We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect little haven in Cusco” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ninos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ninos Hotel
Ranked #24 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect little haven in Cusco”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

We spent three nights at Los Ninos, one before and two after our Inca Trail tour. It is truely charming. The courtyard is a lovely place to have breakfast or just sit and relax. The little touches such as the lanterns and candelabras and the pictures on the wall give it a very homely feel. Our room was quiet and spacious on the first floor (preferable to the ground floor). The shower was powerful and hot. The restaurant/cafe is a gorgeous spot for a casual dinner with an open fire place and a selection of books and magazines. All the food we tried was delicious.

Room Tip: Go for courtyard facing on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KimAndJLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    674
    286
    65
    19
    11
See reviews for
152
441
108
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

I can only concur with the others. This hotel is easily one of the best memories from my trip to Peru. When I tried to get a room they were totally booked, but let me stay in some annex which is still a part of the hotel. There in the inner-yard I could see the kids' area where they were given lunch and thought some lessons.
About the place as a hotel, rooms are clean, the staff is very helpful, there is the old-world charm. How can you go wrong,
I strongly recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gkaragat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

This was easily the best place we stayed in Peru. It had such charm, simple rooms with beautiful art work and clean not to mention hot water as well. The courtyard was the perfect spot to enjoy a nice cappucino in the sun. The cafe had delicious home made meals and snacks. The rooms had warm blankets on the bed as well as space heaters for the cooler nights. It was a short 10 min walk into the main square.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Beautiful ambience with warm, personable staff. The accommodations are a bit spartan -- very small rooms, one omnisex shared toilet/shower room per floor, but very clean and reasonably comfortable. The open courtyard gets cold at night. No elevator. The space heaters in the room were barely adequate. The location is great. Three blocks from the main square and safe. In August it was peaceful despite being completely full. I especially appreciated the home-cooked organic food. We did have a problem with airport pickup despite email confirmation the night before. All said, if we return to Cusco, we will definately stay here again! It also feels good to know that profits from the hotel feed and train street children, and the fabulous staff were once homeless themselves. I concur completely with reviews by RichardfromHB & Uncover.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

A beautiful place with a wonderfully sunny courtyard. The paintings in the room bizarre and fun.
Very welcoming place. Found the rooms a bit chilly but once the heating gets going its all good, also extra blankets are provided. Loved the wooden flooring and the lamps. And loved that Ninos is also a place that provides a charity for Children in Peru. Had an overall very friendly feel and the snacks at the bar were good. The internet connection in the courtyard was very good too and it was sometimes difficult to decide between sitting outside in the lovely sunshine or inside by the fire place at the cafe. It was one of the best accommodations we stayed in in the whole of Peru as we moved around a lot, definitely the best value for money by far. Full of character and a provides a good cause, it was hard to miss out on.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rozy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

To put our experience into one sentence: "I can say nothing but to highly recommend you to go there!". I can't imagine that you can get more value for money elsewhere.

As everything was booked at the hotel, we stayed at the apartments. And what a great experience. The locations is just perfect. Before going, we were about doubtful about the fact that we were to share bathroom. This, however, turned to be a waste of doubts. The bathroom were cleaned several times a day and very spacious to house people from all the apartments. In addition, it was a great great experience to stay next door to the children's restaurant. Every morning for a week, we went to the hotel to get their excellent breakfast. If needed, they can also prepare box lunch for you to bring on your trip.

I can highly recommend visitors to join one of their guided tours to get the background history of this place and see the results of Ninos amazing work with street kids.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StineRonholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, CA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

A colonial home with massively thick adobe walls and rope tied roof trusses give the hotel a much more authentic feel than the modern cement construction. Two story with a nice open courtyard with seating for restaurant or just relaxing. Street noise settles down after 9:00 pm but before that is pretty loud. Friend became ill with altitude and staff helpfully checked on her while I was climbing innumerable stairs/hills in the nearby Sacred Valley all day. The Peruvian Stew in the attached restaurant is very "rico". Can't miss here AND the kids get the profits.

Room Tip: Away from street if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardfromHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 162 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ninos Hotel
Ninos Hotel
#59 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Golden Inca
Hotel Golden Inca
#34 of 162 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Amaru Hostal
Amaru Hostal
#33 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
0.2 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ninos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ninos Hotel

Property: Ninos Hotel
Address: Calle Meloc, 442 | 3 blocks from the Plaza de Armas, Cusco 051, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cusco
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#17 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ninos Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All profits generated by Ninos Hotel go the Ninos Unidos Peruanos Foundation that provides food and education to up to 600 underprivileged children of Cusco. As a guest of our hotel, you can visit the foundation premises everyday and make extra donation if you wish. Our hotel is situated close to the Main square, called Plaza de Armas. We offer you a great variety of meals and beverages that you can enjoy in our beautiful colonial patio. You can also enjoy the city center with it's museums, restaurants, bars and many touristic highlights. Our hotel will keep your luggage in a safe place during your trip to the Sacred Valley of the Incas, Machu Picchu, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Ninos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ninos Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing