We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in cuzco”
Review of Hotel Rumi Punku

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Rumi Punku
Ranked #18 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at Rumi punku. Location is excellent , walking distance to both San blas plaza and plaza de armas. Close to the restaurants and travel agencies. Courteous staff and clean rooms. The luggage storage looked v safe. We left our laptop there while visiting machu picchu.
The only downside is that it is a little pricey. You will be charged for everything edible in the room.
Overall we enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vidalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,503)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

950 - 956 of 1,503 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2011

We stayed at Rumi Punku on 3 seperate occassions in October/November 2010. The staff could not have been more helpful during our stay and on our wedding anniversary they upgraded our room and organised champagne and flowers for us which was a lovely surprise! The location is great, near to the centre of town but on a quiet street. We have never reviewed anywhere we have stayed on our travels but Rumi Punku was just so special we had to. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone :)

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SallyHandley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2011

We had an amazing stay with the Rumi Punku in early January. We started and ended our stay in Peru with 3 nights here and found it the absolute perfect location in Cuzco. You are above the main plaza which is the center of town and below the neighborhood of San Blas with restaurants and antiques, in this glorious hotel. Our room was on a courtyard with a fountain quietly bubbling and lovely plants and ancient stone artifacts. The whole ambience was stylish in a Spanish colonial way. The staff made us feel at home giving us Cocoa tea on our arrival. Our room was huge with quality bedding, white duvets, excellent pillows, a very large clean bathroom with soap and flowers. There was a little refrigerator and treats atop. There was a large central room for eating adjoining a sitting room, with two of the most amazing fireplaces at either end. These fireplaces were constructed of ancient iron antiquities and were always burning. How wonderful to wake up and have breakfast (included) by the fire; fresh fruit, an assortment of breads, cold cuts, yogurt and cereals, fabulous coffee, and eggs/toast/bacon cooked by order. The staff was very information and helpful. They took very good care of us in a quiet thoughtful way, which we really appreciated. I would never consider or recommend any other hotel but the Rumi Punku for any travels to Cuzco.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C0R0NAD0IsLaNdEr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2011

Rooms are small but adequate, clean. Pretty inner courtyard - adds to the charm of the building. Breakfast ok. We left our bags at the hotel for a few days whilst we travelled to Machu Picchu and Sacred Valley - returned to find all in order. Enjoyed our stay. The only negative aspect is that other guests leaving in the early hours of the morning make a lot of noise... chatting and calling out to each other... there are many notices asking guests to be quiet but nobody pays attention. Perhaps a gentle reminder from staff would help.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GourmetGypsies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2011

This rustic but sophisticated hotel was just 4 blocks from the Plaza de Armas and hosted lovely rooms with authentic Incan walls in the courtyard and entrance. The staff was courteous and helpful. They helped us with scheduling problems that occurred with PeruRail and also prepared a surprise birthday cake for my teen son. We figured they garnered that it was his birthday from his passport. We were all very surprised by their attentiveness and thoughtfulness.

Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2011

I was greeted at the airport in Cusco on time by the hotel driver/taxi and checked in at 8AM in the morning which was great due to the high altitude and my plan to relax/rest for the day. Was given a cup of coca tea right away and was complimentary (all day long). My emails prior to my arrival were answered quickly... they have an oxygen tank if you are not feeling well - I didn't need it.

The rooms are pleasant and if you are lucky enough to get a room with a view it makes it even better. If I make it back to Cusco I will definitely stay here again.

Last but not least, I hired one of the hotel drivers/taxis to drive me from Cusco > Pisaq > Urubamba > Ollantaytambo... it was one of the best days of my Peru trip! His name is Isaq and he did not speak english, but with my broken spanish it worked out well...

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jkaufelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

My family and I stayed here in December, 2010 and we were delighted! The pictures do not do it justice. The multi-leveled rooms are centered around patio courtyards that are alive with plants and flowers. It was so peaceful and relaxing. The staff was wonderfully friendly and helpful. Our free breakfasts were more than adequate and we were even accomodated with freshly cooked eggs at our request. It was an easy walk to the center of town yet far enough away from traffic noises. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alfazio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.0 mi away
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
0.0 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#30 of 171 in Cusco
1,472 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 171 in Cusco
1,499 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rumi Punku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rumi Punku

Address: Choquechaca 339, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cusco
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: $86 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rumi Punku 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Rumi Punku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumi Punku Hotel
Rumi Punku Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing