We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ninos Hotel Meloc

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ninos Hotel Meloc
Ranked #25 of 163 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
1 review
“Great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

My husband and I spent the month of July for our honeymoon in Peru and found that Ninos was by far the best hotel we stayed at. The rooms are well maintained and very comfortable. It did get cold at night but there were space heaters that we used to keep the room warm.The staff is super nice and the restaurant food is fantastic. We ate there many times during our stay and were very impressed with the service. Their courtyard is beautiful and it was a great place to relax when when we didn't want to be in town. The central plaza is only a few blocks away and in easy walking distance. We booked multiple tours and there was a room to store our luggage which made things easy. It wasn't monitored but we had no problems with things going missing. With the hotel being locked we felt really safe inside. We never had to wait long when we rang the buzzer to be let in. The only suggestion I would have is to bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRanns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    291
    65
    19
    11
See reviews for
154
444
109
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Laramie, Wyoming
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed a total of 6 nights on either side of our Inca Trail trek and found this to be a comfortable base from which to explore Cusco. It is only 5-10 minutes from the main square, a convenience store is nearby, and the coffee and food in the restaurant is wonderful. I wish we had more time to enjoy relaxing in their gorgeous courtyard! For $50 a night for a double room with private bathroom, I was happy with the state of the rooms which were decorated nicely and had plenty of storage shelves and hooks so we could unpack. The beds were really comfortable with plenty of warm blankets and we were provided with space heaters so we didn't get cold. Also, showers were always hot with good water pressure. Both rooms we stayed in could use a little work (e.g., paint peeling off ceiling) but this didn't bother me. As other reviewers note, the place is loud with travelers leaving early and the bell ringing late, so bring ear plugs. Everywhere I stayed on my 2 week trip through Peru, no matter the price, I had to use ear plugs to sleep well. The staff were friendly and helpful. I'd stay here again for sure!

Note: Be sure to confirm that you are staying at Ninos Hotel Meloc, also known as Ninos One. We walked over to the other one on Fierro and it was a really gross street 10 minutes farther uphill from the main squares. I'm glad we stayed where we did.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COadmAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quillota, Chile
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Most important: The morning I left Cusco on Aug.11 there was a news report I just missed saying that a Dutch woman in charge of children's charity was exploiting workers and children. Can anyone confirm or deny that they saw this report and if it referred to this hotel/charity.
Apart from this troubling report we had a terrible time, I had made a reservation for 7 nights at niños hotel in calle Fierro we stayed 1 night because when we arrived we were accosted in broad daylight by a drunk who tried to steal our luggages, the entrance of the hotel was locked with a bell so no one could see we were being robbed and the hotel is located on a lonely street far from the plaza. (Luckily our taxi driver chased the drunk off). Once we were in the hotel we found the rooms were freezing with no heating, the night we spent was miserable, we could have received the same quality of accommodation for less than half the price and closer to the central plaza. Also when we were changing the hotel the next day, our expensive camera mysteriously 'disappeared' just as we were leaving, and of course nobody at the hotel saw anything. There is definitely something fishy going on at this hotel, i recommend avoiding it at all costs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevenlyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ninoshotel, Owner at Ninos Hotel Meloc, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
This is a FALSE report because this person never stayed in our hotel. We didnt had people from Chile in the whole month of august! Its very sad that there are people who want to damage our reputation of 17 years hard working in both our hotels and projects. Anyone who wants to visit our projects or hotels are more then welcome to see our work with there own eyes!! Johanna van den Berg / founder and owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at Nino's over 5 nights - with a few days break in the middle whilst we explored the Sacred Valley.

This place was perfection and amazing value for money.

Our room (Alessia on the second level) was beautifully designed with atmosphere lighting, tasteful artwork, plush pillows and towels, super comfortable bed with a gorgeous throw. It was tasteful, elegant and homely. I was in love with the simple, clean but warm design! With shelving and hooks you could set yourself up conveniently and stop living out of your bag/back pack.

The room had a heater if needed and we appreciated that there were lots of power points available to charge phones, computers etc at the same time. Wi-fi was the best we have had in South America so far - super fast and with a strong signal in our room (the Alessia room).

We used the shared bathroom on the second floor which was always immaculately clean (with fresh flowers also!). Showers were awesome with strong pressure and an endless supply of hot water.

All rooms face a large courtyard that is sun filled and decked with tables & chairs and fresh flowers. It was the perfect spot to chill out or have a lazy breakfast in the sunshine. Sublime. We were actually kind of tempted to kick back in the courtyard for the better part of the day and had to make ourselves get up and out to explore Cusco (which we loved).

The morning sunshine in the beautiful courtyard was too hard to resist so we had breakfast there most mornings. Highly recommend the muesli, honey, yoghurt with fresh fruit. Boyfriend loved the fresh homemade bread and banana pancakes. It was the perfect way to start our day!

Dinner is also highly recommended - a very romantic setting with an open fire and candles on each table. I can not fault any of our dishes - organic, delicious and home-made recipes. The chicken salad and pumpkin soup were my fave!

The location is brilliant - 5 minute walk to the Plaza de Armas and 10 minutes to San Blas. There is a pharmacy straight across the road and a well stocked shop around the corner. The location was quiet but close to everything.

And finally, a big thanks to the super friendly smiling and helpful staff.

This is not so much a place to meet fellow travelers so if you're looking for a hugely social vibe, this is probably not it. But if you're after something warm, friendly and peaceful - go for it!


  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cocasalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

This place is absolutely lovely. My wife and I tried staying in another hostal down the street a few nights later, after returning from the Inka Trail, and it did not compare in any way! Los Ninos had wonderful hot showers with strong pressure, perfect for the cold nights in Cusco. The restaurant is also adorable, with a lovely little fireplace. Everything was wonderfully clean and organized, and the staff were very friendly. Anyway, I can only echo previous reviews in saying that it is a perfect place to stay - comfortable, close to the city center (if you stay at Los Ninos 1), and supporting a great cause!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryanmcbain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, Utah
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 night on the tailend of our Peru trip. The food in the cafe was so good, we had a hard time wanting to eat elsewhere (although I did try the falafel a few doors down - outstanding if your stomach can take it). While this hotel wasn't the cheapest in town, it still felt like a good value and the profit goes to a good cause.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NTW68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

This hotel was amazing and not very expensive. Fresh flowers were on all the tables and in the rooms and beautiful artwork adorned the walls. There was laundry service also available. All proceeds go to help fund a children's home in Cusco, which was available to tour, but we didn't have time. The hotel was quite beautiful, quiet, and had a lovely dining room with a fire going, which took the chill out of the cool evenings. The showers were superb, which felt amazing after our long trek. The staff was very friendly and rooms were very clean. We ate dinners out, however the breakfasts were superb! I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 163 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ninos Hotel Fierro
Ninos Hotel Fierro
#54 of 163 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Golden Inca
Hotel Golden Inca
#37 of 163 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
0.5 mi away
Amaru Hostal
Amaru Hostal
#33 of 163 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ninos Hotel Meloc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ninos Hotel Meloc

Property: Ninos Hotel Meloc
Address: Calle Meloc, 442 | 3 blocks from the Plaza de Armas, Cusco 051, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cusco
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#17 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ninos Hotel Meloc 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All profits generated by Ninos Hotel go the Ninos Unidos Peruanos Foundation that provides food and education to up to 600 underprivileged children of Cusco. As a guest of our hotel, you can visit the foundation premises everyday and make extra donation if you wish. Our hotel is situated close to the Main square, called Plaza de Armas. We offer you a great variety of meals and beverages that you can enjoy in our beautiful colonial patio. You can also enjoy the city center with it's museums, restaurants, bars and many touristic highlights. Our hotel will keep your luggage in a safe place during your trip to the Sacred Valley of the Incas, Machu Picchu, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Ninos Hotel Meloc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ninos Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing