We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad at all!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cusco Plaza Nazarenas
Ranked #242 of 347 Cusco B&B and Inns
Sydney
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not bad at all!”
Reviewed August 9, 2009

This hotel is quite good, I am surprised at some previous comments! The rooms and bathrooms were quiet, clean and comfortable. The staff are generally friendly and helpful. It is in a great location within walking distance to all the main sites in cusco and breakfast is available for 7 soles, although there is not a lot of variety at all. Laundry facilities and internet access are available on site. A good, basic hotel!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank backpacker2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    22
    35
    17
    7
See reviews for
7
25
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2009

Our 1st night in Cusco in Plaza 1, we were in a room approx 7 x 10 feet, with a TV that was on the blink, and the ONLY room without hot water (picture attached - my husband spanning the walls). We had little sleep on the lumpy bed but the worse factor was there was only small windows in the room and shower at shoulder height that led to a shaft that was hemmed in by wood beams. There was no escape if there had been a fire outside in the corridor as the room was one of 3 in a blind end at the top of the stairs.
Tucan Tours said they would be looking into the matter but said that this HOTEL was used constantly on their Adventure tours. Our 12 day tour of Peru cost £2600 with some bery poor accommodation and no food. We will not be using Tucan Tours again.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macpac61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cusco hotels

Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2009

This place is okay. Nothing great, but not bad.
Room was comfortable. A little loud. Some rooms near front desk are apparently quite loud as you can hear staff etc. Might want to bring ear plugs just in case.
Breakfasts for 7 soles was a good deal I thought.
Staff is friendly enough.
Great location.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rambling_Canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2009

make sure you don't accept the room next to the kitchen (i think it's 106) as you will be woken at 5am by banging and running water etc! rooms are ok - clean and a decent size, the breakfast is a rip off and for two out of four days we were there there was no hot water and no water at all for a few hours at a time! good location just down the hill to the main plaza.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — lack of water + some rooms situated next to noisy kitchen area
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loumcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2008

It may be advertised as a Hotel but it is worse than a backpackers hostel. Travel agencies such as Tucan travel arrange for its tour members to stay here. As a person who has travelled worldwide, I have the pleasure to say that this is the worst ever place I have stayed (and trust me I have been to some very dubious places). The TV's didn't work properly, the bathrooms were covered in a green mould, the floor boards creaked, the beds uncomfortable and worst of all you can't sleep as there are constantly cars beeping throughout the night when they are picking up hikers. You pay 7 soles for breakfast which consists of stale bread and some other unediable stuff. This is not an exaggeration, it is seriously a very bad place...

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank walks_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
525 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 827 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2007

It is very cosy and pleasant hotel. It is near Inca museum and near the Main Square, with Internet and restaurants. The Jacks restaurant is near by. The breakfast at hotel is only 6 soles (a pound) worthwhile for that price. The laundry is 5 soles for a kilo (about 85 p) The staff are very friendly and helpful. It is good base if you are going for Inca trail as they store yr luggage. I had a lovely stay at the hotel as it is in good location to explore cusco (I really enjoyed cusco).

Helpful?
3 Thank Smeets P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
99 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2006

This hotel is cosy (thanks to the heating plus additional freestanding heaters in rooms - very important for the often chilly Cusco nights!) and staff are friendly, helpful and available at all hours. Great location next to the main square Plaza de Armas with plenty of cafes, restaurants, shops, internet and laundry places within 5 mins walk. The hotel also offers its own laundry service which is cheap and fairly quick. Only thing to be aware of is that walls are quite thin and the hotel can be noisy early in the mornings as a lot of tour groups use this hotel as a starting point for trips to Machu Picchu, Sacred Valley etc. On the plus side there is plenty of secure storage to leave your larger bags for a few days while you go on these trips with your handy day packs!
Comfortable accommodation for those looking to spend their holiday money on souvenirs and experiences rather than luxury!

  • Liked — Location and helpful staff
  • Disliked — A little noisy
  • Tips/Secrets — A little Spanish goes a long way and is much appreciated by staff
  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank FayeW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
Cusco Plaza Nazarenas
Cusco Plaza Nazarenas
#119 of 164 in Cusco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plaza de Armas Cusco Hotel
0.3 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Guest House at Fallen Angel
0.1 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
0.2 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#28 of 164 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cusco Plaza Nazarenas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cusco Plaza Nazarenas

Property: Cusco Plaza Nazarenas
Address: Plaza Nazarenas 181, Cusco, Peru (Formerly Hostal Cusco Plaza I)
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #242 of 347 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cusco Plaza Nazarenas 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cusco Plaza I its an eighteenth century mansion fully restored for use as accommodation. Its located in "Plazoleta Nazarenas" one of the most beautiful square in Cusco, it has a magical charm which guest perceive when they sit there. Only 100 meters from the main square, and 20 meters from Museums, restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Cusco Plaza Nazarenas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing