We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and attentive staff, a winning combination”
Review of Hotel Rumi Punku

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Rumi Punku
Ranked #18 of 167 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Sunnyvale, California
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Nice hotel and attentive staff, a winning combination”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

The hotel is very nice, and the experience starts as soon as you walk in the front door and are escorted to a sitting lounge with a cup of coca mate while they check you in to your room. The rooms are nicely done, with plenty of room and all the necessary amenities. The location is excellent, close to the Plaza de Armas but far enough away that you are not in the middle of the uber-touristy shops and restaurants.

The world was not perfect, and we did have two minor issues while staying here. First, the WiFi was working but we could not get out to anything past the building; the service provider was having issues. The staff was sympathetic and suggested alternative places to go for WiFi if we needed it. The second issue was lack of water one morning when a local water main broke. The hotel did have a reserve tank, but it needed refilling which took some time. Again the staff was sympathetic and helpful, but not much could be done until the water truck arrived and refilled the reserve tank.

We stayed 4 nights total; 3 nights, then we left for a trek and returned for one last night. We left a bag in storage at the hotel, which was the easiest hotel storage I have encountered. We got a tag from the front desk, attached it to the bag which we left in our room when we left for the trek. When we returned, the bag was already in our room waiting for us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CyclistRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    963
    396
    72
    22
    4
See reviews for
255
623
102
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This hotel was absolutely adorable, perfect for our stay in Cusco! The rooms, the foyer, everything about this hotel was out of a magazine, we couldn't have picked a better hotel for our stay. And the location is amazing! A short walk from EVERYTHING. I traveled with two other girls and had a room with a double and a single bed. The room was clean and a decent size and the bathroom was updated with a great shower (SO important after walking around all day). As soon as we walked in we were seated in the lobby and handed cups of coca tea - everyone is extremely sweet and helpful. The breakfast is absolutely delicious as well! I would have expected a hotel of this caliber to be upwards of 300+ a night, can't believe how affordable it is. It's PERFECT.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This hotel is situated near the main square, walking distance from all major sites in Cusco. We stayed for one night, the breakfast was excellent, room were heated and very spacious and clean. Overall very good experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IIM612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2012

My wife and I went on our honeymoon to Peru...absolutely amazing time. Rumi Punku was the perfect spot to set up home base for the week long trip in Cusco. It had a ton of character...I mean how cool is the front door...an ancient Incan Temple door. Super cool fireplaces in the 'lobby'...with unlimited coco tea to get you on your way. The staff is very accommodating. We hung for 3 days then went on a 2 day hike to Macchu (highly recommended) then stayed 1 more night before back home. We wanted to go white water rafting and asked for directions to a legit place...they instead called two companies to come meet us at the hotel before dinner...sweet thanks. Picked one...and they were on time early in the morning and took us on a great trip. Really good location...couple good restaurants between you and the square. In all actuality i think 'the square' kinda sucked but its all part of the experience. I really would not recommend staying in a hotel right on the square. Unless you love being accosted on your way out the door to grab a bite to eat. Bring your regular Iphone charger and put it on airplane mode....free wifi...check the internet on some downtime. Faster than your parents house.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwdundees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed here for five nights, before and after Macchu Picchu. Great spot in Cusco, close enough to everything but quiet. They picked us up from the train station and let us to practice our spanish; though everyone speaks excellent English. Nice places to relax in the hotel, joy when they lite the fire. Nice friendly staff, blankets toasty and fridge in room a bonus. Has a nice atmosphere, doesn't feel plastic or overly touristy. Recommend the little shop down the road for late night drinks, chocolate and watching policeman dunk their doughnuts.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reuben l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

This place was better than expected. The staff are great, very nice and make sure you have what you need whether at the hotel or outside touring. Beds are comfortable and very warm. Bathrooms are modern with great hot water etc. Location is strong and close to everything in town. Given the price of alternatives in Cusco this place punches well above its weight.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Roaming1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights. The staff were courteous and helpful. The breakfast was great.
Price was reasonable. Located 5 minutes to the plaza.

They hold on to your bags if you are hiking for a couple of days.
However, one on of the mornings, the glass door in the shower crashed on me.
A few cuts in my hands. I was told it had never happened and the staff immediately helped us.
Baring this incident, we really liked this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WajSankara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#5 of 167 in Cusco
1,471 reviews
0.3 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.0 mi away
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rumi Punku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rumi Punku

Property: Hotel Rumi Punku
Address: Choquechaca 339, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cusco
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rumi Punku 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Rumi Punku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumi Punku Hotel
Rumi Punku Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing