We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid absolutely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Dorado San Agustin
Ranked #47 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the casa cartegena hotel in Cuzco, which was great. Then we went to the sacred valley and came back to Cuzco for one night, leaving early the following day. We decided to try another hotel and went to the San Agustin hotel. We arrived at 6 pm. Windows were open in our room, nobody thought to close them though it was freezing outside. Heaters were not powerful enough, we've been freezing all night. Rooms are very noisy, it was impossible to sleep anyway. We've been told that breakfast opened early. But when we came, 30 minutes after the time of opening, almost nothing was there, we had to ask for getting what we needed, and it was very long to come. Overall service was very poor. And it's not an unexpensive hotel ! This hotel is a fake. Avoid it if you can !

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Serge H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (494)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

81 - 87 of 494 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

The hotel is well located a short walk from the main square.
The room is clean and contains the basic things you'd expect.
However, the room and hotel is a little dated, and it can get incredibly noisy if you get a room overlooking the lobby or main street.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKChris82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Nice hotel for a 1 night stay befor heading to MP. Desk staff were very helpful. Helped me with a taxi and contacted the tour company I was using for MP tickets. For those going to MP, beware... Get your tickets before going as they are sold out generally several days in advance.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

This Hotel was clean in a good location and the first impressions were good.
However the constant noise was a nightmare and the breakfasts left much to be desired the staff were very hazy with there english and found it quite difficult to understand us and other english guests. We and others swapped rooms because of the noise until the point we just gave in.
I strongly advise if you are traveling with llama travel to upgrade to the casa andina as the guests there said it was ok, where as the majority of hotels suffered with noise until the early hours.. Hope this is useful information.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a better hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Positives: very clean, decent breakfast (but TERRIBLE coffee), coca tea available 24/7, a five minute walk from Plaza de Armas

Negatives (about the hotel): i come from NYC, so i understand street noise, but the rooms are EXTREMELY NOISY! the first room we stayed in overlooked the main lobby of the hotel, and we heard all of the goings-on at all hours (mind you, people often wake up around 5am to catch the train to Machu Picchu, so don't expect to sleep in if your room has a window where ours was). Plus, because it was an interior window, we didn't have any natural light and couldn't tell what the weather was like. Our second room had a window facing a brick wall and was even noisier than the first! There were terribly loud banging noises and you could hear every single peep the elevator made. Additionally, while the staff at the reception desk meant well, they couldn't really answer basic questions like what restaurants to suggest or where to find certain locations on a map.

Negatives (about the location): The hotel is located on a main street, Avenida El Sol, and when you walk outside you are innundated by both diesel fumes and people trying to sell you things. there are people standing outside of the hotel entrance day and night accosting you to look at their jewelry/paintings/whatever, and they don't let up easily. Plaza de Armas is about a 5 minute walk away (up a slight incline, which can be difficult if you're not adjusted to the altitude).

In sum, were I to return to Cusco, I'd probably stay somewhere else, likely a place that is off a main street and closer to the Plaza de Armas.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

The hotel is located near the city center square with a short walk to the restaurants and sightseeing locations. We found that the rooms towards the rear were quiet and the hotel staff were very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Get the rooms towards the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

This hotel is located on a busy main street - good location - but the rooms all have a different reason to be noisy - none of which involve the street noise! Overlook the lobby and the talking and laughing (4-5-6 am) are loud. Overlook nothing and there are buzers ringing, cleaning carts scraping the floors, elevator shaft noise, people above you walking on uncarpeted, thin floors and who knows where else the other noises came from? I thought I was on Candid Camera.

Room Tip: Speak to the front desk to see if they even have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAREN617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
San Agustin International Hotel
0.1 mi away
San Agustin Plaza
San Agustin Plaza
#60 of 171 in Cusco
259 reviews
0.4 mi away
Andean Wings Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#30 of 171 in Cusco
1,497 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
#14 of 171 in Cusco
3,315 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado San Agustin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado San Agustin

Address: Ave El Sol 395, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#44 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: $81 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — El Dorado San Agustin 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Agustin El Dorado is the ideal hotel in Cuzco to visit Hotels in Peru, it is located at a privilege area of the historical Cuzco, between the Main Square and the "Koricancha" Temple of the Sun.From our facilities you have easy access to the monumental Cuzco and nearby the airport and main streets in the Imperial Cusco City.El Dorado Hotel Cuzco-Peru has a Colonial and Andean front. Its style is subtle, neutral and elegant, as a result of the mixture of Andean stone and modern metal touches.Our hotel offers you a great hospitality and also an exceptional service for your business and pleasure trips.Our Hotels in Peru offers you luxurious, comfortable and spacious Rooms, and Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Splitty, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your El Dorado San Agustin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado San Agustin Hotel Cusco
El Dorado San Agustin Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing