We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“restful, and vibrant at the same time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Ranked #4 of 172 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2014

old converted monastery. Loved the location, food and staff. Rooms were very nice, beautifully done while keeping some of the old monastery accents. Would highly recommend. Had this as part of the orient express package to Manchu picchu.

Room Tip: My daughter's room had a balcony and a great view of the statue overlooking cusco.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kc_Greenville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,090 - 1,096 of 2,483 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2014

Our room was booked through American Express. Upon arrival they said we needed to book another room bc one room does not accommodate 4 people. Which is crap bc 2 queen beds would have been fine. So they got us for another room. Their "accommodations" were lame. A fruit plate that came with 1 apple and an orange, they made a big deal about that as of we care to have a more expensive room bc of 2 fruit. They lied about massages that came with the room. The staff was not welcoming or accommodating at all. They need to touch up on their customer service.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Eileen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for helping us to improve our services with your comments.
We are sorry for the inconvenience.

We can guarantee you of our permanent commitment in keeping on with all the efforts and focus in reinforcing our renowned service quality with the firm determination to always correspond to the great treatment that our Trip Advisor reviewers usually rank us.

Sincerely,
Gustavo de Leon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Best place to stay in Cusco - incredible service! Location is perfect for walking to all the places to see in town. Minor renovations to the property during our stay, but staff ensured it didn't interfere with our experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hugh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

This hotel is very welcoming and I felt so relaxed the minute I walked in. There was a slight mix-up on which room was ours upon arrival but it was quickly sorted out. We had reserved a junior suite but were upgraded to a slightly larger suite that opened up to a courtyard that only 2 other suites shared. Marvelous. Take me back!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Peg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in an excellent location in the old town, on the same square as the pre-Colombian museum (worth a visit). The 17th century building is gorgeous, with 4 courtyards, the central one of which is dominated by a large cedar tree. Overall, the hotel is very luxurious. We were upgraded to a junior suite, which was beautifully decorated, and had a huge bed with crisp, white linens. The staff were there to attend our every need and nothing was too much trouble. It was almost excessive. At breakfast, for example, I am not so feeble that I need someone to carry my cereal from the buffet to the table just because I've decided I also want to pour myself some orange juice. The quality of breakfast was first rate, however, and included à la carte options. We suffered altitude sickness during our stay and the staff kindly brought us oxygen and coca tea. We booked a driver through the hotel to take us to archaeological sites around Cusco and in the sacred valley, which was convenient but you do pay above the odds. There was no gym, but we didn't feel up to it really, due to the altitude. The Wi-Fi was included and worked very well. All in all it was a memorable, special hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

This hotel is in a monastery and has amazing art, which is "rented" from the nearby church. We were fortunate to peek in on a wedding which took place in the chapel. It is a warm, inviting haven. Our room was comfortable and restful with quirky windows and "balcony." We were so happy to come back to our room after daily exploring.
The staff was helpful and a delight. The buffet breakfast was plentiful and delicious. We appreciated the location, just a few blocks off the main square -- The perfect base from which to explore Cusco.
Our only complaint was with the "opera" dinner." While the food was amazing, the performance was much, much too loud for such a small space - we couldn't even have a conversation while it was going on. We overheard many other diners complaining. The sad part, was the Gregorian chant "music" that was playing when we arrived for dinner was lovely.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LLCJ54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

The best hotel I've ever been. Everything was perfect: wonderful location in an old monastery, staff extremely careful and courteous, notably the staff at the breakfast. In short, we had an unforgettable experience in a magic town.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Silvia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
0.3 mi away
Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.2 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#28 of 172 in Cusco
1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Monasterio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Monasterio

Address: Calle Palacio 140, Plazoleta Nazarenas, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#4 Business Hotel in Cusco
#6 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: $340 - $607 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Monasterio 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right beside the lively Cusco central square is Belmond Hotel Monasterio, a former monastery and national monument dating from 1592. This delightful retreat combines centuries-old charm with luxury hotel service, inspired restaurants and boutique rooms and suites-all clustered around a tranquil central courtyard. The ideal hotel from which to discover the delights of Cusco, its doors open to a vibrant scene of old and modern architecture, markets, galleries and restaurants serving 'new Andean' cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond Hotel Monasterio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monasterio Hotel Cusco
Hotel Monasterio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing