We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Ninos”
Review of Ninos Hotel Meloc

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ninos Hotel Meloc
Ranked #23 of 172 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2008

We spent 5 nights at Ninos. The first room we were in was pretty small, but very clean and cozy. We were upstairs and had a shared bathrom which worked out fine. Later on we were in a different room downstairs, and the shared bathroom downstairs wasn't great - pretty small. We really enjoyed relaxing in the central couryard and the breakfasts at the cafe. It felt like home after 5 days. One problem was in booking - I e-mailed several times in advance and didn't receive a response, and when we showed up they didn't have our reservation. They managed to find us a room, but I overheard someone else who had a similar problem.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GnatVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

870 - 876 of 1,145 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2008

Stayed at Ninos I, a lovely property with charming courtyard and common areas. Room was small, but clean with warm blankets and a space heater. Shared bathroom was clean and the shower had plenty of very hot water with good pressure. (The drain was slow.) Just a few blocks from Plaza de Armas. Felt perfectly fine walking to/from at night. Would absolutely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjigga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2008

We stayed at Ninos for 2 nights before the Inca Trail and for 1 night afterwards. We requested Ninos I and a matrimonial bed in our online reservation and received both our wishes.

For our first stay, we stayed in "Pieter" - all the rooms are named after the children that they have helped. It was likely low season for the hotel as we (one couple) stayed in a large room with a double bed and three singles and a balcony overlooking the main street below. Amazing to have a view right from the room. The room and the private bathroom were very clean, simple and cheerful. Water pressure was excellent and the water was hot. All the people that work there are friendly and try to help you the best they can. While breakfast is not included, its inexpensive and tasty! A "medium" breakfast is S/10 and includes freshly squeezed juice, eggs anyway you want them, 2 styles of yummy bread, bowl of fruit, excellent jam and tea or coffee.

While on the Trail, the hotel kept our bags safe. When we returned, we stayed in "Dimas" - a double with a single. Still very clean and great hot water.

We highly recommend this charming hotel, not only for their worthy cause of helping kids but because its an overall great hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lichee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2008

I stayed in the Ninos earlier this month. The rooms were spacious and clean. There was hot water with good pressure. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I stayed in a different Cuzco hotel prior to this one which was dark and musty, limited hot water.

Ninos is awesome and will stay there again. Also a wonderful location.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank chester1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2008

Ninos Hotel story has been told a lot, so I do not need to come back on it. This hotel is a very nice place to stay, and for the price, it is probably one of the best deal in Cusco. Furthermore, it seems that the price of the rooms stays more or less the same since the previous year, unlike a lot of places in Cusco which increased dramatically their prices since they find their name in tripadvisor or in the Lonely Planet...

Rooms are a little chilly in winter, but a protable heater is provided. Showers also sometimes have problem with hot water. But again, the quality-price ratio is excellent! I can strongly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sanji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2008

Fantastic hotel for the price. My room was $40 U.S., and was enormous. All of the rooms are named after children who have benefitted from the Ninos charities. Mine was "Gladis." Although the decor is spare, it really is quite charming. Huge bathroom, plenty of hot water (although some of the cheaper rooms have shared baths). The courtyard of the hotel is very lovely and an inviting place to sit and read. There are two Ninos hotels in Cusco. I stayed at the one on Fierro. The staff was kind and helpful. Excellent egg salad sandwich . And, of course, all of the hotel profits go to support the charity, which adds a lot of value. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a simple but comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emcurry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2008

It was freezing in Cusco when we were there, yet we had no hot water in our shower. The icing on the cake was that the rooms have no insulation and they only give you 1 blanket! It's better to pay the 25 extra dollars and stay somewhere livable!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bss08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#5 of 172 in Cusco
1,521 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ninos Hotel Fierro
Ninos Hotel Fierro
#41 of 172 in Cusco
210 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Golden Inca
Hotel Golden Inca
#40 of 172 in Cusco
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mirador de Santa Ana
Mirador de Santa Ana
#67 of 172 in Cusco
222 reviews
0.5 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
0.5 mi away
Amaru Hostal
Amaru Hostal
#35 of 172 in Cusco
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ninos Hotel Meloc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ninos Hotel Meloc

Address: Calle Meloc, 442 | 3 blocks from the Plaza de Armas, Cusco 051, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cusco
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: $30 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ninos Hotel Meloc 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All profits generated by Ninos Hotel go the Ninos Unidos Peruanos Foundation that provides food and education to up to 600 underprivileged children of Cusco. As a guest of our hotel, you can visit the foundation premises everyday and make extra donation if you wish. Our hotel is situated close to the Main square, called Plaza de Armas. We offer you a great variety of meals and beverages that you can enjoy in our beautiful colonial patio. You can also enjoy the city center with it's museums, restaurants, bars and many touristic highlights. Our hotel will keep your luggage in a safe place during your trip to the Sacred Valley of the Incas, Machu Picchu, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ninos Hotel Meloc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ninos Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing