We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special and First Class All the Way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Ranked #4 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2014

I can only repeat what so many others have written here, this is a once-in-a-lifetime experience, with all of the amenities to match. You are in former monastery (note that the entrance mat reads Established 1692) with stunning grounds, awesome dining & bar areas, beautiful chapel. The rooms are no smaller than in many European hotels w/ the same price point and they are delightfully furnished in a style compatible with the monastery. Check the hotel's website for photos if you think you might not enjoy such surroundings. Otherwise, enjoy all of the extras (including the world's fluffiest towels!), the fine food and even finer service. Your location is perfect for checking out the shops and museums and the concierge service is, as expected, first rate.
Note - in our group, every one of us encountered altitude sickness at some point on our 12 day trip, regardless of whether we took meds, and for me requesting a room here with extra oxygen really helped.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MichiganCookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear MichiganCookies

Certainly we appreciated your comments about your stay at Belmond Hotel Monasterio which encourage us to keep on our service in order to give the best to our guests.

Kind regards,

Gustavo de León
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,433)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

958 - 964 of 2,433 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2014

A truly unique hotel set in a charming and interesting city. Beautiful rooms, immaculate and gorgeous grounds and excellent service. Great buffet breakfast from the more casual breakfast/lunch restaurant, and delicious meals in the lovely main restaurant. Requested a laundry pick-up and the front desk told me someone would be up in 5 minutes; he was there in 30 seconds! We experienced the same friendly, efficient service throughout our stay. We highly recommend this wonderful hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Jamie,

Thank you very much for comment. The entire team at Belmond Hotel Monasterio thanks you for your stay and looks forward to see you soon.

Best regards,

Gustavo de León
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Somehow we expected peaceful quiet and shrouded monks...we got the peace and quiet, but no hint of monastery other than the spectacular art and artifacts! A lovely property, with beauty on the grounds, excellent food, and quick access to interesting sights in Cusco. The rooms were comfortable, except for the tripping hazards everywhere. Because the property is built across a rise, many of the rooms have step-ups at the door and between the main room and bath. Since the interior of the room is unlighted, a midnight trip to the bathroom can be exactly that -- a trip. Use your flashlights and take care.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OaklandVisit2r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear OaklandVisit2r,

Many thanks for your comment. We will definitely consider your recommendation about the lights in the rooms to improve our guest's experience.

We are happy to know that your experience at Belmond Hotel Monasterio was amazing.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de León
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

What a place. A former monastery, it has elaborate artwork all around, beautiful grounds. There is an exquisite chapel - something that belongs in a chateau, rather than a hotel. The food is delicious, and we were treated to a couple of beautiful opera singers during dinner. However, this place is old, and that can be a problem; we had a room that was on a back street, the windows were only covered with wood shutters (not glass), and so all of the outside noise comes in easily...and that happened throughout the night. Needed earplugs to get any sleep. Make sure you ask for a quiet room!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Idmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. All your comments encourage us to improve every day in order to give the best service to our guests.

Best regards,

Gustavo de León
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Fabulous hotel, with good size rooms designed in a very traditional style. This is truly an amazing property, excellent location, great breakfast and helpful staff. Would diffinately book this property again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 560djm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We had a great trip for a family of 6. Total of three rooms. Ursula from the Belmond tour division did a great job working our Peru logistics.

Edwardo did a nice job at the Monasterio and we used Carlos as a tour guide for Cusco and Machu Picchu.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
Thank mdh95070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

If you wish to be looked after with care and attention to every detail you should consider this hotel. The venue is beautiful, the staff friendly and experienced and the food is excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and will go again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.0 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
0.3 mi away
Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#30 of 171 in Cusco
1,500 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Monasterio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Monasterio

Address: Calle Plazoleta Nazarenas 337, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#4 Business Hotel in Cusco
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#7 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: $229 - $587 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Monasterio 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right beside the lively Cusco central square is Belmond Hotel Monasterio, a former monastery and national monument dating from 1592. This delightful retreat combines centuries-old charm with luxury hotel service, inspired restaurants and boutique rooms and suites-all clustered around a tranquil central courtyard. The ideal hotel from which to discover the delights of Cusco, its doors open to a vibrant scene of old and modern architecture, markets, galleries and restaurants serving 'new Andean' cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Splitty, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Hotel Monasterio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monasterio Hotel Cusco
Hotel Monasterio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing