We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and great cause!”
Review of Ninos Hotel Meloc

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ninos Hotel Meloc
Ranked #24 of 169 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great value and great cause!”
Reviewed September 29, 2007

We stayed at Ninos 2 a total of 6 nights during our Peru trip and were in 3 different rooms. The hotel is very clean and comfortable and the profits support a great cause. Rooms are basic but very large, bright and have space heaters and plenty of hot water. We had read that the location wasn't in the best neighborhood, but we repeatedly walked back and forth to the Plaza area (10 minute walk) and never felt unsafe, even in the evening. The hotel has very inexpensive laundry service available and staff were able to recommend restaurants and activities. Breakfasts at the hotel were delicious and very inexpensive. The 2 rooms over the school area are a little noisier when the children are there (Monday through Saturday), so bring earplugs if you want to rest during the day or request a room near the central courtyard instead. We stored our bags twice and had no problems. We would definitely stay again.

  • Liked — Price, friendly staff, cleanliness, supports local children
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mnmsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    297
    69
    19
    11
See reviews for
158
457
119
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2007

I really loved the Ninos Hotel, it's as good as everyone says it is. The hotel offers basic facilities but has a lovely ambience and is full of character. The rooms are clean, the beds comfortable and the staff are absolutely lovely. The breakfasts were also wonderful - it was really special to be able to wake up to pancakes, an omlette or just toast and fruit salad, and eat it in the sunny courtyard or in front of the fire in the dining room. Make sure you try the chocolate cake, too - yum!

My bags were taken care of whilst I was on the Inca Trail hike, my laundry done for a small fee, taxis always called when requested, and the rooms maintained well. Security is great (the door from the street is always locked and you ring a bell to get someone to let you in).

One tiny thing - when I emailed prior to departing for Peru I was told that check-in time was any time in the morning, and as my flight from Lima arrived in Cuzco at 7am I went straight to the hotel thinking I could get access to my room (and some much needed sleep!). However, it turned out check-in time was 11am. It was no real hassle though, as they looked after my bags whilst I took off to explore the gorgeous town. The main square is less than a 10 minute walk away.

I highly recommend the Ninos Hotel, and would definitely stay here again if I ever make it back to Cusco.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Heidi1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2007

This hotel is a great value, and it makes you feel good!! The rooms are cute and rustic and even have a little heater which is great for the cold Cusco nights. The service was exceptional, from the excellent breakfasts with fresh braked bread to the free cacoa tea, the staff was very helpful. They even called and made reservations for us at various restaurants. I also enjoyed having the kids running
around, makes the hotel a little happier than most others. GREAT LOCATION.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perkinsjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2007

We stayed a total of 4 nights at the Hotel Ninos, before and after our trek to Machu Picchu, and could not have been more thrilled with the services and value of the accomodation. The hotel is a little off the beaten path, but is easy to get to via taxi (which are dirt cheap) and is in a safe neighborhood. The staff is very warm and friendly, and able to help figure out dinner reservations or other plans you may want to make (city tours, sacred valley tour, etc). The rooms are simple, but nice, with pleanty of warm blankets to take the chill off of the Peruvian night. The bathrooms are a little "rustic", and the water temp tends to oscilate between cold and scalding at times, but these are small issues. For the price of the room, and in comparison to the rest of Cusco, you defnitely get your money's worth. Also, the courtyard is really pretty and quaint, and the little library area was nice to enjoy a cup of tea and sit by the fire. Finally, it is nice to know the benefit that goes to the children charity by supporting Hotel Ninos. All in all, an excellent choice for a hotel in Cusco!

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Chicago1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2007

We stayed in Ninos 2 and it was wonderful. When you enter the court yard it is like another world. Simple, tranquil, and calm. We stayed on three occasions during our 6 weeks in Peru different rooms each time. . All the rooms were simple and clean. The showers were consistantly hot, which was not the case in more expensive hotels. Breakfasts excellent with good variety. The staff were fantasticThe hotel is non profit making and supports the street children of Cusco.

  • Liked — simplicity and peace
  • Disliked — nothing to dislike
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lakedistrictgardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2007

My husband and I stayed in the Ninos Hotel I in August of 2007. Overall the hotel was great, from the complementary cup of coca tea upon arrival to the very clean rooms and friendly staff. We stayed in the room ‘Celso’ on the second floor for 3 nights prior to our Inca trail trek and then 2 nights after the trek in the ‘Moises’ room. Both were very clean and bright and opened to the lovely courtyard below. The staff was very helpful in offering advice about activities and they held our luggage during the trek. There were only two downsides we could identify: there is no central heating (which seems to be standard throughout Cuzco) so the rooms were cold. However, there were several warm blankets and a small space heater so we slept fine. The other negative was that it is further away than many other hotels from the main plaza, although the walk was only about 10 minutes. Overall we would highly recommend this hotel and contributing to the excellent work that this group does in Peru.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank SandiM10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prophetstown, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2007

When we traveled to Peru our goal was to first have fun and second support the local economy as much as possible. Ninos 2 is a wonderful cause and the hotel proceeds are a perfect blend of tourism and support for the community. I applaud the vision the owner had. While supporting the local economy we did not want to give up comfort. Ninos 2 was a truly great place to stay. Our room was quiet - came in late and up very early. They have secure luggage storage for your trip to Machu Picchu. It is a short walk to the train station to Machu Picchu. The neighborhood was authentic. Their were a lot of "corn drinking" establishments in the area - including across the street. They were not a problem and we wished we felt brave enough to go in one of them! After a long day in Machu Picchu we ate at a pizza place around the corner - too tired to walk to the square. The man was thrilled to have us and was quite doting - a favorite meal even though the pizza was just OK. The hotel was very nice and we would tell everyone to stay here! Warning - if you are making your own travel arrangements reserve your train tickets to Aqua Calientes ahead of time and you have to go to the Wanchaq to pay for them. The station has limited hours and system is a hoot - but go for it! Onward....

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank foreveronward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
Ninos Hotel Fierro
Ninos Hotel Fierro
#43 of 169 in Cusco
183 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#5 of 169 in Cusco
1,483 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Golden Inca
Hotel Golden Inca
#37 of 169 in Cusco
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
0.3 mi away
Mirador de Santa Ana
Mirador de Santa Ana
#61 of 169 in Cusco
212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ninos Hotel Meloc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ninos Hotel Meloc

Property: Ninos Hotel Meloc
Address: Calle Meloc, 442 | 3 blocks from the Plaza de Armas, Cusco 051, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cusco
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#17 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ninos Hotel Meloc 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All profits generated by Ninos Hotel go the Ninos Unidos Peruanos Foundation that provides food and education to up to 600 underprivileged children of Cusco. As a guest of our hotel, you can visit the foundation premises everyday and make extra donation if you wish. Our hotel is situated close to the Main square, called Plaza de Armas. We offer you a great variety of meals and beverages that you can enjoy in our beautiful colonial patio. You can also enjoy the city center with it's museums, restaurants, bars and many touristic highlights. Our hotel will keep your luggage in a safe place during your trip to the Sacred Valley of the Incas, Machu Picchu, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ninos Hotel Meloc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ninos Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing