We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are looking for a place to DON'T SLEEP, stay here...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Dorado San Agustin
Ranked #48 of 167 Hotels in Cusco
Santiago, Chile
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“If you are looking for a place to DON'T SLEEP, stay here...”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

It´s a pity. The place was really beautiful, a perfect mix between modern and rustic. Great and efficient staff, excellent food and a perfect location (two blocks from the Cathedral and its gorgeus square). But the quality of sleep was so poor that I can´t give them a better rating. The hotel is a big cube, and most of the rooms are looking at the central court. This is the first big mistake. The noise from the people in the lobby is heard by everybody inside their rooms. Day and night. And besides this, the rooms have paper walls!!! you can easily hear the couple talking in the next room, the people walking in the room above you and the toilette flushing from all the rooms of the entire floor. It was like hell on earth!!! If you go to Cusco, you need to rest. First to avoid the puna o soroche and also because the excursions trips are longer and most of them requires a really early wake up. If you stay here,you will feel dizzie all day long. I don't reccomend it. Cusco is full of places with better quality of sleep.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sorayein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    228
    83
    19
    9
See reviews for
113
175
22
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Located on Ave El Sol which puts you close enough to everything you need.
5-10 minutes walk and you are at the main square of all the shopping, churches, restaurants, banks for currency exchanges. There are police everywhere so very safe to walk around even at night (just use your common sense).
If your rooms are facing the inner atrium, you might have some noise early morning.
Breakfasts small in comparison to other hotels but are adequate.
The staff in general are all very helpful.
The lobby is small but have lots of seating areas which are quite cozy with a Spanish touch.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CDEMOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I visited this hotel in October and was pleasantly surprised. I had stayed at another of the San Augustin hotels in Lima and wasn't impressed. The location is excellent and I really enjoyed the courtyard and glass elevator that whisked me up to my room. The breakfast was definitely so-so - very standard for this area. The location is excellent - just a couple of blocks to the main plaza. Some of the people on my tour complained about noise but I had no problem. I think it really depends on where your room is as the street's very busy. I had a room at the back and that worked for me. I agree with another reviewer - go out to eat - lots of good restaurants nearby

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sanspen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

First of all the positives - Convenient location, reception staff were helpful, bar is quite cosy and staff helpful, nice lounge

Now for the rest, warts and all, we were given a room initially that was extremely noisy, windowless and claustophic. The safe didn't work and couldn't be fixed until the next day. We asked if we could move and to their credit, they did give us a quieter room with a window, hence getting two blobs rather than one.

At breakfast, for some reason they labelled the milk at breakfast but not the food so we discovered that in fact what looked as if it should be vegetarian wasn't so we suggested labelling all the food.

On the last morning we were the only two in the restaurant as we were going out early on a trip. There were no coffee cups. The head waiter walked straight past us and several minutes later we caught the waitress attention and asked her for cups. She went back into the kitchen and came back with bowls and a cloth then proceeded to wipe the top completely ignoring us and our needs. By this time 3 more people had walked into the restaurant. We left the restaurant and watched them bring out enough cups to fill the entire shelf. Completely ignoring the basic needs of guests for 20 minutes in an empty restaurant and leaving them without cups is completely unacceptable and the head waiter should be sacked.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CathieO3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

For us it was not the outside noise but the internal noise that was a huge problem - forget trying to sleep anytime after 5:30 unless you have earplugs as the noise from people heading out to Machu Picchu or other trips makes it impossible to sleep. Comfy beds though. Great breakfast - good variety, everything felt very fresh (very weak coffee). Staff are ok - reception staff were sometimes helpful, the doormen very mixed. Don't eat dinner here - there are much better restaurants close by and much cheaper.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pendene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The room was fine, spacious, clean, with flat TV, electronic safe, but has no air conditioning. We stayed in a room facing the street and the windows of the room were old, did not contain the noise of the traffic. Terrible quality of sleep. Check out 8am.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DiogoPaez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recife, PE
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Perfect. Bedroom, food, clean, attendant, localization, technology....nothing to complain. A good place to stay, to know the city....perfect.
A thing that makes me a good impression was when I arrive, early morning, 3:00 am, and the attendant offers me a bedroom up my check in starts....it was very gentiful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonhMaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
San Agustin International Hotel
0.4 mi away
Andean Wings Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
San Agustin Plaza
San Agustin Plaza
#60 of 167 in Cusco
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Cusco Catedral
0.2 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Cusco
0.4 mi away
Terra Andina Colonial Mansion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado San Agustin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado San Agustin

Property: El Dorado San Agustin
Address: Ave El Sol 395, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#44 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — El Dorado San Agustin 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Agustin El Dorado is the ideal hotel in Cuzco to visit Hotels in Peru, it is located at a privilege area of the historical Cuzco, between the Main Square and the "Koricancha" Temple of the Sun.From our facilities you have easy access to the monumental Cuzco and nearby the airport and main streets in the Imperial Cusco City.El Dorado Hotel Cuzco-Peru has a Colonial and Andean front. Its style is subtle, neutral and elegant, as a result of the mixture of Andean stone and modern metal touches.Our hotel offers you a great hospitality and also an exceptional service for your business and pleasure trips.Our Hotels in Peru offers you luxurious, comfortable and spacious Rooms, and Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your El Dorado San Agustin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado San Agustin Hotel Cusco
El Dorado San Agustin Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing