We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Depressing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Museo Inka

Museo Inka
Book In Advance
More Info
$59.00*
and up
Private Cusco Walking Tour: Inca Museum, Qorikancha and San Pedro Market
Ranked #33 of 167 things to do in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Managed by the Universidad Nacional San Antonio Abad, this archaeology museum traces Cusco’s history from the Inca period to the 20th century.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Depressing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

This place needs some TLC. Its dark and dingy and its a shame these pieces of human history - including human remains! - are in such a sad little space. There is also a lack of information to give context to anything you are looking at. Skip this and visit the Pre-Columbian Art and Regional History museums instead. Sad.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank sarah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    295
    143
    36
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
301 reviews
172 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Inca Museum”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

This isn't the most stimulating museum that you'll visit, but it does give you some background to the Inca way of life. By far the best feature are the weaver and knitter who demonstrate their trade in the lovely courtyard, they also sell the Alpaca hats and blanket samplers that they create. We saw lots of Alpaca and baby Alpaca products in Cusco and returned here to by a knitted hat.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank alunwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taganga, Colombia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Pretty missable”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

The entrance price to this museum is not worth it. I was hoping to see a variety of exhibits showing the daily life of the Incas and stuff about the conquest, but the rooms were poorly lit, in an unclear layout, with not much information. It started off with English signage but this completely dried up about halfway round. The weaving room was the most interesting to me, but the majority of the place is very skippable. It was cold and not very welcoming inside, even the toilets had no soap, no towel...you'd think with the steep entrance fee they could afford to provide some soap! The courtyard was nice and sunny, but you get better info on the Incas from the Lonely Planet.

Helpful?
Thank Ruth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A relaxed and informative way to spend time in Cusco”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

The museum is just a few yards up from the main square .It is free and is light spacious and informative. We spent a lovely hour or so there on our last morning in Cusco.
The only toilets are by the entrance on the ground floor.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fibitus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very informative - and good prices on crafts for sale”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

This museum was a great surprise. Very interesting displays and amazing artifacts. There is an interesting selection of historic paintings and a copy of a book describing the culture of the Incas. Also, when we visited there was a beautiful display of weavings for sale. We saw some we liked and when we checked around town, the price was half of what it was in the shops.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank WagsNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo Inka also viewed

 
Cusco, Cusco Region
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Museo Inka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing