We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Central, Safe Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
MARQUESES Boutique Hotel
Ranked #61 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2011

We stayed twice at this hotel, before and after our Salkantay trek. The rooms open onto courtyards so they can be quite dark. The first room we had was particularly dark as it was located on the ground floor and the window opened onto the stairs. The second room we had was up on the 1st floor and was very large and bright. The window as such was a large grilled square with shutters that didn't quite close, but in the 2 days we were there we didn't here anyone walk past the room.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough for us. At breakfast we hardly saw anyone so would have a good chat with the waiters who are always interested to know of your travel plans.

This was also the cheapest place for us to have our clothes laundered.

Their wifi works in the front courtyard and there are computers at your disposal, plus the usual free water to fill up your water bottles with.

It is located on a small one way street which means if you are picked up/dropped off you block the traffic, it is easier to use the squares at the top or bottom of the street for collection.

This was a very safe area and just a few minutes walk into the main square. Also a few steps away is the cacao museum, which is worth going into seeing it's on your doorstep.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hiker_64OK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (398)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 398 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2011

Owned by local travel company SAS, this hotel has a large courtyard with tables and a water fountain. Very neat style of hotel with intricately carved wood balconies, posts, and doors throughout. Rooms were very large, and breakfast was quite good.

Wireless internet is available for free, but there was only one router which means some rooms do not get a signal. There are computers as well, and an area where you can make hot drinks 24hrs a day. Laundry service is available for cheap and comes quickly.

Staff were very helpful and friendly, and spoke moderate english. I recommend going to the local produce market nearby for an awesome experience.

Overall very impressed with the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for one close to the internet router.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grrraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

I am the owner of a tour company and just returned from bringing a group of 13 to Peru. I stayed at Marqueses for five nights (the group was there for three nights). The entire staff of the hotel was extremely accommodating to our every desire. They absolutely couldn't have been more gracious and welcoming. The location is great - only a couple of blocks from Plaza de Armas and within walking distance to everything. The hotel has a wonderfully authentic feel to it with colonial furnishings - you don't feel that you are staying at an ordinary chain hotel. You truly feel like you are in Old Peru with two intimate courtyards - an oasis in the city. The group agreed that the Marqueses was one of their favorite accommodations of the entire trip. I highly recommend this lovely hotel and will be bringing another group back in May.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatureQuest37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

If having hot water in your shower is not important, the ambience is nice. We stayed here 2 nights in 2 different rooms, beds were comfy, rooms are spacious, one room only had a skylight, and the other room had a window. One night we had warmish water and the other night and morning we didn't. Also, both bathrooms had black mold on the ceilings - there are treatments to remove it! The maid's cell phone ringing outside our hotel room was annoying when we were trying to sleep in just a little. The included breakfast was good if you don't have to leave before 7 a.m. for a tour. Great location where you can walk to everything in Cuzco, just a couple blocks to Plaza de Armas. We stayed at a different hotel for our 3rd Cusco night, and made sure that it had hot water!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Breckenridge_COKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

free wifi, free hot drinks, very accomodating staff. We had a 9 month old baby and nothing was too much trouble. We were recommended this hotel and told we would get wonderful service and we did!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davecusco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

This hotel is two short blocks away from the main square (Plaza de Armas). The staff was wonderful, The breakfast was one of the highlights of our trip - we looked forward to the fresh squeezed orange juice each morning. They have fruit, toast, eggs, coffee, etc. The atmosphere of the hotel is nice, and the central courtyards are quint and picturesque. They offer free water and coca tea all throughout the day - you can help yourself! The rooms were nice, and came with a cozy space heater for cold nights. Room service was good too. I loved the colonial styling of this hotel. They have a shuttle for airport pick-up, and they are next door to a Citibank ATM and SAS Travel (who we booked our day tours with).

Room Tip: We had two rooms here, and both were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kmh_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

This hotel far exceeded my expectations. The manager David, was extremely attentive. He showed us around the rooms so we could choose the most suitable. The beds are very comfortable - I believe they are all orthopaedic beds. They have done an incredible job of restoring and refurbishing this old Colonial mansion.
There is cocoa tea available at the reception - and breakfast and hotel transfers are included. The rooms are generous in size - very clean. The location is very central - close to the Plaza de Armas and shops.
We were met at the airport - we stayed a night and left the next day for a trekking trip organized by SAS Travel (they are affiliated to the hotel) and returned three days later.
I would fully recommend this hotel - it is absolutely suitable for honeymooners, family, anyone who likes to experience a . A very warm ambiance - big rooms. Absolute value for money.

Room Tip: A magical place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glau888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0 mi away
Los Andes De America Hotel
0.4 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
0 mi away
Hotel Garcilaso
Hotel Garcilaso
#71 of 171 in Cusco
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#18 of 171 in Cusco
1,524 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Inka I
Royal Inka I
#39 of 171 in Cusco
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MARQUESES Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MARQUESES Boutique Hotel

Address: Garcilaso Street 256 -Centre | (Near Saint Francis Plaza), Cusco 08000, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: $61 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — MARQUESES Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your MARQUESES Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Marqueses Hotel
Los Marqueses Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing