We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Money well spent...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Ranked #4 of 169 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Money well spent...”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Travel in Peru in Dec/Jan is quite expensive. The price we paid for this hotel was steep but well worth it. The rooms are just spectacular. The staff are very efficient. It is located close to the main square. We also took a Pisco Sour making class and it was fun. The hotel has a beautiful church and is an ideal set up for a wonderful wedding. The hotel is an old monastery and its walls are adorned with beautiful art. There is an art tour within the hotel (quite grand). We got upgraded as it was our anniversary and I would happily stay there if I return to Cusco.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrotGlobber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,944
    274
    67
    33
    9
See reviews for
457
1,169
87
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile


Orient Express transfer the place of the hotel to one of the safest and greatest hotels. We enjoyed the accomodation as honeymooners and travelers with National Geographic Expedition to explore The Land of Incas in Peru, and we remember this hotel as one of the best place we have been to. Luxury service in relax place in the heart of Cusco where you can reach the most important places very easily. We faced medical emergency where the hotel brought us a special doctor to treat us in the room.

 How to reach? 8 hours From Los Angeles Airport or 5-6 hours from Miami Airport. By LAN Airlines to Lima, then domestic flight to Cusco Airport by peruvian airline.

Overall: 
Price: Good
Atmosphere: Excellent
Service: Excellent
Hospitality: Excellent
Food/Dine-in: Excellent
Activities: Very Good
Visit again? Yes.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralfadalah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

a gorgeous old hotel, worth a visit to the restaurant even if you can't stay there. From the entry way, to the bar to the food, everything was exquisite and beautiful. bravo!! don't miss this treat in cusco.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank easternsho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

This hotel can not be faulted! From the moment you step through the imposing doors , you are transplanted to another era - it breaths history in a very discreet manner. The hotel is kept in immaculate condition and there is attention to the smallest detail. It was one of our best hotels ever! I would just caution against the cost of their collection service from the airport - the tariff is just too inflated compared to that of the local taxi service.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huyshen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro de Atacama, Chile
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

I could not fault this hotel. From the moment we were collected at the airport until when we checked out the service and attention to detail was superb. The rooms were spacious and well appointed and the breakfasts were generous and diverse. As part of our package we had a dinner which we took on one of the opera dinner evenings (Tuesday Thursday and Saturday ) and it was a special evening with superb cuisine complimented by exquisite music. I could not fault the friendly reception and concierge staff who always were helpful and courteous. If I was forced to make a criticism, the wifi in the room was slow and inconsistent, however was great in the lobby bar which was the perfect spot to check emails and do Internet research (with pisco sour in hand)!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This is a great hotel, located near the action center in Cusco. It is housed in what was originally a monastery (hence the derived name). It is preserved in excellent condition, and the grand halls and courtyards give an excellent impression. Our room was large, and well furnished. The usual minibar provided storage for the water bottles (a necessity at the high altitude in Cusco). The staff was very helpful and ready to assist in any way necessary. We celebrated New Year's eve in their restaurant. It was complete with the usual hats, noisemakers and confetti. During the meal (with free-flowing champagne) two opera singers performed for us. Within walking distance (2 blocks) of the main town square. It is run by the Orient Express organization. They also operate the Hiram Brigham Orient Express train from Cusco to Macchu Picchu.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground (2nd) floor if possible,
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My husband and I truly enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Monasterio. Eduardo arranged a lovely tour of the Sacred Valley for just the two of us. We had lunch in a gorgeous hacienda surrounded by lovely gardens. Having our own guide ensured that I had plenty of time to climb to the top of Ollantaytambo. (We toured Machu Picchu the next day with a group, and I couldn't keep up with the others so took a few shortcuts.) At that high altitude, I definitely appreciated the extra time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mary-Margaret R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.0 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
0.3 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
1.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 169 in Cusco
1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Monasterio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Monasterio

Property: Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Address: Calle Plazoleta Nazarenas 337, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#4 Business Hotel in Cusco
#7 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Monasterio 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right beside the lively Cusco central square is Belmond Hotel Monasterio, a former monastery and national monument dating from 1592. This delightful retreat combines centuries-old charm with luxury hotel service, inspired restaurants and boutique rooms and suites-all clustered around a tranquil central courtyard. The ideal hotel from which to discover the delights of Cusco, its doors open to a vibrant scene of old and modern architecture, markets, galleries and restaurants serving 'new Andean' cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Belmond Hotel Monasterio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monasterio Hotel Cusco
Hotel Monasterio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing