We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cute, clean, quiet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rumi Punku

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Rumi Punku
Ranked #14 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
san francisco
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“cute, clean, quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My son and I stayed here before and after the 4 day Macchu Pichu trek. It's in a perfect location on a quiet street within a short walking distance of the town center. Lots and lots of little restaurants, cafes, vendors nearby. The hotel was clean, lovely, and quiet! (yay!). The architecture is beautiful, and the courtyards are lush. Breakfast was served in a large sunny room with windows opening to the street, and the food was fresh and healthy. Beds were comfy, the people were helpful. The pickup and dropoff at the airport went super smoothly. When I go back, I will stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank babysmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    860
    358
    64
    22
    3
See reviews for
224
550
91
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nampa, Idaho, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We sandwiched nights at Rumi Punku around a trip to Machu Picchu. The hotel is wonderfully designed from an older structure with lots of character. The rooms were clean and the service outstanding. The hot water was perfect after the cold showers in the Amazon. The complimentary breakfasts were the best we had in Peru with fresh mangos, melon, breads, and eggs cooked to order. They took care of our luggage while we were at Machu Picchu. The hotel is a short walk from Plaza de Armas, close enough without being crowded. They also recommended a local travel agent who purchased and picked up our tickets to hike Huayna Picchu more economically than similar services offered by other websites.

Room Tip: There were very few other guests as we visited during the rainy season. We were given a room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arequipa, Peru
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Cusco was our first stop in Peru and staying at Rumi Punku was a wonderful experience. The service from pick up at the airport to our departure was outstanding. We had a lovely room that was very spacious and comfortable, The decor inviting and the bed ever so comfortable. Breakfast was delicious with lots to choose from. The staff was very accommodating in every way. We had no wants that were not accommodated. The location was within walking distance of the main plaza and many restaurants along the way. We felt safe at all times. Would return again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LLR_RHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

The first night we were the only people here as the hotel was closed for sprucing up, they reopened the next day. The staff were all very helpful and accommodating. The rooms are large and the beds were comfortable with thick blankets (which is needed because it is chilly/cold in Cusco when the sun is down and we were here during their summer) and the heat is not that great. And we loved the San Blas neighborhood. Breakfast was fine and plentiful. It is a charming hotel and definitely not a Marriott.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MissMerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I spent three nights at Rumi Punku (before and after the Inca trail) and had a very enjoyable stay there. This little hotel, which is conveniently located on a cute, narrow street just a few blocks from the main square, is simply adorable, with beautiful courtyards and nice, clean rooms, all in a traditional style but with modern applicance. The staff members are friendly and helpful. The hotel also arranged for airport pick-up, which was great. I would definitely recommend Rumi Punku to anyone visiting Cusco.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krissie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We chose this Hotel for the good reviews, and we were right.
From the beginning of our book everything was perfect, when we got to the airport In cusco, despite the delay in our flights there was a person waiting for us.
When we arived at the Hotel with my freinds, we were imppresed by the inca door. the Hos explained us that it was a Inca door.
Check in was ver friendly, the host offered us coco tea and we got oxygen for the altitud sickness too.
The Hotel desing is modern and colonial well distributed with two courtyards and one terrace on the top floor.
The rooms are spacoius and confortable with, hot water, central heating ...
We take the room for two nights and then we made the reservation for another two nights after the inca trail, the Hotel keep our luggage and as we were tired it was amazing to have our luggage in the rooms.
The Hotel was safety that gave us comfort, and excellent service, amazing place with cozy rooms...

Room Tip: Ask for the luggage service is free and safety
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yme M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

The hotel personnel was very friendly and helpful. Half of our luggage was lost during the trip and they helped us by calling the airline. We even spent a few days out of the hotel while we trekked through the Andes and they kept checking if our bags had arrived. Very nice little hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrirunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#7 of 162 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 stars 1,341 reviews
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.0 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
#19 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 stars 940 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
0.4 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rumi Punku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rumi Punku

Property: Hotel Rumi Punku
Address: Choquechaca 339, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cusco
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rumi Punku 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Rumi Punku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumi Punku Hotel
Rumi Punku Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing