We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Ranked #4 of 164 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Oregon
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“WOW!”
Reviewed October 30, 2009

This is a once in a lifetime experience. It is so charming as it used to be a monastery. Gorgeous rooms and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. Be sure to spend the extra money to stay here - it is worth every penny! Amazing breakfast!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carcinoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,864
    266
    65
    33
    9
See reviews for
437
1,118
86
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2009

we spent 2 nights at the Monasterio after flying from London via Lima for the start of our honeymoon. the staff immediately relaxed and refreshed us.
The hotel has 2 beautiful courtyards and a stunning chapel next to it.
The rooms are quite small for the price and furnished with Spanish colonial antiques (or look a like antiques), and do not contain modern gadgets (eg no ipod dock), but are comfortable and totally fine. Bathrooms are small and are not luxurious, eg small bath (typical in many South American top hotels).
Breakfast is in old refectory - quite dark, not warm, but great choice for buffet
Dinner is very good, but the restaurant in the pre Colombian museum next door is better!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barnestourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, NE
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2009

We booked with Orient Express through our travel agent. We have been very pleased with the hotel and the enriched air. The food is fabulous, and the service excellent. We have booked our tours through Orient Express as well, and were very very happy with our day long tour to the Sacred Valley. There were four of us in our group, and Danny, our guide was excellent at pacing the trip to meet what we wanted to see and do.
Thanks!

Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelsAlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2009

I love this hotel, great service, good food, great experience, ...

Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank AnthonyBarletti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2009

We arrived early afternoon feeling the effects of altitude sickness, flying in from Lima, feeling a bit dizzy and headachy. However, we were offered some cocoa tea as soon as we arrived while the check in process was done for us by our guide. A few minutes later, feeling refreshed, we were in our room.

It was quite a small room, with no curtains, just shutters which you have to reach outside to close, which does minimise your privacy of a morning! No matter, it was comfortable room, decent size bed which again was comfortable. We had a small bathroom which did, and all in all, it was a satisfactory if a bit basic room, periodically decorated with old large oil paintings of a religious theme looking down on you - a bit daunting at times!

We were close to the town centre which nestled in the mountainside had nice views especially from the town square, a nice busy thoroughfare to sit down in the gardens watching the back packers, tourists and locals selling their wares go by. There were a lot of restaurants (and the ubiquitous MacDonalds - even in the Andes you get them!), bars and cafes of varying simplicity coupled with some for finer dining. We had a nice italian the first night that seemed popular with tourists, although my poor wife was sick that night - not through the food, but altitude sickness!

The hotel itself is an old monastary and the haunting chants of choral type music is quite soothing and puts you in the mood for the place, as you wonder down the corridors for breakfast. It has 2 lovely gardens and courtyards with seating around. The breakfast room is like a church room, large and airy with stone surroundings - very in tune for what the place is (as you would expect). Breakfast was fine with a very helpful chef bringing a great omellette and fried aggs to our table. Coffee and juice, meat and cereals, hot and cold buffet regular stuff. Not outstanding, but very good. Service was great and we had no issues.

We took dinner there in the main restaurant on our 2nd night which was very good. Again, service was attentive and friendly. A good menu and well cooked meal was flavoursome and well presented. I had a great pork tenderloin, one of the best I have tasted. Overlooking a darkened courtyard, the place had atmosphere and we had a very pleasant, relaxed evening.

Next day we were off, via the Hiram Bingham (recommended highly!) to Machu Picchu, but we returned the night after back to the Monasterio to be placed in a much larger room, with a larger bed and bathroom. The same decor, but this time it had a writing desk, more space available, and a big pillar in our room - careful in the night going to the bathroom! Bed was great and although up at 5am, we were refreshed.

Overall , a well situated hotel dating back to the 15th century, and it shows in authenticity and decor and the general building. It had a calm tranquil feel with modern amenities and touches. We had pre dinner cocktails in the lounge bar one evening and the log fire was going and it made for a lovely feel. When we got the bill it was in dollars - since I had local curreny I asked for it to be converted. She did so using the rate of the day, then coming back, offering an improved rate giving me an even better rate of exchange, something she didn't have to do.

I rate the hotel for atmosphere, service, food and overall ambience - the rooms vary as do the quality of the decor (and hairdryer!) but overall, a great place to stay, and we would again if ever we came back to the area. A very enjoyable 2 days.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank IanUK72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2009

Best hotel we have stayed at in South America. Faultless service, excellent food, wonderful ambience and location. Expensive but well worth it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidgriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2009

We stayed for 2 nights at the Monasterio, and loved the courtyard, furnishings, and ambiance. All of our meals were quite good, and the staff polite, attentive, and helpful. Its location is close enough to walk to major sites. One disappointment - our room was very small, and its one window looked out over a small portion of tiled roof onto another wall with windows of other rooms. For privacy, we kept the shutters closed (no draperies or curtains), which then allowed no light into the room whatsoever, making it closed off and claustrophobic. Because we were so tired from 2 days at Machu Picchu, it wasn't worth the effort to request a room change. Looking back, we should have requested it upon arrival.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tweet_53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.0 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
0.3 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.1 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 164 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Monasterio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Monasterio

Property: Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Address: Calle Palacio 140 | Plazoleta Nazarenas, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#4 Business Hotel in Cusco
#7 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Monasterio 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right beside the lively Cusco central square is Belmond Hotel Monasterio, a former monastery and national monument dating from 1592. This delightful retreat combines centuries-old charm with luxury hotel service, inspired restaurants and boutique rooms and suites-all clustered around a tranquil central courtyard. The ideal hotel from which to discover the delights of Cusco, its doors open to a vibrant scene of old and modern architecture, markets, galleries and restaurants serving 'new Andean' cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Belmond Hotel Monasterio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monasterio Hotel Cusco
Hotel Monasterio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing