We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Que rico!”

Uchu Peruvian Steakhouse
Ranked #7 of 729 Restaurants in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Uchu's kitchen is inspired by classic Peruvian recipes touched with contemporary sophistication. We also play with new ingredients taking new flavors and creating unequable experiences for the palate. Carved wooden bases, volcanic stones prepared at high temperatures, an ample selection of surf and turf ítems from which to choose, native aji creams and aromatic herbs allow us to provide a unique dining experience for all. Located in a colonial home in the center of Cusco, exposed adobe walls, clay, aged wood, avant garde textiles, candles and crystals create an eclectic ambience in which to enjoy your experience.
San Salvador, El Salvador
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Que rico!”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Its expensive, so what!? If you REALLY want good food, go to this place and pay 100 Soles for really really good food. Try the 3 different meat plate! Next day you go to a local place, have some local food and pay 4 Soles to save the money you spent the day before! :-)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank H D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,926 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,442
    402
    63
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hinton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An experience”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Arrived just before opening time, but Evelyn let us in for a beer. Ate the Alpaca tenderloin cooked on stone slab and sampled some Peruvian wine and beer. Finished off the meal by making our own Pisco Sours at the bar. Agreat evening

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank aspatria_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely experience”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had tenderloin cooked on a stone and in kebabs. The meat was so tender that it could be cut with a fork. They also make mashed potato appetizers that are terrific. Wine and beer is available. We had a Spanish wine that was the special. You can't beat the price or quality if you are looking for beef, chicken or alpaca.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very good steak and alpaca”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Nice place. Little hard to find so keep trying! We had the shrimp bruschetta to start and it is excellent. Had the steak and alpaca hot stone meal. Also very good. Desert of trio chocolate was very nice. Had to wait quite a while for our check, hence the 4 instead of 5 stars.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tadders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cusco, Peru
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ok but came away disappointed”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

It is alright, and that is it really. Certainly not wonderful. delicious, fantastic or anything like that. I would also say it is overpriced. There are good meals to be had for a whole range of prices in Cusco and this is one of the few times I have walked out of a restaurant feeling I had wasted money. I would expect much better for the price they charge, and to be honest have had much better for less.

Ambience was kind of non existent in the backroom, as a few other people seem to have mentioned on here. Decoration is nice to be fair.

Service - pretty amateurish really. Nothing particularly bad or anything, just for that price you can go to places like Cicciolina, Baco, Inka Grill, Limo etc where the service is just so much more professional. It is all in the details, from properly fitting uniforms, to kitchen staff not all hanging over the counter, to the waiter not making a face to the kitchen in clear view of the table who have just returned their plate, to managing to bring someone a menu in the language they have asked for when you have just asked them what language they would like it in.

Food - Thai soup starter pretty bland really, just reminded me of Campbells tin chicken soup.

Cebiche - friend sent it back cause it was tiny. Fair point the owner made that they give a small starter to allow you to enjoy your main. And she took it off the bill. But really , it was a smaller starter than you would get in the other restaurants I just mentioned, all of which are about the same price. If you describe it as a cebiche shot glass or something that would be more accurate.

Steak main - it was nice enough, portion was fair, but I would not say it was tasty ( perhaps that is their concept, to cook a bit of meat without really adding any seasoning to allow you to use the sauces that come with it, chilli, huacatay, beurre de maitre etc.

Chips were pretty dry really, okay but forgettable

Salad that came with steak, again okay, lettuce had no crispness to it, instantly forgettable.

So, it really makes me wonder how it sits at number 2 in this list. I would not even put it in the top 10 of restaurants in Cusco. If it was the only restaurant you ate at in Cusco, you would probably be pretty happy, but if you have tried many of the other ones, you will know that really you could do better, especially for that price.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank trektheandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uchu Peruvian Steakhouse also viewed

 
Cusco, Cusco Region
 
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Uchu Peruvian Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing