We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loud guests but location great”
Review of Hostal Resbalosa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Resbalosa
Ranked #125 of 344 Cusco B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loud guests but location great”
Reviewed November 29, 2010

After spending 2 months in south America and 2 weeks of it in Peru I thought this was a good hostel compared to most.

We are a 30's couple after good loation and clean quiet comfortable rooms. Most boxes ticked except quiet rooms. We had a lower floor, inward facing room that was average in size (but okay for cusco I think as the last place we stayed at in cusco, before machu picchu, up the hill further from here had even smaller rooms for more money). Problem for us was some American guests that thought talking loud, mindless dribble at 5:30 in the morning in the main lobby area was not inconsiderate.

The included breakfast (fresh bread, eggs, juice and coffee) was decent and the view from the breakfast tables over the city are great.

Maybe try and get an upstairs room and then the noise won't be such a problem. Good expat cafe down the hill from the hostel that does good meals.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Headchimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    51
    43
    18
    14
See reviews for
14
51
28
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2010

We booked there following recommadations from Landadventure in Arequipa. Landadventure is great for the colca canyon, but this recommandation sucked ! The rooms are very small and cold. The service is non-existent, breakfast is crap, and not included. And most of all, it is the noisiest Hostal we have been to.
The only + is the view from the roof.
Furthermore, the rooms are quite expensive compare to other Hostal: We payed 66 Soles for a matrimonial with bathroom. In Cusco, the price for such an hostal is 50 Soles with breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julekogurek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cusco hotels

Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 14, 2009

If you are looking for great comfort and quality accomodation, this is not the hostel for you. I stayed for 1 night in a tiny room, but clean and with a big window that let the air in.

What i suffered the most is "getting" to the hostel, since you have to climb a long rock stair to get there (no other way) and you arrive with your backpack but with no air.
The structure of the hostel is messy, it's not simetric at all, and you get lost inside the place.

Nevertheless, it has an open terrace from where you can enjoy the sun of Cusco and have an amazing view of Plaza de Armas.
But the price is reasonable for this services and they have hot water 24 hs.

When i was there, you have to pay for using internet services. But the overall experience is good (not excellent, but good).

  • Liked — the view from the terrace
  • Disliked — the size of the rooms
  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank llocatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2009

The beds are comfy, roomy and warm, the bathrooms are clean, and the view is spectacular. If you're on the main floor, either sleep with your iPod or be prepared to have your slumber disturbed every fifteen minutes by late partygoers and early check-ins. If you want hot water with good pressure, be prepared to shower before 6:30am or after 4:00pm, and even then it's a crap shoot, though personal appeals to management are a lot more effective during late afternoon.

Hotel tour booking is trustworthy, but DO NOT arrange travel to/from the airport or train station through the hotel. Our flight arriving was delayed and the ride had long since given up on us, leaving us to find our own way to the hotel Then we paid 45 s/ for what we thought was a hotel-sanctioned taxi to the train station at Poroy. Instead, we ended up taking a taxi about six blocks only to get ditched on a bus so the landlady could save a few soles. When the bus ran late we ended up spending another 50 s/ on the taxi to the train station we thought we'd arranged through the landlady to begin with. Coming back through on our way back to Lima we dragged our bags down to the Plaza and paid a whopping 20 s/ for a ride to the airport, so definitely arrange for your own travel.

Still, if you're in it for the view or the location, both are hard to beat.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tepsicity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Providence, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2009

We stayed at Resbalose for 2 consecutive nights and an additional 1 night after returning from the Inca Trail. The hostel was adequate, the staff was friendly and the decor was charming. We chose this hostel for its view and location (3 minutes walk down to central square and about 6 minutes' walk up from central square) and it didn't disappoint on both accounts. Our luggage was taken care of safely during our trek. However, the bed not as comfortable as those at other budget hostels we stayed at and the breakfast was only of okay quality (again compared with the other budget hostels' breakfasts). The hotel's travel company was able to arrange tours for us, but if you do use them to book travel definitely get a receipt for advance and/or service payments. Overall, if you are looking for a budget place to crash in Cuzco (less than $20 a night) with great views and location, Resbalosa will serve your purpose.

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank cooltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas, tx
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2008

Paid US$15/night - thought it was a great deal. Nicest pillow in Peru out of 6 hotels. They have book exchange, laundry service, beautiful roof top terrace, wonderful location (walking street, no cars), quiet, convenient location.

Showers are retrofit, so you have to be careful, but if you have experience, you can get a great hot shower. Bathroom smelled a little - not sure why - but it seemed like sewage.

Great place for cheap rent - we're an easy-going couple that loves to find a bargain.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jeffcoseo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2007

Friendly, great location, reasonable price (paid 30soles for double matrimonio con bano). ground floor rooms extremely small but the ones at the top are just lovely! lagguage storage, free internet (only 1 computer), one of the receptionists speaks fluent english, continetal/americano breakfast - terrace, laundry service.

  • Liked — location, terrace
  • Disliked — bathroom (shower)
  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pakaluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.5 mi away
Casa de Mama Cusco Recoleta
0.2 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#113 of 164 in Cusco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jamuy Guest House
Jamuy Guest House
#55 of 344 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hostal Casa del Inka
Hostal Casa del Inka
#88 of 344 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marlon's House Cusco-Peru
0.2 mi away
Flying Dog Hostel Cusco
Flying Dog Hostel Cusco
#50 of 431 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Resbalosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Resbalosa

Property: Hostal Resbalosa
Address: Resbalosa 394, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 344 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Resbalosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing