We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it's a paid entrance cathedral...”

Catedral del Cuzco o Catedral Basilica de la Virgen de la Asuncion
Book In Advance
More Info
$125.00*
and up
Cusco City Small-Group Tour
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Half-Day Cusco Private City Tour
More Info
$114.00*
and up
Cusco City and Quenqo Ruins Half-Day Tour
Ranked #8 of 170 things to do in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dominating the northeast side of the Plaza de Armas, this magnificent renaissance-style, 16th-century building is in the shape of a Latin cross and contains nearly 400 colonial paintings including the Last Supper by Marcos Zapata.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“it's a paid entrance cathedral...”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

yes, to get there you either need a religious sites ticket or the single entry here costs 20soles. inside there are actually two connected with each other churches. there are packs of tourists inside, but the place is large so it is quite easy to get away from them. very nice paintings including the local version of Last Supper.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank sirmiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,624 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,519
    1,571
    404
    87
    43
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Nothing to dislike. Pretty amazing building with plenty of interesting history. Can never get enough of places like this.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best Cathedral in Peru”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

If you go to Lima first and you see the Cathedrals there, you will realize how impressive the Cusco Cathedral is. We took a guided tour, which I think is important because the history of the Cathedral is so interesting. Even though the price is not on the BTC (Cusco Tourist Ticket), it is worth the extra 25 soles

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
37 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pretty much your average cathedral”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

If you have seen the cathedral in Lima, I found this very similar to it. Nothing extraordinary but worth a visit if you are in Cusco

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank lordoftravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Didn't enjoy it as much as I thought I would”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Of course, the art is beautiful but really I think we needed a guide to better understand what we were looking at. It's quite expensive to enter as a church as well.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Irisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catedral del Cuzco o Catedral Basilica de la Virgen de la Asuncion also viewed

 

Been to Catedral del Cuzco o Catedral Basilica de la Virgen de la Asuncion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing