We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the Best New Places in Cusco. You Must Try it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Uchu Peruvian Steakhouse

Uchu Peruvian Steakhouse
Ranked #13 of 686 Restaurants in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Peruvian, Latin, Contemporary, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Uchu's kitchen is inspired by classic Peruvian recipes touched with contemporary sophistication. We also play with new ingredients taking new flavors and creating unequable experiences for the palate. Carved wooden bases, volcanic stones prepared at high temperatures, an ample selection of surf and turf ítems from which to choose, native aji creams and aromatic herbs allow us to provide a unique dining experience for all. Located in a colonial home in the center of Cusco, exposed adobe walls, clay, aged wood, avant garde textiles, candles and crystals create an eclectic ambience in which to enjoy your experience.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“One of the Best New Places in Cusco. You Must Try it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Both the food and service were top notch. If you're a fan of steaks, you have to go to Uchu. Word of advice: make a reservation in the afternoon if you're planning to go at night. The place is nicely decorated, the food was brought up very quickly and overall, we had a great time and one of the best meals in Cusco.

I recommend the alpaca causa as an entrée, and either the lamb or the "Loco Carnes" main dish.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank arturogoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,729 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,271
    383
    59
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, MA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A wonderful meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

Thanks to Trip Advisor, I had suggested this restaurant as the place to celebrate a friend's birthday. We had had several meals before visiting Cusco, including alpaca, but the food and service at UCHU was exceptional. The alpaca was delicious, the spicy peanut mashed potatoes were a unique find, and the appetizers were fantastic. Service was friendly, attentive, and helpful and the price was very reasonable for the quality of service and the deliciousness of the food. Highly recommended!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Mouth watering!! Must go!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

After getting two bacteria infections in Bolivia when we moved on to Peru I was in search of some good healthy clean food. This place was amazing, great food and service.

My partner and I ate here at least 4 times while we where in Cuzco. It really was that good!

Helpful?
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

Family of 6 was accommodated without a reservation (but would recommend it!). The food was incredible-the steaks all come out cooked rare on cooking stones and continued to cook as we sat dining. Two people at our table tried alpaca and it was very interesting-gamey as I guess you would expect. The sauces, the meat and the wine was amazing. After paying the bill we were given a card for 10% off at their other restaurant, Marcelo's, which we ate at twice! Uchu is well worth the visit and half the price as a fine American restaurant.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Went three times during my trip in December 2013”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

My sister and I went there three times during our trip. 1ST was during lunch:mediocre service, good food. 2nd time: Dinner was awesome and great service. 3rd: absolutely horrible service. Rude and wait staff blatantly ignored us. There was only two other people in the whole place so we couldn't even assume it was just a super busy night. Was absolutely terrible and the experience was so bad even with the awesome dinner experience, I will not recommend this place to friends.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CarlaCampos14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uchu Peruvian Steakhouse also viewed

 
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Uchu Peruvian Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing