We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walkable to all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Dorado San Agustin
Ranked #46 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Located on Ave El Sol which puts you close enough to everything you need.
5-10 minutes walk and you are at the main square of all the shopping, churches, restaurants, banks for currency exchanges. There are police everywhere so very safe to walk around even at night (just use your common sense).
If your rooms are facing the inner atrium, you might have some noise early morning.
Breakfasts small in comparison to other hotels but are adequate.
The staff in general are all very helpful.
The lobby is small but have lots of seating areas which are quite cozy with a Spanish touch.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CDEMOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (494)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 80 of 494 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2013

I visited this hotel in October and was pleasantly surprised. I had stayed at another of the San Augustin hotels in Lima and wasn't impressed. The location is excellent and I really enjoyed the courtyard and glass elevator that whisked me up to my room. The breakfast was definitely so-so - very standard for this area. The location is excellent - just a couple of blocks to the main plaza. Some of the people on my tour complained about noise but I had no problem. I think it really depends on where your room is as the street's very busy. I had a room at the back and that worked for me. I agree with another reviewer - go out to eat - lots of good restaurants nearby

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sanspen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

First of all the positives - Convenient location, reception staff were helpful, bar is quite cosy and staff helpful, nice lounge

Now for the rest, warts and all, we were given a room initially that was extremely noisy, windowless and claustophic. The safe didn't work and couldn't be fixed until the next day. We asked if we could move and to their credit, they did give us a quieter room with a window, hence getting two blobs rather than one.

At breakfast, for some reason they labelled the milk at breakfast but not the food so we discovered that in fact what looked as if it should be vegetarian wasn't so we suggested labelling all the food.

On the last morning we were the only two in the restaurant as we were going out early on a trip. There were no coffee cups. The head waiter walked straight past us and several minutes later we caught the waitress attention and asked her for cups. She went back into the kitchen and came back with bowls and a cloth then proceeded to wipe the top completely ignoring us and our needs. By this time 3 more people had walked into the restaurant. We left the restaurant and watched them bring out enough cups to fill the entire shelf. Completely ignoring the basic needs of guests for 20 minutes in an empty restaurant and leaving them without cups is completely unacceptable and the head waiter should be sacked.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CathieO3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

For us it was not the outside noise but the internal noise that was a huge problem - forget trying to sleep anytime after 5:30 unless you have earplugs as the noise from people heading out to Machu Picchu or other trips makes it impossible to sleep. Comfy beds though. Great breakfast - good variety, everything felt very fresh (very weak coffee). Staff are ok - reception staff were sometimes helpful, the doormen very mixed. Don't eat dinner here - there are much better restaurants close by and much cheaper.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pendene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The room was fine, spacious, clean, with flat TV, electronic safe, but has no air conditioning. We stayed in a room facing the street and the windows of the room were old, did not contain the noise of the traffic. Terrible quality of sleep. Check out 8am.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DiogoPaez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Perfect. Bedroom, food, clean, attendant, localization, technology....nothing to complain. A good place to stay, to know the city....perfect.
A thing that makes me a good impression was when I arrive, early morning, 3:00 am, and the attendant offers me a bedroom up my check in starts....it was very gentiful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonhMaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The acoustics seem to magnify all the noise in the pleasant inner-court area, so either request a room away from the inner-court or bring ear plugs. We stayed 4 nights prior to hiking the Inka Trail to MP and one night afterwards. Loved the coca tea available in the lobby and the breakfast which starts at 4:30am for trekkers. Also ate dinner there and had the entire restaurant to ourselves--food quite good and reasonably priced, but they would not break a 50 soles note for tipping, even in their own currency! Also liked being able to check email back home from the two computers in the inner-court area. Staff was helpful and courteous but English is clearly not their first language so speaking slower and more distinctly is advisable. Good location --just two blocks from the main square and short distance to shops, restaurants and museums.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BofBrentwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
San Agustin International Hotel
0.1 mi away
San Agustin Plaza
San Agustin Plaza
#59 of 171 in Cusco
262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#30 of 171 in Cusco
1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
0.4 mi away
Andean Wings Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
#14 of 171 in Cusco
3,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado San Agustin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado San Agustin

Address: Ave El Sol 395, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#44 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: $81 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — El Dorado San Agustin 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Agustin El Dorado is the ideal hotel in Cuzco to visit Hotels in Peru, it is located at a privilege area of the historical Cuzco, between the Main Square and the "Koricancha" Temple of the Sun.From our facilities you have easy access to the monumental Cuzco and nearby the airport and main streets in the Imperial Cusco City.El Dorado Hotel Cuzco-Peru has a Colonial and Andean front. Its style is subtle, neutral and elegant, as a result of the mixture of Andean stone and modern metal touches.Our hotel offers you a great hospitality and also an exceptional service for your business and pleasure trips.Our Hotels in Peru offers you luxurious, comfortable and spacious Rooms, and Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Dorado San Agustin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado San Agustin Hotel Cusco
El Dorado San Agustin Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing