We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Del Prado Inn is truly a hidden gem”
Review of Del Prado Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Del Prado Inn
Ranked #94 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Reviewed September 13, 2009

My wife and I were on our honeymoon to Machu Picchu-Cusco recently. Del Prado Inn in Cusco was our first point of contact with Peru thus we were a little anxious regarding how this experience would turn out to be. However, contrary to all skepticism our Del Prado Inn experience turned out to be excellent. This was a cute little hotel centrally located in Cusco, which made our access to most places of interest very easy. Our room (which had a jacuzzi) was very comfortable and the hotel staff was very warm, helpful and professional. The food was very good as well. Jose, one of the staffers, became our very good friend and did an excellent job in navigating us through the landscape. He could be contacted at [--] in case someone needs his help in planning a trip to Cusco-Machu Picchu. There is plenty of shopping, dining and nightlife around Del Prado Inn. We would highly recommend this hotel to future Cusco-Machu Picchu travelers.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DebashisCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

75 - 81 of 264 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2009

When you stay at places like this, the staff is either really helpful (which is true of most small places) or they're just out to get as much money from you as possible. The staff here were the latter. Don't accept any wine at dinner, and definitely don't do the 3-day special, it WILL end up being much more than $300, and they WILL charge taxes, even if they tell you they won't. This was my first chargeback experience.....

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank egilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2009

we booked a couple of nights at casona les pleidas but they couldn't accomodate us for our first night in cusco so we went here instead. the manager sat and chatted with us about acclimitization as we sipped coca leaf tea and the staff made us feel very welcome. they did a terrific job of laundry service, though i think they charged a bit more than the going rate. the room was clean and very comfortable and the location couldn't be better. we heard a little bit of noise from the nightclub but it never became a problem. after switching to the better reviewed casona les pleides (see my review) we wished we had stayed at the del prado inn instead.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucretious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2009

Walked in and was able to get room. Stayed in room 402. Great service. Upon entering our room, hotel staff member brought us coca tea (leaves were fresh unlike prior places we had stayed at).

Room reminded us of a condo, was very modern, had a mini-fridge which was nice for keeping our water bottles in, had hot water 24/7 as promised, mattress comfortable, new/clean bedding, hard-wood floors, hairdryer, good layout. There was even an elevator in the hotel which was nice, stairs are fine, but in higher-altitude with heavy bags, we learned elevators are great if you’re on a higher floor :o)

The staff was excellent and brought us requested items within minutes of our requests. They even went so far as to bring me a personalised birthday cake that evening (they must have noticed the birthdate upon check-in). I was very surprised and touched that they went to that type of effort on their own accord.

All in all, I can’t say anything negative about this hotel. It was clean, comfortable, had breakfast included, hot water, great service and staff, and a great location just steps away from the Plaza. It was $20-$30 more than hostals, but still worth it. If you need a break from taking cold showers, uncomfortable mattresses, etc., then I highly recommend this one.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Stanbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2008

This hotel is just steps off the Plaza Armas, very close to everything in Cusco. Little taxi's can drop you off at the door. Larger vehicles face a bit of a challenge making it up the narrow street. Yes, the clubs nearby rock the music until very early in the morning. I'd guess that all the hotels in the center of Cusco have the same issue. I'm a deep sleeper and was able to sleep through it for the most part. My wife doesn't sleep as deeply and needed an ambien and earplugs to make it. We've stayed here on several occasions and have found the noise to be worse on the weekends - as you'd expect. The in room Jacuzzi is very nice - it takes about a half hour to fill up if you use it so start early. Rooms are modern, clean, and come with cable tv, slow wifi, and a safe. Breakfast is good buffet style. The staff is professional and helpful. We'll keep coming back, and recommend you do too.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RRenard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2008

what a great little hotel in an excellent position - seconds from the beautiful square and lots of restaurants. staff were very helpful, booking a trip into the sacred valley and holding onto my luggage til my return from machu picchu. nothing was any trouble to the staff. great breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank scotty48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2008

We were already impressed by the location alone. Right off the Plaza Armas, very close to everything - restaurants, shops, sites, etc. I loved the authentic inca wall at the dining area (the hotel was a site of an inca nobleman's palace). The room we got had a balcony- so it faced the street. A novelty during the daytime, but a bane at night. The hotel sits next to a club that closes at 5am and if you are a light sleeper, either ask to switch rooms or use the ear plugs they provide daily. Otherwise, their rooms were a welcome comfort zone in comparison to the last hotel we were at on the first leg of our trip. Rooms were nice & clean, had cable tv, wifi, and a safe. Breakfast was good. Loved the traditiotnal peruvian cereal and strong coffee. The staff were very nice and helpful, especially Fernando. When we slept overnight at aguas calientes in between days, we couldn't wait to get back to Del Prado where we stayed for the rest of our trip to Peru.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank dissolvedgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Qosqo
Hotel Royal Qosqo
#88 of 171 in Cusco
140 reviews
0 mi away
La Casona Real Hotel
La Casona Real Hotel
#93 of 171 in Cusco
63 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garcilaso
Hotel Garcilaso
#71 of 171 in Cusco
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Los Andes De America Hotel
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
0.2 mi away
Wakapunku Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Del Prado Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Del Prado Inn

Address: Calle Suecia 310, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Cusco
#25 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: $47 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Del Prado Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Del Prado Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Prado Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing