We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tourist Trap”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Loreto Boutique Hotel
Ranked #31 of 445 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tourist Trap”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

After staying at the Rumi Wasi, this was a major let down. Our room looked nothing like photos of the rooms they have on their website (see our attached photos, of our room) or what we shown on our confirmation page after we'd booked online.

When we opened the door to our room we felt like we'd been duped. We were wondering if the bedding had been changed, there was little security as the lock on the door was only on the handle, the carpet was old, no decoration on the walls, no real windows, old curtains, smell of mold.

The staff at the reception desk were friendly enough, however when they booked us a cab the driver was a total creep. We were amazed that this hotel was in a building with real Inca walls, there was so much more the owners could have done with it given the history and location. The only plus was the location as it's right on the Plaza.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HJDMunoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    144
    75
    18
    16
See reviews for
95
131
33
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This hotel is in a great location by the square. However, if your room is on the right hand side of the first floor, it can be very noisy at night due to the street that runs directly beside the hotel to the square. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and accomodating!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenrenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Varas, Chile
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Hotel Loreto: great locaction, great service for the price. Right on the square. On the same building there is a sturbucks... which can be handy. Rooms are nicely decorated, and the price is very convenient. Good service.

Room Tip: choose 2nd floor with a view to the street, as most rooms look into the patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolamorgado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Very nice location, nice rooms, fair price. The staff was very knowledgeable, friendly and helpful! Recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohelChaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

There are many places to stay in Cusco for all teh prices. The Loreto Hotel is a good choise. Good location and good deal for the price. Specally if you like to be in near the mainsquare, and if you care for a secure place.
I stay there in march, it was low season and I got a good price. It;s not recomended for families with kids.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower floor are cheaper and you can get wifi from the starbucks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yessica h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Great location in the main square....beds were not bad....the shower was always hot which pleased my girlfriend so it pleased me as well.The staff here was friendly and accomodating.....the breakfast was pretty average but there was always plenty of coca leaf tea which you wil want alot of at this elevation.A little bonus here is there is a starbucks right upstairs from here with a nice little balcony to people watch.......and its got a great view of the main square and cathedral.The Loreto is also a very short walk to most of cuscos best restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 11rebelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012 via mobile

I was so looking forward to this hotel as we went there after being in miserable accommodation. The rooms are clean and comfortable, but the there was no hot water one of the nights. The breakfast was so-so and on our last night we got to the breakfast room at 8:45 and there was no food whatsoever after a large group just left. I asked them to bring us some yogurt and they said yes, but never showed up. Similar things happened with the staff forgetting things. I thought for the price we paid we would get better service. Also for some reason the church bells next door would ring at 4am for half an hour! It was very annoying but there may have been a special occasion.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lama B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
0.1 mi away
Plaza de Armas Cusco Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garcilaso
Hotel Garcilaso
#66 of 165 in Cusco
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Yabar Hotel Cusco Suite
Yabar Hotel Cusco Suite
#143 of 165 in Cusco
42 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Cusco Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loreto Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loreto Boutique Hotel

Property: Loreto Boutique Hotel
Address: Loreto 115 | Main Square - Cusco, Cusco 08000, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 445 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Loreto Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Loreto Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing