We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saxy Woooman”
Review of Sacsayhuaman

Sacsayhuaman
Book In Advance
More Info
$26.35*
and up
Archaeological Park of Sacsayhuaman Admission...
Ranked #2 of 126 things to do in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This was large and mind boggling as to how big it would have been before it fell to ruins. The view of Cusco from this site is worth the walking around. We were there just before the winter solstice so there were preparations for lots of festivities at the time.

Date of experience: June 2012
Thank WatermelonLindyLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (12,931)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"sexy woman"
in 194 reviews
"huge stones"
in 151 reviews
"impressive site"
in 60 reviews
"great view of cusco"
in 63 reviews
"stone work"
in 106 reviews
"stone walls"
in 55 reviews
"great site"
in 56 reviews
"amazing ruins"
in 55 reviews
"cristo blanco"
in 68 reviews
"machu picchu"
in 441 reviews
"inca ruin"
in 65 reviews
"walk up"
in 76 reviews
"zig zag"
in 74 reviews
"well worth the visit"
in 54 reviews
"inca architecture"
in 51 reviews
"tourist ticket"
in 66 reviews
"cusco city"
in 90 reviews
Filter

4,753 - 4,757 of 12,933 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2012

We went on a tour group and this was one of our surprise stops -- we didn't pick it out specifically but enjoyed it all the same. Our guide, to get the English speakers to understand the word kept saying "its like Sexy Woooman" and intend, you can buy shirts that say this down in Cusco.

The rocks are huge! And you are able to walk around quite a bit. It was raining when we arrived (which is fairly common) and there were several industrious vendors selling plastic ponchos. Not a site that you could spend a whole lot of time in (its bigger than some but not as big as Machu Picchu) so best to do as a stop if you are looking at several of the easily accessible sites near Cusco. You can buy a ticket that covers several different stops in and around Cusco where at every stop they punch a hole in it. We did this as part of group so I'm not sure how much it was specifically to get in but you do get several attractions on your ticket. There is ample parking if you're driving and there are other sites nearby but not necessarily walkable (unless you're a hiker and into walking).

The view is tremendous.

Date of experience: January 2012
4  Thank pelirroja01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The history of the site is far more interesting than the site itself. Covering a vast area little reamains although there are a few walls with the iconic Incan (no mortar) construction. We spent 1/2 hour there and that was enough

Date of experience: July 2012
2  Thank HollinBank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

I took the city tour and we did this amazing place. It is magnificent and a large area. I had a guide which was great but I felt rushed and would have loved to have stayed longer and wandered by myself and walked to the Christ statue. If i had time I would hike or walk up there from San blas and spend more time wandering.
But definitely worth seeing.

2  Thank groovychickMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2012

What is cool about these ruins is that they are so completely different than Macchupichu and other ruins in the area. They are dark black rocks--huge ones! We took a taxi ride to them about 3-4 soles--and then took the walk back to town. I'd recommend the walk to the white Christ figure just because you can. If you don't, you can still get a great view of Cusco from the ruins themselves.

Date of experience: July 2012
3  Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sacsayhuaman also viewed

 

Been to Sacsayhuaman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing