We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“*FabulousHotel*”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Ranked #4 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 2, 2013

After a thirteen hour journey we arrived in a complete oasis. The service and location are the number one attributes to this hotel. The staff were extremely accommodating to our requests and even help negotiate the best prices for cab fare within the city. As a side note, rooms can be small, so If you are used to staying in large rooms remember this is a 16th Century conversion from Monastery that wasn't hampered by an unsightly hotel conversion - Orient Express does it right!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank safiblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,444)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,111 - 1,117 of 2,444 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2013

We arrived at the Monasterio after a long trip from Aguas Calientes by train and van. When we arrived at the hotel we felt like we had been enveloped by people who were there to take care of us and remove all our worries. Coca tea was quickly served, we were seated in comfortable chairs while they assisted us with the paper work. My husband and I along with our friends all felt they had effectivey removed all our worries.

The rooms were very comfortable. Our room overlooked the small roadway at the front of the hotel and the double glazing ensured the room was quite at night. The only issue was that our room was just over the bar area and on nights when when there was a small band playing you could hear this in our room. Thankfully the band finished by 9pm so it did not bother us but it is worthwhile asking for a room further away if you are not going out at night. The beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was wonderful.

The hotel is well located and a short walk to most attractions. The staff were very helpful when one of our party became sick and a doctor was needed. Indeed they were able to respond to any of our requests.

We stayed in South America for 4 weeks and stayed in many hotels and this was one of our favourities.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pammelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Most excellent location only a short walk away from the main square and the San Blas area. This Orient Express hotel is by far an excellent choice in the city of Cusco - very accommodating in each and every way. Staff top notch. Beds divine.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Melanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

The hotel Monasterio was one the highlights of our trip to Cusco. I wish I could add a plus to the five stars, or even add a sixth star. Converted from a monastery, the hotel somehow maintained the look and feel of the old monastery, but provided luxury accommodations at the same time. If we ever go back to Cusco, the Hotel Monasterio will be our choice. The location was perfect - just off the main square. The accommodations were excellent - spacious, comfortable, and decorated with original art work. Dining was also very good. We especially enjoyed "opera night", which is held during dinner every Tuesday and Thursday evenings. We also enjoyed seeing the chef hand pick fresh herbs from a small garden in the interior courtyard of the hotel.

Room Tip: We were told that all of the rooms are different. If you don't like your room, I would ask to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mmeyernos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We were booked in here two nights as part of an organized tour.
A great location, a wonderful building, excellent rooms and amenities, perfect service, and dinner one of the nights we were there was accompanied by live opera arias with a very fine local mezzosoprano. This is really being pampered and we enjoyed every minute of it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joel_Tzipi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

This in many respects is a lovely Hotel, which because of the nature of the building makes it hard to justify as a 5 star establishment.
The good..... Wonderful ambience, attentive staff, excellent food.
The bad...... You really need to book a luxury room as the monks cells did not convert into what we would find acceptable. Small dark and with no air conditioning. The luxury rooms have aircon, but wait for it, only available between 6pm and 6am!
There was no swimming pool which was no bad thing, as trying to exercise at that altitude would probably not be wise.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Trusler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for helping us to improve our services with your comments.

We deeply value your comments and sincerely apologize if we didn't meet your expectations. We can guaranty you of our permanent commitment in keeping on with all the efforts and focus, reinforcing our renowned service quality with the firm determination to always correspond to the great treatment that our Trip Advisor reviewers usually rank.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de León
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I stayed at the Monasterio in Cusco with a group of 11 travelers. The service, food, accommodations and attention to detail at this 400 year old landmark hotel were superb. All of our rooms had oxygen which helped us adjust to the high altitude. The staff knew our names after the first day. The room attendants gave the best turn-down service, leaving chocolates and amenities like L'Occitane soap. The porters delivered our bags quickly even though occupancy was at 100%. Compliments to the hotel management for having such a well trained staff.
KZFung

Room Tip: Inquire about the rooms with oxygen. They are more expensive but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aumkathleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
0.3 mi away
Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#30 of 171 in Cusco
1,518 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Monasterio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Monasterio

Address: Calle Plazoleta Nazarenas 337, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#4 Business Hotel in Cusco
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#6 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: $312 - $606 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Monasterio 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right beside the lively Cusco central square is Belmond Hotel Monasterio, a former monastery and national monument dating from 1592. This delightful retreat combines centuries-old charm with luxury hotel service, inspired restaurants and boutique rooms and suites-all clustered around a tranquil central courtyard. The ideal hotel from which to discover the delights of Cusco, its doors open to a vibrant scene of old and modern architecture, markets, galleries and restaurants serving 'new Andean' cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Belmond Hotel Monasterio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monasterio Hotel Cusco
Hotel Monasterio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing