We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable and well located”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Rumi Punku

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Rumi Punku
Ranked #17 of 163 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyable and well located”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

Absolutely delightful hotel, and very well located for exploring Cuzco on foot. The breakfast was the best part - fresh fruit, yoghurt, bread, pastries, sausages, in a cosily rustic room. We stayed for five days before the Inca Trail, and the room was one of the smaller ones, but it was clean and a good place to sleep. The big convenience was being able to store our luggage there whilst on the Inca Trail. After the Inca Trail, we returned to Rumi Punku to find our luggage already in our new room. This time we had one of the bigger rooms, on the third floor, which overlooked the rooftops from French doors, which was just wonderful. The bathrooms are clean, and there's a fridge in the rooms. Conveniently, there's a very friendly bodega right next door - turn right as you walk out of Rumi Punku - with water and snacks. The staff was a mixed experience - friendly breakfast staff, and some friendly receptionists, but one was particularly surly and it seemed a struggle and effort to organise a few things. That was the only downside though. We had a super friendly taxi guide Ysac (Isaac), who was arranged through Rumi Punku. Although he didn't speak English, we somehow managed, and really enjoyed him as a tour guide around the Sacred Valley. He also collected us from the train station in Poroy - felt like being met by a favourite uncle! If you're doing the Inca Trail and need to weigh your luggage, Rumi Punku has an old-style weighing machine.

Room Tip: Rooms out to the left of the main reception/garden area (through the tunnel) might be a little quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    937
    385
    69
    22
    4
See reviews for
247
606
101
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed here one day before & one day after we visited Machu Picchu. The hotel is at a great location - about a 5 minute walk from the main plaza. The rooms are pretty small but were clean and warm. We got to stay in a different room each night as our stay was not continuous. The first room looked a little older and the water in the shower drained very slowly. The second room looked better and newer. There was an issue with the hot water in the shower on the 2nd night but was fixed immediately. The wi-fi in the hotel is pretty decent.

Service at the hotel was extremely good. Karina was available to answer all our questions & arranged all our taxi rides to/from the airport & railway station, city tours & also our taxi to Ollantaytambo without any issues.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Varuna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
200 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed here before and after trekking to Machu Picchu. and thoroughly recommend it. The hotel is beatifully kept and the service is excellent. the rooms are not huge but comfortable and the common areas are fantastic for either sitting in the sun or sip a mate in front of the fire in their gorgeous breakfast room.
We found it expensive compared to the other hotels we stayed but is probably because Cusco is more expensive than the rest of the country.
The only problem is that the rooms being located in a courtyard you can get lot of noises and although they ask people to be quiet a night we got woken up twice by very loud tourists saying good night in the courtyard.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HendrikM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cusco, Peru
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed two nights before and one night after the Inca Trail. I'd booked the Rumi Punku based on Tripadvisor reviews and was very pleased with my choice. My husband, 18 yr old daughter and I shared a room which while small was very clean and nicely furnished. Breakfast was great and we were able to store luggage in a secure room and valuables in the hotel safe (get an itemised receipt) while we did the Inca Trail. Upon return we'd been upgraded to a beautiful and spacious room. I'd recommend to all.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelRey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

Sometimes you read tripadvisor reviews and wonder what the negative reviews were all about. This place was great. Hot water all the time, huge flat screen TV, comfortable beds and warm rooms. Maybe some of the other reviewers didnt know what the other tap in the shower was for...!
The beds were super-comfortable and the staff very professional. Plus eggs cooked to order. The business center had 4 pc's so always one available.
Thanks for a lovely stay.
A couple of extra's:-
1) Try Jacks, Ciccolinas for great food (both nearby)
2) Nueva Vida - the best inca massage I found and only 25 soles on Procuradores. Includes hot stones. If I found it earlier I would have gone every day!

Room Tip: Its Cusco so people are getting up at all hours. Maybe ask for a room round the back if youre a lig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffpeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Anselmo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Recently I traveled to Cusco and stayed at Hotel Rumi Punku. After returning from Machu Picchu/Aguas Calientes to Cusco, I realized that I had left my prescription reading glasses in a public restroom in a hotel in Aguas Calientes. The manager of Hotel Rumi Punku, Jesus Davila, called the hotel in Aguas Calientes on my behalf and had secured my glasses by the time I had returned to Cusco from Puno. Senior Davila, thank you again (I cannot read anything w/o my glasses). It was incredible what you accomplished.

Hotel Rumi Punku is a very hospitable home away from home.

Room Tip: Top floor (3rd floor) was very quiet and it had a nice view of Cusco (over the roofs of other buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louise k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

When we arrived at Rumi Punku they said they upgraded us which I thought nothing of since I had booked a superior room, wanting something very nice after our tour of Machu Picchu. To our surprise when we walked in the door, we had a king size bed, a sitting area, a lovely bathroom with a jetted tub & double doors that opened up into a large living room with a refrig & mini bar. It was the size of an apartment. We were thrilled! The staff was excellent. I took my laundry down to the office & it came back that same day & only cost $3 (it was 2 bags worth). The breakfast that was complimentary was very good. There was always coca tea which I drank the entire trip. The hotel is located behind the Plaza de Armas & was safe walking at night. We loved spending time in Cusco. Rumi Punku made for a very comfortable place to stay for 2 nights.

Room Tip: The superior rooms are much larger but we lucked out & got an entire suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idahospud66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.3 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
1.4 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 163 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.0 mi away
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rumi Punku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rumi Punku

Property: Hotel Rumi Punku
Address: Choquechaca 339, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cusco
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rumi Punku 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Rumi Punku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumi Punku Hotel
Rumi Punku Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing