We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“«Too much hassel and feels like a hostel»”
Review of MARQUESES Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
MARQUESES Hotel
Ranked #54 of 167 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“«Too much hassel and feels like a hostel»”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed in Marqueses before and after a inkatrail to Machu Picchu with SAS Travel (which is a completely different story – never use them!). When we came to Cusco there was noone at the trainstation to pick us up so we had a discussion at the front desk about who should pay the taxi – that shouldn't be necessary. They had even written down that we should pay $ 90 per night, although it said in my contract $ 80. It was a discussion about this and if it included transfer in and out because of the lowered fee, although that also were in the contract and the front desk guy were pretty hopeless.

The first night we stayed there we got a room on the second floor with i window in the roof which ruined half of the night sleep. The rooms are big but not cozy, and it seems impossible to get a double bed (just two singles beds).There is wifi only in the front desk area and just okay breakfast. The staff is not very helpful and recommended Emperor as a place to eat – NEVER go there, they serve cardboard pizzas, the worst I've ever tasted.

The second night we got the same room with the same annoying window in the ceiling. Fortunately we were getting up with the sun and weren't too bothered with it. Marqueses looks like an old imperial building with huge furniture and big rooms, but you feel like you're in a hostel. The only good thing about our stay is that the meeting point before the inkatrail was at the hotel. But we wont use either SAS or Marqueses next time we're in Cusco, that's for sure!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sverreflem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    128
    37
    13
    10
See reviews for
80
140
36
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed here while in Cusco. Very nice place with beautiful courtyard. Breakfast is excellent and really loved their order on the fly omelet. However the biggest complaint is the literally paper thin walls plus the squeaky bamboo (?) floor. We got our decent share of neighbor's amorous loving making moaning and subsequent trips to the bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gl0baltr0tter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed here in Aug and it is a little gem hotel. Very characteristic with lovely inner court to relax. Rooms were comfortable and staff very friendly and helpful. All in all a great place to stay in a great location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelforfun67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

A beautiful place to stay....clean, charming, located near everything.

We especially appreciated the professionalism and friendliness of the staff. I hurt my knee hiking to Machu Pichu, and the hotel staff found a crutch for me to use as my husband and I toured around Cusco our last day.

Every member of the staff was kind and polite. If we are ever lucky enough to come back to Cusco, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tampkem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We initially chose Hotel Marqueses because of convenience -- its handy connection to our Inca Trail guide agency (SAS Peru) and its central location. But we would choose it again because of its beauty -- a charming sanctuary in the midst of several lively plazas -- and especially because of its staff who spoke excellent English and were so welcoming and helpful, and so kind and prompt when I needed medical assistance due to the altitude. Thank you, Maria and Thomas and all! Nice touches: tea and water station in the courtyard, delicious room service and breakfasts, super-efficient laundry service, room safe and secure luggage storage during our trek -- and last but not least, a wonderful doctor on call and oxygen treatments on a red velvet couch in a beautiful courtyard.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mitzi Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Our 'home base' for the week was Hotel Los Marqueses and it was amazing.
This hotel is located half a block from a small square and 1.5 blocks to the MAIN heart - centre of Cusco, with so many shops and restaurants in within 5 minutes walk - it was a in a perfect location. I travelled to Peru with my Daughters' school group and didn't have any concerns about the safety of any of the kids, or myself at this hotel and was comfortable walking around the area as a group, on my own, or allowing the kids to do the same. (we have 'safety in numbers" rules though)
Like most hotels in the historical part of Cusco, this is a converted monastery with central courtyard and all the hotel rooms are only accessed from the courtyard.
When you first arrive, you are greeted by the friendly staff who have you sit in the comfortable chairs while serving you cocoa tea - a MUST to combat altitude sickness. (available 24/7 in the courtyard) The staff where always so welcoming and accommodating and most spoke good English.
When you enter your room thru the double doors - you feel all the history behind the doors, but will find all the modern conveniences of home too.
I made a point of looking most of the rooms in our group (15 rooms) and every room was slightly different, but all had the same characteristics - comfortable beds with warm bedding, private bathrooms with separate sink, toilet (yes toilet seats and paper - LOL) and showers with HOT water, as well as fridge, in room safe and LG flat screen TV's. There is no central heat in Peru so all rooms also had space heaters which made each room very comfortable. (it freezes at night in their winter)
Every morning they offered breakfast with a selection of hot (eggs made to order) or cold options as well as coffee and cocoa tea.
Excellent free WIFI is available in the lobby/central courtyard area only, but it was a great way to meet other travellers whom where also checking their emails and such in the same area. They have 2 desk top computers in the lobby for guest use as well - in case you didn't bring your own device with you.
EXCELLENT place to stay in the heart of Cusco!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor - they have vaulted ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LLA4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Kent, Uk
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

An easy, cheap (S/10) taxi ride from Cusco bus station, Hotel Los Marqueses is centrally located between 2 Cusco squares and a couple of minutes walk from the main square, the Plaza de Armas. Friendly, helpful English-speaking reception staff. Comfortable room (with plug-in electric radiator as cold at night!) and fairly small bathroom. Satellite TV. Complimentary WiFi in main reception area only (did not reach bedroom). Complimentary tea, coffee, coca tea and water available 24/7. Good hotel breakfast and plenty of restaurants nearby (recommend the excellent "Fallen Angel" as somewhere out of the ordinary to dine). Great hotel, as recommended by SAS travel (two doors away) with whom we had booked our 4-day Inca Trail trek. Recommend the hotel laundry service (@US$2 per kilo) before and after the Inca Trail trek.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.0 mi away
Los Andes De America Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cusco
Hilton Garden Inn Cusco
#22 of 167 in Cusco
617 reviews
0.4 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Garcilaso
Hotel Garcilaso
#67 of 167 in Cusco
223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Inka I
Royal Inka I
#41 of 167 in Cusco
385 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#18 of 167 in Cusco
1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MARQUESES Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MARQUESES Hotel

Property: MARQUESES Hotel
Address: Garcilaso Street 256 -Centre | (Near Saint Francis Plaza), Cusco 08000, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — MARQUESES Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your MARQUESES Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Marqueses Hotel
Los Marqueses Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing