We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing collection” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Museo Inka

Museo Inka
Book In Advance
More Info
$59.00*
and up
Private Cusco Walking Tour: Inca Museum, Qorikancha and San Pedro Market
Ranked #33 of 167 things to do in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Managed by the Universidad Nacional San Antonio Abad, this archaeology museum traces Cusco’s history from the Inca period to the 20th century.
Maine
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing collection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

This museum offers the Yalu University collection taken back to the US by Hiram Bingham. It was recently returned to Peru and is well worth a visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank DPBMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    295
    143
    36
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The most complete Inca museum in Cusco”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

To know about the incas, this museum is the most complete one. There's a lot of information very interesting. I visited it when I began my trip in Peru, so I would know a lot of information of all the inca sites I visited then. I would like to visit it again, at the end of my trip, now that I visited a lot of sites.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Wheellet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Save it for a rainy day”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Visited during one of the rare downpours during the "dry" season, so felt it was worth the modest entry fee. This is a very small museum that has a collection of pre-Inca, Inca, and post-Inca artifacts suffers from small budgets and poor organization. We couldn't determine how exhibits were organized which makes you appreciate more how difficult it is to run a museum without proper funding and staff. Descriptions provide Spanish and English (rough translations), but often you will find only Spanish.

However we were done within under 2 hours and I hate to say it's underfunding is apparent as the exhibits had a very "high school science fair" feel to it. I think with proper funding and staffing this could be much more.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank brianysf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Was a little disappointed with this museum. It was interesting, but didn’t take me long to view everything. Signage in English was poor.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ETbrisvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
117 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good for a quick stop to understand history behind the Incas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Not really considered one of the top highlights in Peru, but I would definitely visit. It's a little small. But really, this museum gave us a better view of the history of Peruvian civilizations leading up to and through the Incas and the Spanish conquest than any other site. Most of the ruins do not have any explanatory material, and the local guides can be hit or miss. And they tend to refer to everything as either Inca or Pre-Inca without too much discussion of who came before the Incas. This museum really gave you a view of the different cultures that existed before the Incas and how the pottery and other artifacts they left behind evolved up to the Incas. It only took about an hour to see, but was definitely worth the stop after seeing all the ruins throughout the Sacred Valley.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wes032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo Inka also viewed

 
Cusco, Cusco Region
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Museo Inka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing