacsayhuyaman from the other. Good value for money comparatively to the other options we saw in Cusco. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonNico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I was travelling with a friend and we had been staying in budget hostels around Peru. However having just done the Inca trail to Machupicchu with four days camping in tents and no hot showers we decided to treat ourselves and have a few nights in Rumi Punku. The room was an unusual expenditure for us and definitely not worth the money. Although the buffet breakfast was great it is the only thing I can commend the 'hotel' for.

We had no hot water at all in our room despite the leaflets and website advertising 24 hot water. This would be expected in a hostel but when you are paying this price it is expected. We complained to the woman at reception twice about this problem but were ignored. She was very unfriendly and unhelpful and merely said she would fix it but did not even come to the room. The heating also did not work and nobody came to the room to provide fresh towels, toilet roll etc.

We complained for a third time and were finally moved on our last night which was a great inconvenience. The room was larger and therefore a lot colder as the heating did not work. During the move one of our mobile phones was left in the room. I asked the man at reception to unlock the door to our previous room so I could look for it. I searched the room to no avail as did the gentleman and it was no where to be seen. He called the maid who suddenly pulled out the phone from the place we had both searched seconds ago. Very suspicious and not what I expect from a hotel.

We decided to leave the hotel for a much cheaper hostel a few streets away (which had hot water and helpful staff). When we checked out we asked for a discount due to the inconveniences, poor service and rude and unhelpful staff. We were given an almost insignificant discount, very disappointing. Should not be ranked so highly on trip advisor. I have stayed in much better hostels!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Nicola11491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager339, Manager at Hotel Rumi Punku, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Regarding your bad experience at the Hotel, I offer you my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you mentioned. We regret you felt unwelcome guests. We always try to do our best in order to help our guests in all we can though. Nevertheless your suspicions or doubts about the cellphone missed and the honesty of the hotel staff are completely unacceptable and we are shocked for that kind of comments. You made an assumption without proofs. The cellphone was found in your performer room in the bed under the sheets. The receptionist asked you to use your friends cellphone in order to phone yours meanwhile the housekeeper was called to help to look for it because the room was been cleaning so, the housekeeper just took off the covers and the sheets and the cellphone was found. Neither the receptionist nor the housekeeper wanted to keep it. Now, we agree not all guests would be pleased with our services and the facilities at the Hotel but your assumptions about the cellphone issue compromise our reputation as a business and more important our honesty as persons.

Sincerely
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#5 of 167 in Cusco
1,471 reviews
0.3 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.0 mi away
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rumi Punku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rumi Punku

Property: Hotel Rumi Punku
Address: Choquechaca 339, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cusco
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rumi Punku 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Rumi Punku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumi Punku Hotel
Rumi Punku Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing