We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inca Masterpiece”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sacsayhuaman

Sacsayhuaman
Book In Advance
More Info
$91.00*
and up
Half-Day Temples and Cusco City Tour
Ranked #2 of 167 things to do in Cusco
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children
Indiana
Level Contributor
410 reviews
235 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 480 helpful votes
“Inca Masterpiece”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Of all the Incan sites, this one stands out based upon its location, rock formations and history. For many reasons this is a star among Incan ruins. The historical significance, engineering feet and pure beauty makes this a required stop. Plus, the view of Cusco is amazing.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Profguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,245
    2,704
    493
    44
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bourne End
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“High Andes Inca experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

A good guide is invaluable to decipher the history and stories behind the huge stones and impressive constructions at this special site. The views over Cusco were also lovely. It is at a high altitude and we became rather tired and suffered from a bit of altitude sickness. Worth pacing it but worth going.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Magnificent stones and stunning views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

You get some of the best views of Cusco from this fortress on the hill above the city. Fantastic examples of Inca stonework with hidden passageways and temples nearby.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing What People Have Achieved”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

It was amazing to see the ruins and I was blown away by seeing it all in person. Unfortunately, this was quite a bit of walking and we were taking a tour in the rain. Our guide was knowledgeable and spoke good english but a full day of seeing the archelogical ruins is a lot of trekking.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kristen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Another Andean Wonder”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

We climbed all of the steps even though this was our first day in Cusco.to catch the beautiful sunset.
I was amazed at these boulders, the history and the tenacity the Incas must have had to place them in such order

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travelbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sacsayhuaman also viewed

 
Cusco, Cusco Region
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Sacsayhuaman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing