We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value”
Review of Ninos Hotel Meloc

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ninos Hotel Meloc
Ranked #22 of 170 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2008

Niños Hotel 2 (a sister hotel to the Niños Hotel a block away) exceeded my expectations. This is the best hotel (considering quality and value) in the 6 times I have traveled to Cusco.
I stayed in a private double with bath, the room was spacious yet cozy, clean room and bath, beds were comfortable with lots of blankets. the room aesthetic was very pleasing, white painted wood floors and walls added space to the room, and complemented with color accents on the door, windows and blankets.
Niños 2 hosts a school and play area to local children, and it is a delight to see their happy faces. You get to see directly how your stay at Niños benefits the childrens' education and well being. They are respectful to your space, and friendly.
highly recommended, will stay there again the next time i go.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary_del_Peru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,111)
There are newer reviews for Ninos Hotel Meloc
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

852 - 858 of 1,111 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2008

Clean and charming hotel. Friendly and helpful staff. Each room has a heater which was helpful. Good location, easily walkable to the Plaza de Armas. We paid $40 for a double with private bathroom.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loubarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2008

truly, just lovely! I stayed here for only one night, after returning from a trip to Machu Picchu. On my 1st time through Cusco, before Machu Picchu, Ninos was booked so I stayed 3 nights elsewhere. I do wish I'd been able to say here the whole time. I stayed in a single room with a shared bath, which cost $18 USD per night. It is pretty easy to find a similar style lodging with a decent location for half that price, but, honestly, knowing that the $$ is going for something more noble than more beer for the ex-pat that runs the front desk certainly makes the additional cost worthwhile.

Ninos is located within walking distance from the Plaza de Armas (approx. 5 minutes) but far enough away that you don't have to listen to the partying in the Plaza. It is a safe walk to the Plaza, or a 2 soles taxi ride. The courtyard in the hotel does echo so if you are a light sleeper, I would recommend some earplugs. It is definitely not a noisy hotel, but if another guest is standing in the lobby or courtyard jabbering away, you will hear it loud and clear in your room. The shared bathroom is clean, with a very nice shower.

I recommended Ninos Hotel to travelers I'd met along the way & I would, without hesitation, book to stay at Ninos again.

Charming, excellent breakfast (ranging from 4-10 soles or $1.50-$3.50), lovely staff and great location. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimu-chan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2008

My husband and I were just in Cusco, Peru and based on reviews we saw on TripAdvisor decided to stay at Los Ninos. We were not disappointed! This hotel was marvelous! When you walk through the door you enter a serene courtyard and are greeted with hospitality. It is a wonderful feeling to sit in the courtyard with your complimentary coca tea and relax after a day of traveling. In addition, the rooms have so much character (along with heaters and hot water)! Finally, everyone who works at Los Ninos were nice and helpful.

The only uncomfortable aspects of the hotel were the rather hard beds and pillows.

All in all though we would highly recommend staying at Los Ninos. Not only will you enjoy your time there, but your money will go to a good cause!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Yotoden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2008

Awesome Hotel! We stayed 4 nights, it was wonderful. Can not wiat to go back. Be prepared for the dry climate

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mikekeeshen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2008

Los Ninos is a fabulous, friendly & relaxed place to stay.
The hotel is delightfully picturesque designed around a central courtyard and fountain. The rooms are large, functional and spotlessly clean . Though they are quite basic and simple they do have private bathrooms and are excellent value for money. The on-site cafe serves delicious breakfasts and the staff are wonderful - a lot of them are former street kids helped by Los Ninos and its founder Jolanda. They are all extremely friendly, knowledgable and helpful. We had a very warm welcome here and were made to feel really at home.
The hotel's location is close to the town centre: the Plaza de Armas, just a short walk to lots of restaurants, bars, shops, travel agents etc. There are also quite a few restaurants and local convenience style shops nearby too. It is also on one of the flatter parts of Cusco (- not absolutely flat, this is Cusco after all!) but it isn't a hike to get to like some of the areas are such as San Blas.
We stayed here after our Inca Trail trip and didn't want to leave. Added to this the fact that the first place we stayed in Cusco was an awful dump it makes Ninos seems even more special!
I recommend it heartily and would stay there again in a shot, especially as you're helping a good cause by staying here too!

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank travellingchick66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2008

Initially i booked this hotel because of its good purpose in serving the local children and sponsoring their education, however, i have to admit i would like this hostel no matter what.
It is located 5-7 minutes walk from the Plaza de Armas in the small and quiet street. Because some of my hiking activities fell through due to the earthquake, i had to rearrange all my plans in the very last moment and despite the fact that Ninos was overbooked they still found room to accommodate me.
I stayed both in a shared and private bathroom rooms. Surprisingly i liked the shared bathroom better because rooms seemed to be bigger and nicer.
Hot water and heaters are in every room because it gets really cold at night.
And also, stuff was very friendly and helpful. I don't speak Spanish so it was comforting to see that they spoke very good English.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SvetaNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
Ninos Hotel Fierro
Ninos Hotel Fierro
#44 of 170 in Cusco
192 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 170 in Cusco
1,493 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Golden Inca
Hotel Golden Inca
#36 of 170 in Cusco
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
0.3 mi away
Mirador de Santa Ana
Mirador de Santa Ana
#67 of 170 in Cusco
212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ninos Hotel Meloc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ninos Hotel Meloc

Address: Calle Meloc, 442 | 3 blocks from the Plaza de Armas, Cusco 051, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cusco
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#17 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: $47 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ninos Hotel Meloc 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All profits generated by Ninos Hotel go the Ninos Unidos Peruanos Foundation that provides food and education to up to 600 underprivileged children of Cusco. As a guest of our hotel, you can visit the foundation premises everyday and make extra donation if you wish. Our hotel is situated close to the Main square, called Plaza de Armas. We offer you a great variety of meals and beverages that you can enjoy in our beautiful colonial patio. You can also enjoy the city center with it's museums, restaurants, bars and many touristic highlights. Our hotel will keep your luggage in a safe place during your trip to the Sacred Valley of the Incas, Machu Picchu, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ninos Hotel Meloc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ninos Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing