We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Villa Feel and Comfort”
Review of Ninos Hotel Meloc

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ninos Hotel Meloc
Ranked #21 of 165 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Villa Feel and Comfort”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed here for four days during the second week of March 2013 and the hotel was good. The hotel was clean, great service, the staff is friendly and speak English. My favorite part of the hotel was the small Cafetin they have in the bottom floor. The food was fresh to cook and the waitresses were ready to serve you and very friendly as well. I like that they charged my meals to the room and they didn´t automatically charge me a "service fee of 10%-18%" like a lot of other restaurants.

Another thing, the Plaza De Armas which is pretty much where all the restaurants, city sites, souvenir shops and money exchange shops are located within walking distance of the hotel. You can walk to the Plaza De Armas and book your Macchu Pichhu tour or other excursions and then get lunch, dinner or coffee-all walking distance from the hotel which was nice and save you some taxi fees.

Finally, one plus thing I love was that the money made from the hotel goes to a great charity. i would recommend this hotel to a friend.

Room Tip: Pay the extra $10 and get your own bathroom if you are traveling with a partner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hex07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    696
    295
    66
    19
    11
See reviews for
156
452
116
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The hotel is 5min from the centre of Cusco. The rooms are nice, colourful and clean. Details are taken into account. Very good quality for the price. The small restaurant prepares good food for cheap price. Finally, all the money goes to support the charity initiatives of the owner, with the aim of providing food, healthcare, dental care to poor or homeless children.
The only defect is that most of the rooms are without windows. This is due to the fact that are facing the courtyard. Anyway, the doors are with glasses, so light can enter.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniele F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a very simple hotel with a high price. My guidebooks gave this place rave reviews, but I found the experience less than hospitable. When we arrived at the airport, the hotel transport arranged via email did not show. I was glad to have a cellphone to call the hotel, because when I did, I learned we had been moved to their Meloc location from the Fierro location without notice. Had we taken a cab, we would have found the place we had reserved closed. The staff at the desk was not welcoming or pleasant. We ended up paying more for the room, as the Meloc location did not have the kind of room we reserved at the first hotel. While their confirmation email emphasized we need to pay in cash, and gave a price in US dollars, on arrival, at the front desk they wanted Soles, and then were extremely picky about the dollars I provided. It seemed the staff was more interested in talking to each other than welcoming guests.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyTraveler324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We booked a room and a taxi through Ninos and everything worked as expected. All emails were answered, nice smiley driver was waiting for us in the airport, a room with good shower and heater was prepared. The food was great, Peruvian stew was my favorite and we had cocoa tea every day to get over altitude sickness. We also did our washing with them, all good. Nice, simple, friendly and comfortable, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Our email inquiries were responded to promptly and we were able to pre-arrange a taxi pickup at the airport upon arrival for a reasonable price. The driver was sweet enough to stop at the ticket center so we could purchase the Boleto Touristico ticket upon arrival. It was no problem to leave our luggage while we ventured to Machu Picchu. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Los Ninos where the hotel staff were really helpful and accommodating. The room and bathroom were large and so charming. The room was chilly but a space heater warmed it up quickly and it was unnecessary once we crawled under the blankets. The bathroom was clean and hot water was plentiful. The only negative comment I have about cleanliness is about the dust on the rope light fixtures which is easily remedied and higher up in the ceiling (I am quite picky) but everything else was free of dust. The restaurant downstairs did provide nutritious and tasty food at great prices. My only complaint is that the restaurant staff would socialize for quite a while after we seated ourselves rather than take and prepare our order more timely so meals took longer than we liked. Given that proceeds from the hotel go to provide meals and homework support for 600 children, helped us feel good about spending our travel dollars at this charming place. We travelled throughout South America and Los Ninos was our favourite in terms of cleanliness, charm and value what to speak of the great cause.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor in a corner room (Gladis) overlooking a side street, which worked well fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank relaxed108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I stayed here with three friends in February 2013. By emailing the hotel ahead of time, we were easily able to arrange a taxi pick up at the Cusco Airport. As soon as we stepped outside, there were cab drivers Nelson and Carlos holding up signs with our names on them, waiting to greet us and drive us to Los Ninos for 15 Soles per cab (about $6 USD). Our room itself was spacious and clean, but it is true that at night it does get chilly. There was a space heater in our room that helped a little bit, as well as thick wool blankets. You will still want to pack warm sleepwear, however. The showers were also hot and refreshing.The location of the hotel was very good-it was about a 12 minute walk to the Plaza de Armas. The hotel was wonderful about continuing to call their cabs for us when we did a day trip to Pisac, caught an early morning train to Macchu Picchu, and ultimately returned to the airport for a return flight to Lima. The cabs were consistently on time and *very* reasonably priced. The restaurant on site has very delicious food and juices (and yes, Coca Tea) and was a wonderful place to meet fellow travelers from all over the world. There is free wifi, but it is only accessible in the courtyard and in the restaurant. There is also laundry service available-my friend had about 3 days worth of clothing laundered and ready for her when we returned from Macchu Picchu (price was 12 Soles/5 dollars). On top of all this, the hotel has a wonderful side story that you can sit and read about while you get inspired to change the world a little bit yourself!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here before and after completing the Lares Trek. We found the rooms to be spacious, spotlessly clean and good value for money.
The hotel's cafe is also worth a visit. Food is of good quality and the log fire is very cosy during the rainy season

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaroSelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
Ninos Hotel Fierro
Ninos Hotel Fierro
#52 of 165 in Cusco
165 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 165 in Cusco
1,464 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Golden Inca
Hotel Golden Inca
#36 of 165 in Cusco
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
0.2 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
0.5 mi away
Amaru Hostal
Amaru Hostal
#34 of 165 in Cusco
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ninos Hotel Meloc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ninos Hotel Meloc

Property: Ninos Hotel Meloc
Address: Calle Meloc, 442 | 3 blocks from the Plaza de Armas, Cusco 051, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cusco
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#17 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ninos Hotel Meloc 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All profits generated by Ninos Hotel go the Ninos Unidos Peruanos Foundation that provides food and education to up to 600 underprivileged children of Cusco. As a guest of our hotel, you can visit the foundation premises everyday and make extra donation if you wish. Our hotel is situated close to the Main square, called Plaza de Armas. We offer you a great variety of meals and beverages that you can enjoy in our beautiful colonial patio. You can also enjoy the city center with it's museums, restaurants, bars and many touristic highlights. Our hotel will keep your luggage in a safe place during your trip to the Sacred Valley of the Incas, Machu Picchu, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Ninos Hotel Meloc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ninos Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing