We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed my stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Rumi Punku

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Rumi Punku
Ranked #17 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Chatham, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyed my stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2007

We stayed in this hotel for two nights and really enjoyed it. Great location and the staff was great as well. Good value for the money. If you have a short stay at Cusco, I highly recommend this hostal.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jossie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    937
    385
    69
    22
    4
See reviews for
247
606
101
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2007

My husband and I were in Cusco earlier this month and stayed at this hotel for 4 days. From the moment we arrived, I was pleased with my decision to book the hotel. They picked us up at the airport (complimentary, if you book online), brought us to the hotel, immediately invited us some mate de coca (to help with the altitude change) and Sergio gave us great information about Cusco and the outlying area. He also helped us arrange a private tour of the Sacred Valley of Kings the next day. The rooms were very cozy, clean and quaint. The staff was friendly and attentive. Breakfast was great - the coffee was strong. The area surrounding the hotel was quiet and I felt safe the entire time. Everything about our stay (especially the gorgeous city) was wonderful. My husband and I are already discussing our next visit to Cusco and are definitely planning on staying here. I would recommend this place to anyone who likes clean, well-located hotels at an excellent rate.

  • Liked — Excellent location, friendly staff
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CinSilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2007

Rumi Punku is a pleasant, clean place to stay with extremely friendly and helpful staff. It's not a luxury hotel, but it certainly fit the bill for what I was looking for--clean, hot water, close to the town square. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CPomeroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATLANTA, GA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2007

My wife and I stayed here for three nights. The service was excellent. Nice breakfast that starts serving at 5AM (great for early travel to Macchu and the airport). The rooms were pleasant (cable tv, hot shower). The location is perfect (right on the bottom steps of the artsy San Blas neighborhood and three blocks from the main square), and teh price was very reasonable, $60 USD per night.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank JasonMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2007

We stayed at this hotel for five days total, a few days before and a few days after our trek on the inca trail. the hotel staff were helpful, friendly, and very accommodating...the price was right, and the rooms very comfortable, clean, warm (there were plug in heaters if needed). what was particularly helpful was they allowed us to store our luggage there while we were gone on the trail. the bedding was also nice and substantial and warm!

the location is convenient to the san blas (artists' ) neighborhood, and not to far from sacsayhuaman, for those who want to do the hike themselves up or down the hill...and we felt comfortable leaving things there.

in the mornings there is a complimentary breakfast with toast or cereal, fruit, and eggs, and there is complimentary internet.

this hotel is definitely a good value in a city where hotels are not inexpensive..,.

  • Liked — good value for cost
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hola_y_saludos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2007

We stayed at Rumi Punku for a total of 10 days in August with our family. It is a perfect home base for Cusco. Our rooms were bright and clean, the staff was very helpful, and the breakfasts were great. Anibel (the owner) has done a wonderful job providing american/european-style comfort combined with Peruvian colonial decor. They have abundant hot water and heaters in the rooms. (They do turn off the hot water in the afternoon to save energy, but will turn it on again if you just ask). They have free wireless internet access (ask for the password). My son and daughter brought their laptops which I was unsure about at first, but was later very glad they did. We were able to keep in touch daily with our family members without leaving our rooms. The front door is always locked and they have a security guard at the entrance at nighttime, so we felt very safe. The walk to the Plaza de Armas is a short one downhill, and Plaza San Blas a short walk uphill. If you're tired, you can take a taxi back from the Plaza de Armas for 2 soles. Also, they work with a small travel agency called Inka Legacy Tours (Sergio and Hilda) who were very helpful in getting us Macchu Picchu and Sacred Valley tickets/connections. Overall, I couldn't have been happier with our experience at Rumi. For the $, there's no better value in Cusco...it definitely merits more than 2 stars. If you're looking for a lovely, comfortable place to stay in a quiet, quaint area, this is it!

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Calderonfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2007

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for three nights in August 2007 and found it to be ideal. The service stands out as the best I have received in all my travels, with friendly and knowledgeable receptionists who can all speak English. We were unfortunate enough to have had some trouble with the unavailability of train tickets from Cusco to Machu Pichu which we had bought in advance in Arequipa. The hotel management was excellent in assisting us in our negotiations with the rather unprofessional tour operator and ensured that we not only got to our destination, but also received some compensation for the stress we had to endure.

The hotel itself is in an excellent location in the popular area of San Blas. It has a very homely feel largely thanks to a large living room (with a fire in the grate) where you can help yourself to complimentary hot drinks, a comfortable sofa and free internet. The price is reasonable (USD60 per night for a clean and modern double room with cable TV and ensuite bathroom, inclusive of breakfast).

But what makes this place stand out is the service - not over-the-top in any way, but efficient, honest and friendly. We were quite sad to leave and felt that we had made friends with the people who work here.

  • Liked — Service and common room area
  • Disliked — Occasional breakdown in free internet service
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Cadwaladr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.3 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
1.4 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 162 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.0 mi away
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rumi Punku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rumi Punku

Property: Hotel Rumi Punku
Address: Choquechaca 339, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cusco
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rumi Punku 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Rumi Punku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumi Punku Hotel
Rumi Punku Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing