We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FAVORITE HOTEL IN PERU”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Ranked #4 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2014

This was our favorite hotel in Peru. We even stayed at the Machu Picchu Santuary Lodge. They are both Belmond properties. Definitely a 5 star property. We were a little woozy after arriving in Cusco, but didn't need to have extra oxygen pumped into our room. We had a two story room that included a loft with a separate king size bed and tv.
Everything about this hotel is top notch from the service, the food, the location and the staff. We loved the character of the property. Even the key chain for the room key was beautiful. There is no other place I'd rather stay in Peru.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank csalonga89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for choosing Belmond Hotel Monasterio as your favorite Hotel in Perú.

The entire team is more tha pleased to know that we met your expectations and look forward to see you again soon.

Best Regards

Gustavo De León
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,398)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

904 - 910 of 2,399 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2014

Beautiful hotel!! An old, converted monastery that echos the charm of cusco. It almost feels like a museum, or a sight within itself. When I was here, Bill & Melinda gates were also staying here - super cool, but also super annoying because my mum literally stayed up way past her bed time waiting to see them come back from Machu Picchu. We saw them and they just looked like average tourists (very incognito, well played bill)

I really liked the decor of this hotel & the bar was a lovely place to hang out & write. Would for sure come back!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank Smileyeilidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Dear Guest

Many thanks for staying at Belmond Hotel Monasterio.

We appreciate all your comments about your stay with us. All our team is very happy to know that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards

Gustavo De León
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2014

This is the best hotel we stayed in during our vacation to Peru this past July. They were nothing but accommodating but not stuffy for a moment. The entire staff was polite, talkative, and all around amable. I was actually alone in Cusco for a bit because my parents had missed their connecting flights to Cusco from Ecuador putting them 36 hours behind me. The entire staff immediately knew who I was and were offering me options of day activities to do in the city. They were always checking in with me and making sure I had enough to eat.

We also did some traveling while in Peru and the Monasterio offered to keep our bags while we were away for a night and had them all back in the rooms along with snacks when we returned the following night at around 10pm.

To say this hotel was nice would be an understatement. This was an exceptional place to stay and I would highly recommend it for anyone traveling to Cusco.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2014

Dear Alice Z

Thank you very much for choosing Belmond Hotel Monasterio. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your nice comment encourage us to keep on the best service in order to create unforgettable experiences for our guests.

Kind regards

Gustavo De León
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2014

In March of 2014 we went on the Lindblad National Geographic expedition to the Galápagos and Peru. It was an amazing trip. Lindblad and National Geographic took care of everything (almost) with impeccable style and care. Day 14 and 15 were spent at the Monasterio Hotel in Cusco Peru. The hotel is a real treat. It's centrally located enabling you to stroll the center of Cusco, seeing the sights, sampling the towns restaurants and getting some shopping in. The Monasterio Hotel is a real 5-star hotel inhabiting a real monastery with cloisters and chapel. The rooms are very nice, service great and the breakfasts and dinners at the hotel are tops. Wi-Fi was good and available in the rooms. This is "the" place to stay in Cusco, IMO. And where else can you get an oxygen tank from the mini-bar or have oxygen pumped into your room (both for an additional fee) at night to assist the sea-level folk deal with the elevation of Cusco.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2014

Dear Ron W

Many thanks for sharing your nice experience about your stay at Belmond Hotel Monasterio.

We are more than pleased to know that you enjoyed the time with us.

Warm regards

Gustavo De León
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Expectations are high when you go to a 5 star hotel and the Monasterio will definitely not disappoint you. The setting in a colonial monastery is beautiful, with the internal patios impeccably presented gardens and rows of stone arches. The service is consistently outstanding and the staff is very knowledgeable and always willing to help. The breakfast buffet is very good even though we have seen more complete ones in other 5 star places. Ideal location very close to Plaza de Armas but in a low transit cute small plaza with the MAP Museum on the other side (another place should should not miss!!). Overall the hotel provides a great and well rounded experience and easily justifies its rating and price

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Roberto B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Dear Roberto B

Thank you for staying at Belmond Hotel Monasterio.

We are more than happy to know that our hotel met your expectations. We hope that you have enjoyed of our magic city and look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards

Gustavo De León
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2014

This hotel located in the heart of. Historical Cusco is exceptional in every way. The staff are knowledgable pleasant, helpful and from concierge to cleaner add something to the visit.
The standard is excellent hygiene, room service, facilities and the restaurant first class. Breakfast buffet, bar service, and restaurant provide an excellent choice for all tastes.
The old monastery chapel is something to see and the cloisters just add a unique charm as they form a. square round beautifully manicured gardens.
The hotel provides oxygen for anyone suffering from altitude sickness and some rooms offer the opportunity to enhance the air in the room with additional oxygen.
I am pleased we chose this hotel and would recommend it to anyone who likes something "special"

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank hmlhhf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Dear guest

We would like to thank for choosing Belmond Hotel Monasterio.

We really appreciate all your comments about your stay with us. All our team is very happy to know that you enjoyed your days in Cusco and look forward to see you again at home.

Kind Regards

Gustavo De León
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2014

Not only helping but also forward looking no compromises on quality with an excellent service and remarkable ambience, especially the chapeland patio. The hotel itself located in an antique monastery just around the corner of Plaza de armas

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Konstantin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Dear Konstantin K

Thank you very much for chooding Belmond Hotel Monasterio.

We are very pleased to know that your stay with us was a very nice experience.

Kind Regards

Gustavo De León
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.0 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
0.3 mi away
Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#30 of 171 in Cusco
1,472 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Monasterio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Monasterio

Address: Calle Plazoleta Nazarenas 337, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#4 Business Hotel in Cusco
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#7 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: $229 - $1,370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Monasterio 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right beside the lively Cusco central square is Belmond Hotel Monasterio, a former monastery and national monument dating from 1592. This delightful retreat combines centuries-old charm with luxury hotel service, inspired restaurants and boutique rooms and suites-all clustered around a tranquil central courtyard. The ideal hotel from which to discover the delights of Cusco, its doors open to a vibrant scene of old and modern architecture, markets, galleries and restaurants serving 'new Andean' cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Hotel Monasterio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monasterio Hotel Cusco
Hotel Monasterio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing