We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“very nice hotel, but noisy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Dorado San Agustin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Dorado San Agustin
Ranked #41 of 161 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“very nice hotel, but noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

For us it was not the outside noise but the internal noise that was a huge problem - forget trying to sleep anytime after 5:30 unless you have earplugs as the noise from people heading out to Machu Picchu or other trips makes it impossible to sleep. Comfy beds though. Great breakfast - good variety, everything felt very fresh (very weak coffee). Staff are ok - reception staff were sometimes helpful, the doormen very mixed. Don't eat dinner here - there are much better restaurants close by and much cheaper.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pendene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    199
    77
    17
    7
See reviews for
98
153
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The room was fine, spacious, clean, with flat TV, electronic safe, but has no air conditioning. We stayed in a room facing the street and the windows of the room were old, did not contain the noise of the traffic. Terrible quality of sleep. Check out 8am.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DiogoPaez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recife, PE
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Perfect. Bedroom, food, clean, attendant, localization, technology....nothing to complain. A good place to stay, to know the city....perfect.
A thing that makes me a good impression was when I arrive, early morning, 3:00 am, and the attendant offers me a bedroom up my check in starts....it was very gentiful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonhMaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The acoustics seem to magnify all the noise in the pleasant inner-court area, so either request a room away from the inner-court or bring ear plugs. We stayed 4 nights prior to hiking the Inka Trail to MP and one night afterwards. Loved the coca tea available in the lobby and the breakfast which starts at 4:30am for trekkers. Also ate dinner there and had the entire restaurant to ourselves--food quite good and reasonably priced, but they would not break a 50 soles note for tipping, even in their own currency! Also liked being able to check email back home from the two computers in the inner-court area. Staff was helpful and courteous but English is clearly not their first language so speaking slower and more distinctly is advisable. Good location --just two blocks from the main square and short distance to shops, restaurants and museums.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BofBrentwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the casa cartegena hotel in Cuzco, which was great. Then we went to the sacred valley and came back to Cuzco for one night, leaving early the following day. We decided to try another hotel and went to the San Agustin hotel. We arrived at 6 pm. Windows were open in our room, nobody thought to close them though it was freezing outside. Heaters were not powerful enough, we've been freezing all night. Rooms are very noisy, it was impossible to sleep anyway. We've been told that breakfast opened early. But when we came, 30 minutes after the time of opening, almost nothing was there, we had to ask for getting what we needed, and it was very long to come. Overall service was very poor. And it's not an unexpensive hotel ! This hotel is a fake. Avoid it if you can !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Serge H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The hotel is well located a short walk from the main square.
The room is clean and contains the basic things you'd expect.
However, the room and hotel is a little dated, and it can get incredibly noisy if you get a room overlooking the lobby or main street.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKChris82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel for a 1 night stay befor heading to MP. Desk staff were very helpful. Helped me with a taxi and contacted the tour company I was using for MP tickets. For those going to MP, beware... Get your tickets before going as they are sold out generally several days in advance.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
San Agustin International Hotel
0.2 mi away
San Agustin Plaza
San Agustin Plaza
#52 of 161 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 stars 191 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
#13 of 161 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Andean Wings Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Private Collection Cusco
0.3 mi away
Sonesta Posadas del Inca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado San Agustin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado San Agustin

Property: El Dorado San Agustin
Address: Ave El Sol 395, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#44 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — El Dorado San Agustin 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Agustin El Dorado is the ideal hotel in Cuzco to visit Hotels in Peru, it is located at a privilege area of the historical Cuzco, between the Main Square and the "Koricancha" Temple of the Sun.From our facilities you have easy access to the monumental Cuzco and nearby the airport and main streets in the Imperial Cusco City.El Dorado Hotel Cuzco-Peru has a Colonial and Andean front. Its style is subtle, neutral and elegant, as a result of the mixture of Andean stone and modern metal touches.Our hotel offers you a great hospitality and also an exceptional service for your business and pleasure trips.Our Hotels in Peru offers you luxurious, comfortable and spacious Rooms, and Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your El Dorado San Agustin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado San Agustin Hotel Cusco
El Dorado San Agustin Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing