We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inca Flats”
Review of Inca Trail

Inca Trail
Book In Advance
More Info
$859.74*
and up
5-Day Salkantay Trek and Machu Picchu Tour from Cusco
Ranked #3 of 169 things to do in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
117 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Inca Flats”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I did the Long Inca Trail in 1974 and the 4 day hike in 2005. The latter was easier. If you have the time, this is an experience. The 2005 Trip was a challange. An snow blizzard at the wrong time of year caused several death and great hardship for every one on the trail. Our group was one of only two that made it over and through Dead Woman's Pass. Not because we were so good, but because we couldn't turn back. The group from Key Adventure took care of us, set up an emergency tent with hot soup and did a great job. The trek itself was still fantastic as we traveled through son many eco zones. A great trip became an adventure because we did it. Advice. Use an experienced tour group. I am glad I did.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Don K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,677 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,122
    423
    96
    23
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Extremely Challenging but totally worth it!”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

The classic 4 day Inka Trail trek was an experience of a lifetime! There are no easy days on this trek however the sights make each difficult step worth the effort. I am in awe of the porters! Their indomitable spirit and kindness will never be forgotten.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LJY54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snoqualmie Pass, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A long awaited dream”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Travel as light as you can and enjoy all along the way. We did the km 104 from Chachabamba to Winay Wayna to Machu Pichu and loved it so if you want to experience it without the extremely high pass this is very doable. Even at 51 with all our 2 weeks of travel clothes. Get in touch with Renato at Cusco Native!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank hyakchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
144 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Hardest Hike I've ever done!! But worth it.”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

My friends and I only did the 1 day hike from km104 - it was about 10 miles straight up at an elevation that finished around 8 or 9,000 feet. But to enter the Sun Gate of Machu Picchu from the Inca Trail is an experience you will remember for the rest of your life.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank NancyK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An Unforgettable, Epic Adventure”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Hiking the Inca Trail for four days as we made our way to Machu Picchu was an experience I will never, ever forget. There is something truly powerful about hiking the ancient trail all the way to Machu Picchu. You feel a deep connection to the land and the heritage of the people that will make your journey to the Ancient City an out of this world experience.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank corymaria13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Inca Trail also viewed

 

Been to Inca Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing