We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Ranked #4 of 172 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Our entire stay was excellent, everyone from the desk personnel to the restaurant was great. Our waiter for breakfast was Wilbur and not only was he very attentive to my wife and I, but he also gave us very good information about the area. I will defenitly stay there our next trip to Cusco.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmurias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are pleased that your stay in our hotel has met your expectations.

Thank you for your comments which encourage us to every day in order to give the best service to our guests.

Kind regards,

Gustavo de León
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,465)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,059 - 1,065 of 2,465 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2014

Ok, we all know about this hotel, but sometimes you may wonder if they are still that good.. well they still are.. of course the hotel has very important assets to highlight from, but they are never enough in any property if the staff fails in that attempt to make you feel like in home.. well here they are very well organized and all staff "speaks same language" you can tell how they are all committed to provide elegant and exceptional service.

The hotel is also remodeling some areas with a very respectful and mostly quiet way, so if you don´t ask you wont notice they are working.. Food was excellent all the time, and buffet breakfast is also very well presented and with a very flexible schedule for all those like to sleep a little bit more.

Location is awesome as mentioned before.

Something interesting I found was that Orient Express now Belmond has a new property next door called Palacio Nazarenas, it´s good to know they are covered under same "umbrella" so you can expect same level of service and also some new amenities like a big pool and a SPA definitely also a winner..

At Monasterio the lobby it´s just so elegant and comfortable, it really takes you to a monastery but with luxury amenities and VIP service; so either Palacio Nazarenas or Monaterio you won´t make any mistake, as mentioned.. they are a winner in Cusco.

Room Tip: Jr. Suite rocks!.. a duplex with a lot of amenities that will make your stay much more confortable a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTravelerLUX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

This is a paradise of a hotel. All the staff were very friendly, helpful, and extremely well trained.
The hotel is beautiful, very peaceful and also romantic. The quality and service at the Monasterio is second to none, it is a marvellous hotel,

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Teddy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

This hotel is truly 5-star in every aspect. From the greeting at the front door upon arrival until the last good bye, one feels like an honored welcomed guest. No standing at a reception desk, we were welcomed into the lobby bar, offered a cup of coca tea. The check in was brief, but complete. Our bags were placed in our room & we were introduced to the hotel. Room was beautifully decorated with heavenly beds, plenty of light and quiet. Breakfast buffet was superb, relaxed & expertly served. Gardens, luxurious. Would definitely return if going to Cusco.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mary+Alice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Not enough good can be said about Monasterio - everyone was so accommodating, food was lovely. Definitely keep drinking the tea they give you all day.

Absolute delight to walk in, take time in the courtyard - this isn't a place to rush (until that fateful day getting up early for Macchu Picchu).

Room Tip: I stayed in both balcony and non-balcony room - go for the upgrade, standard rooms are slightly on t...
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank N L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Although the company name has changed, the hotel remains at the top of any listing for Peru and South America. Staff, terrific; food, excellent and rooms all vary but still very good. It also has an excellent location.

Room Tip: Ask for a 'back room' -- larger and older but lots moe space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

The good:
* Beautiful historic building oozing with character. Beautiful artworks also adorn the walls of the rooms and public areas.
* Very helpful staff. They were quick to organise tours and basically any guest request.
* Fantastic breakfast. Breads, cereals, cold and hot food, it was all fresh and of very high quality.
* Reasonable room rates for this class of hotel. If you can afford to pay the extra for a special occasion then you should go for this.
* Great wifi reception throughout the hotel.
* Beds were huge and very comfortable.
* Bathroom was stocked with l'Occitane toiletries.

The bad:
* It would be nice to have a gym available to those people who aren't completely overcome by altitude sickness.

Conclusion:
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to any friend who asked for a place to stay in Cusco. I have given it a perfect score because this hotel is probably as close to perfection as I have ever found in a hotel. We had altitude sickness and the staff were helpful to suggest ways of overcoming the illness.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
0.3 mi away
Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#30 of 172 in Cusco
1,537 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Monasterio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Monasterio

Address: Calle Palacio 140, Plazoleta Nazarenas, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#4 Business Hotel in Cusco
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#6 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: $320 - $585 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Monasterio 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right beside the lively Cusco central square is Belmond Hotel Monasterio, a former monastery and national monument dating from 1592. This delightful retreat combines centuries-old charm with luxury hotel service, inspired restaurants and boutique rooms and suites-all clustered around a tranquil central courtyard. The ideal hotel from which to discover the delights of Cusco, its doors open to a vibrant scene of old and modern architecture, markets, galleries and restaurants serving 'new Andean' cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Belmond Hotel Monasterio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monasterio Hotel Cusco
Hotel Monasterio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing