We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice situation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Grande Lodging

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa Grande Lodging
Ranked #176 of 355 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Liège
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice situation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed 1 night at the Casa Grande in Cusco... It was so close from the Plaza de Armas so very nice to rest there with or big backpack... We were satisfied with the hotel. Very well located with Mate coca to welcome us after a very long journey straight from Europe… We don’t remember very well the room but we slept well as my girl friend had a bit of headache because of the altitude… So I suppose it was quiet enough... They kept a part of our luggage for free as we’ve headed to Pisac, Ollantataybo and Aguas Calientes… If I ever come back in Cusco I’ll probably go back to this place because of the location and the pretty good price…

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank degotb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    18
    25
    8
    6
See reviews for
7
19
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

My tour operator placed me at this place. All of the employees were very pleasant, and their location was excellent. But, the building itself was from a horror story; squeaky floors, dark/scary rooms, nasty blankets, etc. Even the key to my room didn't work properly. I didn't try breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roadtrip201031377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cusco hotels

Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

We stayed at this hotel 3 nights before marching to the Inka trail. I must say we really didn't like our stay. The rooms are crazy cold, dark, the bed very uncomfortable and simply ugly (old, dirty etc); very noisy, we woke up with other ppl several times; the breakfast is depressive, with 3 day old bread (not a single toaster) and 4 HALF slices of crappy ham! Also we were going to hike the Inka trail and needed to drop our bags (all hotels have this service) however, at this place, they just put the bags at the reception where anyone could steal it. I guess the only good thing about this hotel is the location, around the block from Plaza de Armas. We paid $50 per night, had we paid $25 I would say you get what you pay for, but, $50 in Peru goes a long way and they could at least get fresh bread and put more food.
We also had problems with the water. It was scarce and cold, it was a nightmare to take a shower because we were always freezing and if you have long hair like me... don't want to remember it...
We ended up switching to Awkis Dream hotel, where we paid $45 and it was a much nicer place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mia2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

It is very difficult sometimes to rate hotels. What basis do you use for a standard? This hotel has an excellent location. Just over 1 block from the Plaza de Armas. The rooms were clean and simple. The bed was hard. The shower used a instant water heater which meant you had a choice of hot water or volume, but could not get both. I gave this hotel a rating of average since it cost roughly $28 (US) per night for 2 of us, including breakfast. I doupt there is another place in this price range in such a good location. We stayed 2 nights. I would have come back to this hotel but my wife felt the beds were too hard, so we went elsewhere when we returned from Aguas Caliente.

This place is certainly worth consideration based on the price and location.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kfhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Terrible, really terrible. I stayed there for 1 night ... the rooms were dirty and bad illuminated. When we arrived, the girl of the frontdesk showed us a room that couldn't be closed from the inside ¿? Instead, she offered me a padlock (but the room would still be opened when we were inside ¿?) Then, she offered us another room, but actually she never could open the door (the lock was broken). Finally, she gave us a room, very small, and dirty. When we were sleeping, we heard noises from the couple of the next room (the walls were so thin that you could hear everything!).
The breakfast is served in the yard, and given that Cuzco is a cold city in the early morning, your breakfast will be served frozen too.
Finally, I made a reservation in order to sleep there when I return from Machu Picchu (an amazing place!). It was like 2 am and we were returning from Machu Picchu (the train lines suffered a problem because of the weather) when we arrived to Casa Grande. As soon we got inside to the hotel, the boy of the frontdesk told us that they were overbooked and we couldn't stay there (he offered us to go to another hotel)... we had to accepted his offer because we had no choice.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bruno_dx_o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

The hotel is very different from the pics you see in the internet. The bedroom smelled very badly, the shower is only hot with a few drops of water and there was one day that there was no water at all. The blankets and sheets had stains on them and the breakfast is very poor.
The location was great, but I am sure you can find hostels better than this "hotel" just as well located.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Celina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

Was the worst place I stayed at in a month in Cuzco. My boyfriend and I called it "the dungeon". Scariest room and bathroom I have ever seen, really felt like a prison cell. I talked to some German tourists and they said their room was really loud. I have to give them credit for giving me a break on the price of the hotel for the room from hell and setting us up at Hostal Catalina across the street which was a wonderful place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AngieWeinberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.6 mi away
Andenes de Saphy
Andenes de Saphy
#113 of 161 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 stars 46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Emperador Plaza Hotel
Emperador Plaza Hotel
#102 of 161 in Cusco
3.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Santa Catalina
Hostal Santa Catalina
#110 of 355 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 stars 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cusco Pardo Hotel
Cusco Pardo Hotel
#222 of 321 in Cusco
3.0 of 5 stars 63 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Inti Wasi - Plaza de Armas
0.2 mi away
Pantastico Bed & Bakery
Pantastico Bed & Bakery
#35 of 355 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 stars 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Grande Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Grande Lodging

Property: Casa Grande Lodging
Address: Santa Catalina 353, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #176 of 355 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Grande Lodging 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A good colonial and restored house; just few meters to main square and all facilities are around us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Casa Grande Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Grande Lodging Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing