We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BE CAUTIOUS OF EXCHANGING MONEY AT HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Costa Del Sol Ramada Cusco
Ranked #29 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Other that what I will explain, the hotel has a great location, good breakfast and great staff. My first room was rather small but on my second stay, I got a larger room.

One morning i exchanged a $50 USD bill for soles. Upon my return to the hotel in the evening, I was advised that the $50 USD bill I had given was counterfeit. I was embarrased and immediatly gave them another $50 in exchane for the counterfeit bill.

Upon return to the United States, I did research on counterfeit money, specifically $50 bills. I learned that Peru is one of the highest producers of counterfeit $50 bills. My bank assured me that it was impossible for me to have received a counterfeit bill from the ATM as they have the means to reject the bills before dispensing to its customers.

I cannot say that the exchange of the real bill for the counterfeit one was done at the hotel or at the money exchange to which the hotel says rejected the money. The money was not checked with a pen as they do here in the US in front of you to verify the bilss authenticity.

I do however feel based on the information received here in the USA, that I was scammed. An expensive lesson...just be cautious and maybe write down the serial numbers before exchanging the cash.

Room Tip: Request a larger room...sooms rooms are quite small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bear1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,047)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

282 - 288 of 1,047 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013

The grounds are gorgeous, the room was perfect and the staff amazing. This is an authentic old colonial mansion, expertly restored. More importantly, all you need to to is walk out your door and you are in Cusco. Which is a great thing, because Cusco is magical. Highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dylan10101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

If you keep in mind, Cusco is a very old city and streets as well as buildings are crammed together, you will see the charm of this hotel. Fronted by a rock facade, you walk in and find a pretty courtyard and lobby. Rooms are clean although a little old and small but this you would expect from such an old place, staff are nice and friendly. Food in the hotel was very good and prices are not too bad. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone going to Cusco. Location is also very convenient for sightseeing.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We chose this hotel from a recommendation by my sister-in-law who stayed here a couple of years previously. We were not disappointed.
The location within Cusco was perfect and we felt very welcome there by all the staff.
We were in the old part of the hotel and although the room was a little tired, it was comfortable. Would have been nice to have a bigger bathroom though. This was also true of the second room we stayed in(after our trip to Machu Picchu).
Breakfast was pretty good although not outstanding. We had a very early start one day and we were able to take a quick breakfast before service officially started, which was great.
Didn't eat in the restaurant, one of the reasons being that the lighting wasn't very welcoming although the menu looked good.
We like to stay in hotels with character and this certainly fit the bill. I would stay here again if I came back to Cusco.

Room Tip: We found that the room we had in the older section of the hotel was much quieter that in the new par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ju-ju60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Our party of 2 families with 4 kids recently spent 2 nights at this hotel after visiting Machu Picchu. We had two family suites in the old part of the hotel. The hotel is very close to the central square and very conveniently located to restaurants around town. The old colonial part of the hotel is very quant and has a lot of character. The family suites were large with two rooms located inside one. The bathroom also had a jacuzzi. The kids enjoyed exploring the hotel and hanging around the central courtyard. There was an Andean craftswoman who sold crafts in the courtyard and kids loved watching her and playing with the little lamb she had with her.
The breakfast bar was pretty basic for a hotel this size, but adequate. They had eggs to order, the juices were not fresh, some fruit and cereal. Overall this was a good hotel and we were glad to have spent our two days in Cuzco here.

Room Tip: Try to snag a room in the old colonial section overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chulsoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

First of all I want to say a big thank you to the staff on the reception desk who have been very helpful after my stay at the hotel; I asked them to send my insurance company confirmation that I reported an item I lost to them and they did so quickly and efficiently. I think this is a lovely hotel, the location is perfect as it is close to places of interest, interesting shops and decent restaurants. The older section of the hotel is beautiful and the room we had at the front of the hotel, with a balcony overlooking the street was full of character. We also stayed in a newer room in the more modern part of the hotel and found that to be very comfortable. It is just lovely and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: If you like old world charm and character ask for a room in the older part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Potterieslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We spent two nights at the Hotel Costa del Sol prior to the Machu Picchu leg of our Peru trip and then again for one last night upon our return. The hotel is centrally located in Cusco and a lovely walk to restaurants and around town. Service in reception was excellent - quick check in and we were served coca tea upon arrival to help with the altitude and warm up. The stone courtyard and decoration in the lounge areas of the hotel stay true to the culture of Cusco as the hotel is a restored, colonial home. The only negative I would say here is it was quite chilly in the mornings and evenings. The hotel had heat on and a fire going in the evenings but I had to wear my coat to sit down there at any other time of day...I assume it stays pretty cold because the building is so old and made of stone.

Our room (409) was very spacious and had an updated bathroom. The temperature in the room was a little tricky but there was a heater that worked. The others we were traveling with had smaller, standard rooms. Everything was clean. I observed that the hallways were a little worn and there was construction work being done on the first couple days of our stay on our floor but it did not disturb us.

The buffet breakfast was included in our rate and a great start to the morning. I think that the Ramada is an excellent choice for Cusco at this price point. Great staff and met our needs perfectly for siteseeting around Cusco, Sacred Valley, and our starting point to get to Machu Picchu.

Room Tip: Room 409 - spacious and nice remodeled bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AP_Phoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#30 of 171 in Cusco
1,502 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
#14 of 171 in Cusco
3,339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Los Andes De America Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cusco
Hilton Garden Inn Cusco
#23 of 171 in Cusco
734 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#18 of 171 in Cusco
1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costa Del Sol Ramada Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Del Sol Ramada Cusco

Address: Calle Santa Teresa 344, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cusco
#23 Family Hotel in Cusco
#25 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: $94 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Costa Del Sol Ramada Cusco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Costa del Sol Ramada is located in a colonial-era mansion that is considered part of the cultural heritage of the city of Cusco. The building dates back to the 17th century, when the Marquis de Picoaga arrived in the city and built himself a new home, employing stonework and murals. The hotel is divided between a colonial wing and a contemporary wing, combining stone archways, a beautiful patio, a fountain and original murals dating from the architecture of the 17th century with all the comforts of a modern, contemporary hotel. The rooms have been designed for the comfort of the guests and are spacious, peaceful and fully equipped. They have Wi-Fi internet connections, cable television, direct dial telephones, safe deposit boxes and a mini-bar. The hotel conserves all the beauty of an old colonial mansion and provides the welcoming service that will make you feel special during every day of your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Costa Del Sol Ramada Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Picoaga Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing