We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel , great location - even better service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Rumi Punku

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Rumi Punku
Ranked #16 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel , great location - even better service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2008

We stayed in the Rumi Punku for 3 nights before we walked the Inca Trail. The rooms are very comfortable. Shower room spacious, new .....and everything worked well! The hotel public areas are very attractive and well maintained, and the service would put any 5-star in the UK to shame. In particular, Javier couldn't do enough for us - whatever we asked for, the answer was always 'yes'. Add to this breakfast with eggs cooked to order, fruit juice squeezed to order and as much of it as you like and you have a really nice hotel, and a really memorable stay. They couldn't fit us in for the night we returned after completeing the Inca Trail, but booked us into the hotel opposite, and still took good care of our bags whilst we were on the Trail.

If you're thinking of staying here, stop thinking, and book it !!

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ispid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    926
    377
    69
    22
    3
See reviews for
241
597
100
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2008

We stayed here 2 nights while in Cusco and were quite pleased. It's not at all like a hostal but more like a really nice small hotel. The courtyard is beautiful with lots of plants and decorative items. I had lots of questions becuase I was worried about the altitude and had difficulty making up my mind on which dates we wanted to reserve. The email replies were prompt and helped answer my concerns. The location made getting around easy and a nice breakfast is included in the reasonable room rate.

  • Liked — beautiful courtyard setting
  • Disliked — occasionally heard people talking outside room
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MegQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2008

We chose to stay at Hotel Rumi Punku on both sides of our trip to Machu Picchu based on recommendations on Trip Advisor & the Frommer's Peru book. Overall it was clean and had a convient location. But there were a few negatives. Here's our thoughts:

Good:
-Location is great, close to Plaza de Armas & restaurants
-Guys at the front desk were nice & very helpful
-They were there on time to pick us up at the Airport

Bad:
-Both rooms were like sleeping in the middle of the courtyard. We went to sleep with the sounds of a party in the main room & woke up with the sounds of screaming americans getting ready to leave the hotel at 5AM
-Rooms were kind of chilly & had no real windows (which allowed both cold air and noise to get in)
-Lumpy bed and miniature pillows
-Breakfast was not great and the fruit may have been the source of my "travel bug"
-Sergio the "hotel travel agent" erroneously advised us to pick up our perurail tickets at the Huanchac station which we had bought online (a half hour walk). The station was closed and it was unnecessary as the San Pedro Station we left from the next morning had no problems finding our reservation and our tickets

You may want to shop around before staying here.

  • Liked — People at the front desk
  • Disliked — Rooms - Noise
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank JFucillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
249 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2008

Arrived at the hotel and taken to the room which was large and clean. The staff Jorge and Javier very helpful. As we didn't take advantage of hotel pickup on arrival asked could they take us to the airport which they did free of charge.
The continual availability of hot drinks free internet usage and the fact the towels were changed daily.Breakfast was not just the buffet but also offerred eggs and juice. I thought this hostal value for money on all counts.

  • Liked — character of the hotel
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lynda99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2008

I went to Peru with a cupple of friends of my. When we finshed the Inka trail and came back to Cusco the staff of RumiPunku came and picked us up at the train staition. This hotel really made an impression on me. The rooms were nice, clean and comfortable with uniqe decor (never seen anithing like it in Peru).

The breakfast was very good with eggs made as wished, fresh fruit, fresh juice, musli, ham and cheese, and the best coffe I ever tried in Peru.

Free internet was nice too.

I feel we got much for the money and would love to come back!

I strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — don't no where to start!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Ar0undthew0rld87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympic peninsula
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2008

My family of 7 (2 seniors, 2 adults & 3 teenagers) just returned from Peru. stayed 3 nights at Hostal Rumi Punku and loved it. It is quiet and charming. Clean, comfortable beds, good breakfast. Easy access to Coca Mate Tea for those acclimating to altitude. Close to Plaza de Armas and good restaurants. Service was great! Everyone was very accomodating. Very secure, electric gate & night security. Always a cab waiting right outside.
Would definitely say again!

  • Liked — The friendly staff
  • Disliked — triple rooms a bit tight
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank N0rwester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2008

I booked this place based on the reviews on Trip Advisor. The reviews couldn't have been more wrong. For what its worth, here are my impressions:

The Good:
* The hotel is ok. Its clean, staff are nice and in a good location; Only few minutes to the main plaza.
* They stored our luggage while we went to Machu Picchu for free.

The Bad:
* We paid $80 USD per night for this place. It is nothing special. After seeing a bunch of hotels and hostels we realized that it was slightly better than the good hostels in town (we eventually moved to San Blas which is right down the street closer to the main square for 32USD) but charge almost 3 time the price. You can get a good hostel between 25 - 35 USD.
* I had requested and emphasised that I wanted a double bed (also called a matrimonial in Peru) b/c I was proposing to my girl friend on this trip at Machu Picchu. When we returned after getting engaged, they had given our double bed room away and gave us a room with 3 single beds and no other rooms available. So for the next two nights we slept in single bed together.

The Ugly:
*I was told I can pay with Visa. When I came to pay, they said there is a 8% charge to pay with Visa (The exchange rate is 2.76 Soles / USD and they charged us 2.98 Soles / USD). I asked them to refund my Visa payment, went down the street to a bank machine that vends USD and got USD to pay the 240USD for 3 nights.

  • Liked — Clean, safe
  • Disliked — Price, guest services, not honoring reservation (no compensation)
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Lankz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 162 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
0.0 mi away
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.0 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rumi Punku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rumi Punku

Property: Hotel Rumi Punku
Address: Choquechaca 339, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cusco
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rumi Punku 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Rumi Punku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumi Punku Hotel
Rumi Punku Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing